$251 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
Very reaxing

I would like to thank one of the staff in particular. His name was Pablo and he made us feel at... See full review

  • bumbula
  • Mar 21, 2015
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Top hotels

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    20 out of 66
    Amenities:
    3.7
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.3
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    3.9

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Travelling four
    Business
    Okotoks
    Feb 13, 2015

    Great holiday

    when we arrived we weren't sure about the resort as there was no wifi included so I though that would be an indication of a poor hotel. I was so wrong - it was a fabulous trip. The food was so good - especially the buffet. The staff are outstanding. My only 'complaint' is that the beds are small (double) and with two preteen boys - was a bit much to have them share. We got a cot which worked out great. 15 min walk or $10 USD taxi to town to shop. Felt very safe the entire stay. We will be back - one week wasn't enough though - next time it will be at least 10 days.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mellow man
    Business
    Lynwood
    Feb 9, 2015

    Excellent location, great beach

    This hotel was a grat value. The location is great, the service was good, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food variety was good and the beac and ammenities excellent. The size of this resort is perfect, not too big yet not too small. Overall a great choice and good value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Barbara Demetz
    Business
    Boise, idaho
    Nov 28, 2014

    Beautiful beach, sand and water!

    We have been to Mexico several times, but this was the less enjoyable vacation we had. We were a party of 11 (family and friends), 9 of us got sick, and so we heard many other guests at the hotel. We all think it came from the food (a bacteria or virus). Our complains were heard but no action was taken. Speaking with other guests nobody felt like they would come back. Nether will we, the custom service was bad, the interest in our wellbeing ignored.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Coba and Cenote

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Wife with kids
    Business
    North Hollywood, California
    Nov 17, 2014

    Cozy hotel for family to enjoy- needs to improve cleanliness

    This was a family reunion vacation. There was a total of 20 of us. We all arrived at different times. 3 of us reserved King sized bedrooms but only one got what was reserved. I traveled with my husband, mom and kids and had asked for connecting rooms or a room close to each other. That didn't happen. Fortunately, the next day a room with a king sized bed became available right next door. I want to point out that this happened because I followed up. There was no initiative from the staff to make sure it happened. The concierge staff was not welcoming as in other hotels that we've stayed on previous vacations. I gave a rate of 4 because the other staff provided an excellent service. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful. It's a small hotel but super cozy. The rooms are dated and housekeeping needs to do a better job in cleaning the rooms and making sure they wash the bedding daily. There is a lot of humidity and so everything felt and smelled wet so changing out the sheets daily should be a must. The pool and exterior was always clean. The beach is beautiful and part of the hotel. The food was delicious but the menu doesn't really change. I loves the daily shows and performances. There is activities that everyone can enjoy. They have a kids club for the kiddies and adult activities like club outings, bars. I was really happy that there was something for everyone. For me, I don't mind that the rooms were dated but cleanliness is a MUST. They need to improve and make sure that rooms are cleaned and sheets are changed I. Not daily at least every other day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    If you're a family of 4 or more and plan on doing activities I would strongly recommend that you rent a car. Otherwise your money will go on TAXI. It gets really pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RoadTripTraveler
    Business
    Houston, Texas, EEUU
    Oct 31, 2014

    Nice place in The middle of the rainforest.

    The hotel has beautiful gardens who actually is parts of the rainforest the rooms are not awesome and the staff.... Let's say average you find really fun people like the bartenders and not so fine like the security... But really nice place to stay, the beach was perfect, and the pools were fine, some of the bars are closing early and you have to walk a lot to another bar if you want to get more to drink, only two beers at the room per day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    dgqlink
    Business
    ct
    Sep 7, 2014

    family vacation.

    I stayed at the reef the first week of September. Bottom line, the place is located in a lovely beach and the grounds are clean. I enjoyed my trip for the most part and would recommend it to a friend. The only thing that vexed me was that you had to pay extra to eat at the Mexican restaurant and could not access a bar unless you paid extra. Also one more tip, I am bilingual in Spanish and English , but I suggest speaking to them in English because you will get better treatment. For some odd reason when I approached staff in Spanish I would be treated like I was second class. Finally, tip the bartenders on occasion, it goes a long way.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Take the ado bus from airport to 5 th ave..and than taxi to hotel.it will save you about 100 dollars

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RM370
    Business
    Illinois
    Sep 4, 2014

    Reef Playacar

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location. Definitely will return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    oneguy
    Business
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Aug 6, 2014

    niceguy

    I should have believed some of the other reviews. The hotel is definitely in need of repair. The room is not that bad but the food is not good. Coming from a non picky family, that is saying a lot. Everything is cooked / fried with lots of oil, and butter (not good for the stomach). The Italian restaurant was alright but nothing to boast about. Drinks at the bar are very watered down and bar is not staffed accordingly. Too bad this place is located on a beautiful beach and water is very clear. If you are thinking of this place for your vacation, spend a little more money and find another place at Playa Del Carmen. The beach is definitely nice just not the Hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    OMFO
    Business
    Dallas Texas
    Jul 7, 2014

    Food

    No variety and they were always out of everithing, for example on the restaurants thjat requires reservation you would order a la carte and the only has one or two things to choose from.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Texas Mommy
    Business
    Austin, TX
    Jun 26, 2014

    Poo made it dirty!

    Don't buy the transportation. It is a rip off. You over pay for what ends up being a one way service. Just grab a taxi at the airport. On two occasions I heard the hotel staff talking about me with Spanish speaking guests. I understand more Spanish than I speak. I did try to speak in Spanish and they made fun of me for it. That was unappreciated. When we arrived, the toilet was broken and had to be replaced. They must have used the sink when replacing it because the sink was filthy! Whenever the toilet was flushed, it smelled like sewage. The main swimming pool with the kiddie pool and swim up bar was dirty the entire time and I never saw it get cleaned once. Someone pooped in the pool. The hotel employees were told, but the pool was neither cleaned nor closed. Must have upgraded gold bracelet to sit in certain areas even if no guests are there, eat at certain restaurants, order even water at the premium bars or drink premium liquor. They consistently ran out of food and drinks. They do not offer room service unless you are a member, but membership cost 30k-50k depending on package. Towels and toiletries are not consistently provided. The rooms are small and uncomfortable. The beds are hard. The tv is small for how far away from the bed it is placed. The tv programs are mainly in Spanish. I would find 1 tv program each day in English. WiFi constantly crashes. It takes a while to send an email and is too slow to stream movies from netflix. The hotel is all inclusive but not really as there are many things you have to pay extra for. For example the Italian restaurant is all inclusive, but the left hand side of menu is all inclusive and the right side costs extra. At the front lobby bar, nespresso coffee is offered for a price even with the upgraded gold bracelet. Also, the front lobby bar has the same cookies as does the all inclusive buffet restaurant, but the front lobby bar will only give you a cookie if you buy the nespresso coffee. The concierge does NOT have to explain your all inclusive package, they just want to pitch you to "help" them out by attending a presentation the next morning. The presentation is a timeshare sales pitch to become members of their hotel. It takes 2 hours of your time, but in exchange they will give you 2-40 minute massage vouchers to be used at their hotel spa. My spouse and I both attended. Not sure how many vouchers you get for a single person. They promise 45 minute massage, but they write it up as 40 minutes and you get 40 minutes. Last but not least the man working the excursion office lied to us about our excursion. We overpaid and were not able to participate in half of it. We asked the right questions, but he lied to our faces.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Book at a different hotel!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top