$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
52 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I love to travel!
Chicago, IL.
Mar 11, 2009

Not so good....

The Reef was a bit more expensive than our last Mexico all-inclusive trip however it was not worth it. The hotel itself had a cool setup-the rooms were in seperate villas among some lush foliage and whatnot around the grounds. There were also a couple pools with a staggering area with beach beds and chairs. The beds were exceptionally wonderful and by the far the highlight of this place. The staff was not as friendly as what I have encountered in Mexico before. They weren't very entertaining nor were they very nice. The room is dark and small and the bed is SO uncomfortable so after a couple days we "upgraded" to a suite which had a private balcony and jacuzzi and a nice bed, etc. We paid an extra $400 for the new room for the last few days of our stay. The jacuzzi did not work and was disgusting looking the whole time we were in there. We complained 3 times to the manager and he said he would have it fixed, he supposedly did, but it wasn't fixed. We ended up leaving before it could get resolved and after getting home I had to call the hotel numerous times to speak to the manager about a refund for the supposed "upgraded" room. I was always told he was unavailable and would call me back, and he never did. We ended up filing a dispute with Visa and recouped our money that way. Very disappointing. The food here was okay, not too many options and the quality was standard. My boyfriend ended up getting sick the last 2 days here, we were very careful with the water, so it must have been something else. I would not recommend the Reef to anyone though, I would have rather paid a bit more elsewhere and had a piece of mind than saved a few bucks and settled for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Money saver tip-Save YOUR money and DO NOT stay at the Reef!

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Mommy
Austin, TX
Jun 26, 2014

Poo made it dirty!

Don't buy the transportation. It is a rip off. You over pay for what ends up being a one way service. Just grab a taxi at the airport. On two occasions I heard the hotel staff talking about me with Spanish speaking guests. I understand more Spanish than I speak. I did try to speak in Spanish and they made fun of me for it. That was unappreciated. When we arrived, the toilet was broken and had to be replaced. They must have used the sink when replacing it because the sink was filthy! Whenever the toilet was flushed, it smelled like sewage. The main swimming pool with the kiddie pool and swim up bar was dirty the entire time and I never saw it get cleaned once. Someone pooped in the pool. The hotel employees were told, but the pool was neither cleaned nor closed. Must have upgraded gold bracelet to sit in certain areas even if no guests are there, eat at certain restaurants, order even water at the premium bars or drink premium liquor. They consistently ran out of food and drinks. They do not offer room service unless you are a member, but membership cost 30k-50k depending on package. Towels and toiletries are not consistently provided. The rooms are small and uncomfortable. The beds are hard. The tv is small for how far away from the bed it is placed. The tv programs are mainly in Spanish. I would find 1 tv program each day in English. WiFi constantly crashes. It takes a while to send an email and is too slow to stream movies from netflix. The hotel is all inclusive but not really as there are many things you have to pay extra for. For example the Italian restaurant is all inclusive, but the left hand side of menu is all inclusive and the right side costs extra. At the front lobby bar, nespresso coffee is offered for a price even with the upgraded gold bracelet. Also, the front lobby bar has the same cookies as does the all inclusive buffet restaurant, but the front lobby bar will only give you a cookie if you buy the nespresso coffee. The concierge does NOT have to explain your all inclusive package, they just want to pitch you to "help" them out by attending a presentation the next morning. The presentation is a timeshare sales pitch to become members of their hotel. It takes 2 hours of your time, but in exchange they will give you 2-40 minute massage vouchers to be used at their hotel spa. My spouse and I both attended. Not sure how many vouchers you get for a single person. They promise 45 minute massage, but they write it up as 40 minutes and you get 40 minutes. Last but not least the man working the excursion office lied to us about our excursion. We overpaid and were not able to participate in half of it. We asked the right questions, but he lied to our faces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book at a different hotel!

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Dec 2, 2007

do you like high pressure sales propaganda on timeshares?

the food was like an imitation of good food...a poor imitation.because of the jungle like environment in the middle where you have to walk to get to your room....it was really muggy and humid..they will try to sell you timeshares and waste a day of your vacation.the all inclusive doesn't include a lot of things like the 2 dollar a day lock rental for the safe in the room.or the 5 dollar bottle of water.the mini fridge in the room is not stocked.there was no life at the hotel after 5pm.the taxi charges you 5 dollars to take you the annoyingly short distance to town..15 minute walk...they didn't have enough towels in the bathroom. i could write a book about this hotel..the light fell apart above the bed.the air conditioner made a horrible noise...otherwise it was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oneguy
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 6, 2014

niceguy

I should have believed some of the other reviews. The hotel is definitely in need of repair. The room is not that bad but the food is not good. Coming from a non picky family, that is saying a lot. Everything is cooked / fried with lots of oil, and butter (not good for the stomach). The Italian restaurant was alright but nothing to boast about. Drinks at the bar are very watered down and bar is not staffed accordingly. Too bad this place is located on a beautiful beach and water is very clear. If you are thinking of this place for your vacation, spend a little more money and find another place at Playa Del Carmen. The beach is definitely nice just not the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beach traveler and beyond
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 24, 2014

Average

Just got back from a stay at the Reef. The location of this hotel is great. A 10 min walk to downtown which you can do via the beach or use the sidewalks. The staff there was good, but Willy and Felix were AWESOME! The two of them certainly made our stay better! We purchased a premium room, which wasn't needed. However, we did get the option of top shelf liquor, so if that's what your after, go that route. Plus you get to use the bar close to the beach, where Felix was working! The premium package didn't give us that view of the beach we were after, we were towards the back of the hotel, ground level room. The minibar was only stocked with a few pops and one beer per person per day. Though we had to complain twice to get the mini "fridge" stocked with our beer before it finally happened. The food was average. Nothing special. I must admit though, we never stayed at the hotel for dinner, so I cant say anything about their dinners. The beach was amazing! Though, you get that anywhere in Playacar. However, it wasn't packed at this hotel like the other hotels we noticed. Could get a perfect spot basically any time of the day. Overall, this hotel is average. A bit dated and could use some touching up, but its not like we were in the rooms much anyways. Would I stay again? It was all depend of price. It was a perfect hotel for sun, drinks, and going out on the town at night. And the price was right in our range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10 min walk to town, so many great places to eat on 5th ave. I'd prefer that to eating the buffets.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Salma Dog lover.
Denver, CO
Jun 2, 2014

La Prisienne

The bathrooms need to be updated - Very old and moldy. Jonathan at the front desk needs to learn how to smile. Not friendly. When I told him about my first room, uncomfortable, noisy, facing the parking a lot, and getting fumes from the balcony he told me that he can update the room for me for an extra $ 30.00 when I paid alsmost $ 1700.00 for this trip. Then I was charged for the safe and I had to carry with me all the time the stupid key. Was afraid to loose it swimming. Finally an other person offered me another room first floor but at night I had a lot of visitors "raccoons" couldn't use my patio. At 7:00 am construction started on the roof. Couldn't sleep late and couldn't nap after lunch because it was hot to stay at the beach. The staff at the restaurant and beach are very nice and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Didn't use any

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spring
Dec 21, 2008

Great outside ambiance but disappointing rooms

Overall our stay at the Reef Playacar was somewhat disappointing. WE enjoyed the overall location of the hotel and the outside amenities. The beach access is probably one of the nicest in the area. But we were very disappointed in the rooms since they seemed to have clearly deteriorated since our last stay a couple of years back. For instance was the bathtub fixed with a rough patch that covered about half the bottom and still leaked - which did not seem bother anyone. The AC was loud, AC drainage leaked into the room and the drapes had mold spots. Also be aware of very agressive sales people appearing to be hotel employees (which they are not!) trying to sell 25yr memberships for $13K for preferential access at certain hotels. This was very annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Not Worth the Price

The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kmill
ILL.
Nov 8, 2013

Good deal for the money

The grounds are very tropical and pretty.. The rooms were ok. We did have a few ants and bugs over the 11 days we stayed. The AC quit working the last day, but they fixed it right away. For an all-Inclusive, they nickel and dime you on several things. The beach is great! Lots of walking to get around..the food was good, but could have been hotter..good variety..the wait staff in the dining area was very helpful and friendly. The front desk help was very unfriendly and not helpful. The bellboys were very friendly. It worked for our needs, but doubt that we return for a second visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt Horeb WI
Apr 12, 2009

April 6-12 2009

Our hotel stay was very good, the only complaint I have is the food wasn't very good and they didn't clean up after people were done eating very quickly so you would come to the restaurant and the tables still had dirty dishes on them and the birds would get up on the tables and eat off the dirty plates. Our rooms were spotless and the staff was very nice. It was a short 10 minute walk to town. We have been to Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. Best=Puerto Vallarta 2nd= Riveria Maya Last=Cancun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to take a taxi from The Reef the walk is only 10 min. to town. If you take the ferry to Cozumel get to the ferry waiting area about 20 min. before your to leave the lines get very long.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search