$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
78 reviews
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy... See full review

  • Meister knows
  • May 29, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 19, 2008

Nice Retreat

The dive shop on site was very helpful and reachable at nearly all hours. We were given a cell # to the dive shop manager and the front desk called him at 10p to set up a two tank dive the next morning! The people at the front desk we GREAT! Our first shower was cool, refreshing, but I think it just took some time for the hot water to reach our room. After the first shower, we had no problem with the water being too cold. I had read in others notes that the Jacuzzi needed to be hotter and I AGREE! It is warmer than the pool, but in the night with a breeze it would be nice to have a nice hot pool to sit in and relax after a long day of playing. I guess you could fill up the tub, but then you wouldn't have the few of your private beach. Not a big parking lot for your car, but not a lot of people had one. I loved the fact that we did. We drove to church on Sunday, the Ruins, and into Cancun. Plenty of things to do for all ages! I was there with just my wife. A nice place for just a couple and the family. I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reef @ Playacar is a 15 min brisk walk to Playa del Carmen. There is shopping, dinning, entertainment, and the ferry to Cozumel. We took a taxi once because we had 5 min to catch the ferry. Playacar is in a restricted hotel guest only area south of Playa del Carmen. We felt very safe while we were there.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 18, 2008

Great Retreat

This hotel offered a very relaxing experience. The beach was beautiful and clean. It was never crowded. The food was great and the shows in the evening were very funny. It was close enough to town to take a leisurely stroll every day (about 15 min.). The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an aviery on the walk to town on the left hand side. The birds were beautiful.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 17, 2007

eamily friendly

the hotel is beautiful everything was in access of the hotel wonderful foliage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to anything you could need

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 23, 2008

A relaxing get-away

The Reef was our first all-inclusive experience and we will definately vacation this way again. We loved the no hassle/no decision days, and would recommend this style of vacationing to everyone. The Reef's grounds are absoutely beautiful-and being right on the beach is a plus. We dined at all of the restaurants and had no problem with reservations. We toured the Tulum ruins, took the ferry to Cozumel for a day, and shopped on 5th. Ave. We were very satisfied, and we would stay at The Reef again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Mar 3, 2008

Great Value for Money

This resort was wonderful! It was very comfortable, friendly and had a lot to offer! The food was just fine in the buffet and the snack bar. I did not go to the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. The room was clean, the resort had a lot to offer and the staff was awesome! The only problem I had during my stay was the lack of hot water. This turned out to be a plumbing problem, but for 4 days I did not even have warm water. This was an issue I am certain they have resolved. Additionally, toward the end of my 5 day stay, the coffee in the room wasn't replenished. Again, nothing major. It is within a 10 minute walk to the famous 5th Ave. I would definitely recommend this resort and will definitely stay again when I travel to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa! Fun times for all!

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 19, 2008

Nice Retreat

The dive shop on site was very helpful and reachable at nearly all hours. We were given a cell # to the dive shop manager and the front desk called him at 10p to set up a two tank dive the next morning! The people at the front desk we GREAT! Our first shower was cool, refreshing, but I think it just took some time for the hot water to reach our room. After the first shower, we had no problem with the water being too cold. I had read in others notes that the Jacuzzi needed to be hotter and I AGREE! It is warmer than the pool, but in the night with a breeze it would be nice to have a nice hot pool to sit in and relax after a long day of playing. I guess you could fill up the tub, but then you wouldn't have the few of your private beach. Not a big parking lot for your car, but not a lot of people had one. I loved the fact that we did. We drove to church on Sunday, the Ruins, and into Cancun. Plenty of things to do for all ages! I was there with just my wife. A nice place for just a couple and the family. I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reef @ Playacar is a 15 min brisk walk to Playa del Carmen. There is shopping, dinning, entertainment, and the ferry to Cozumel. We took a taxi once because we had 5 min to catch the ferry. Playacar is in a restricted hotel guest only area south of Playa del Carmen. We felt very safe while we were there.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lesley
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 15, 2007

My review of The Reef Playacar-All Inclusive

The staff were friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with the first room they gave us as there was no hot water. As the problem had not been completely fixed by our 2nd day they offered us another room. This room did have hot water but was a room on the lower ground level. The room was musty and smelled of mildew. I am sure the hotel staff would have found us another room but we didn't want to spend our time on vacation changing rooms. Everything else at the hotel was great. Plenty of everything - food, drink etc. The entertainment wasn't the best but enjoyable. Location was very good. It really was only a 10 minute walk to Player de Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A 15 minute walk from the hotel will get you to Playar de Carmen and the ferry to Cozumel. They run every hour. Well worth doing.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meister knows
Chicago
May 29, 2014

OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy allll the time! is really close to downtown Playa.It's in a gated community so feel more secluded. Property is surrounded w/trees which is cool. Coffee bar at 4pm is a must do, tacos @snackbar from 10p to 2am is a blessing. Other resorts should do this! David, Nayeli, Paulino (smiley)' , Amburto, Oscar and many others were awesome. Met some new friends who we r still in contact with. A must see! Upgrade for a little more, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown (5th ave) walk the sidewalk or beach about 10 min. Cab $7bucks. The other direction walking the sidewalk about 5 min but there is absolutely no harassment and they have exactly same things as downtown, just no restaurants.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Dec 8, 2007

Great Experience

Far from mad Cancun, Playa is a great relaxing vacation spot in Mexico. Reef Playacar was a great place to stay due to its vicinity, great facilities and excellent dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Touristy sites, dining, shopping and nightlife are all very close to this place

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Dec 8, 2007

Great Experience

Far from mad Cancun, Playa is a great relaxing vacation spot in Mexico. Reef Playacar was a great place to stay due to its vicinity, great facilities and excellent dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Touristy sites, dining, shopping and nightlife are all very close to this place

Back to menu Return to top