$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
52 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Mar 7, 2008

My review of The Reef Playacar-All Inclusive

This was a fantastic place and a great deal. My wife and I love the feel of smaller resorts. If we were to have a complaint, it would be that it appeared if you were interested in becoming part of their time share program, then you were treated differently. The only other thing noted was that this resort did offer day passes for clients to come and spend the day at their facility, so more people in line for refreshments. Other then that, great food, great people (though sometimes there were language barriers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th avenue if you enjoy walking is about 15 minutes worth of brisk walking.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lesley
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 15, 2007

My review of The Reef Playacar-All Inclusive

The staff were friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with the first room they gave us as there was no hot water. As the problem had not been completely fixed by our 2nd day they offered us another room. This room did have hot water but was a room on the lower ground level. The room was musty and smelled of mildew. I am sure the hotel staff would have found us another room but we didn't want to spend our time on vacation changing rooms. Everything else at the hotel was great. Plenty of everything - food, drink etc. The entertainment wasn't the best but enjoyable. Location was very good. It really was only a 10 minute walk to Player de Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A 15 minute walk from the hotel will get you to Playar de Carmen and the ferry to Cozumel. They run every hour. Well worth doing.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 27, 2007

good place to stay

easy to get along with, and this place was just fine, good food, friendly personnel, clean, kept up, great location, beautiful area to visit. Only thing if the TV had a few more english channels it would have been better. No big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to playa del carmen, which a very nice town, with 5th ave, the ferry to Cozmel, so you can go over there and look around and fun boat ride over.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines, IA
Jan 28, 2008

Excellent Location

I was very please with everything about our stay here. The room was clean and very nice. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. This hotel is built in and around the trees rather than cutting them all down. This was really a cool place to stay! I thought it was very well kept. We met some great people from Canada, the USA and a few other countries as well. Maybe it was just that everyone else was as glad to be away from the cold as we were, but the other guest were just as friendly as the staff. There was just something about staying at this resort that brought out the best in people. The food was really good too! We liked it and we would definatley stay here again and recomend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within an easy 15-20 minute walk you come to 5th Ave. This is the place for (us) tourist to shop.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BOBBY THE MAYOR
RHODE ISLAND
May 14, 2013

Couples get away!!!!

First of all let me start my saying this was the greatest 10 days we've spent in any location on any vacation we've been on.. The resort was FANTASTIC!!!! Especially for the price that we payed. The staff were very accommodating and very peaceful.. We felt like it wasn't one of those Big Commercial resorts. It felt like family.. The resort was so clean and the food was great.. I know this comment sounds to good to be true but it truly was a great experience for us. The only negative thing I can say is there's no free WIFI, and we were promised a couples SPA on the beach and it was some misunderstanding with the Concierge service provided in the lobby!! But once again the positive side is you will always be back to this resort!! I got Scuba certified at this resort as well the marina Crew was fantastic.. Jeremy and Stefon was great.If you like to drink top shelf liquor like absolute Vodka and Whiskey and Coors light, than i suggest you to upgrade for only $15 more a day and it gives you a Gold Band around your wrist. There is also a VIP section for the Gold Band.. I think I said enough lol.... One more thing Unlimited ICE CREAM..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab its only $7 .. Tell the cab driver to take you to 5th Ave and drop you off by Karens Pizza from there on the shopping is better! Not to mention you wont get harassed as much..

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meister knows
Chicago
May 29, 2014

OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy allll the time! is really close to downtown Playa.It's in a gated community so feel more secluded. Property is surrounded w/trees which is cool. Coffee bar at 4pm is a must do, tacos @snackbar from 10p to 2am is a blessing. Other resorts should do this! David, Nayeli, Paulino (smiley)' , Amburto, Oscar and many others were awesome. Met some new friends who we r still in contact with. A must see! Upgrade for a little more, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown (5th ave) walk the sidewalk or beach about 10 min. Cab $7bucks. The other direction walking the sidewalk about 5 min but there is absolutely no harassment and they have exactly same things as downtown, just no restaurants.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family5 from Florida
Weston, FL
Jun 7, 2014

Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 17, 2007

Very Friendly

The Reef Playa was beautiful. The grounds were very clean and the staff was wonderful. This was our first trip to Mexico and we will definately go back. The beach at the Reef was better than most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa was a short distance from the Reef. We went shopping and bar hopping. Very safe

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Mar 3, 2008

Great Value for Money

This resort was wonderful! It was very comfortable, friendly and had a lot to offer! The food was just fine in the buffet and the snack bar. I did not go to the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. The room was clean, the resort had a lot to offer and the staff was awesome! The only problem I had during my stay was the lack of hot water. This turned out to be a plumbing problem, but for 4 days I did not even have warm water. This was an issue I am certain they have resolved. Additionally, toward the end of my 5 day stay, the coffee in the room wasn't replenished. Again, nothing major. It is within a 10 minute walk to the famous 5th Ave. I would definitely recommend this resort and will definitely stay again when I travel to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa! Fun times for all!

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 17, 2007

eamily friendly

the hotel is beautiful everything was in access of the hotel wonderful foliage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to anything you could need

Back to menu Return to top

Change search