The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

3.8/5

Overall score

78%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Hotel Map

    20.6126 -87.0857
    Area served
    Playa de Carmen.
    Nearby airports
    CUN-Cancun International Airport
    Area description
    40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

    Dining

    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm
    Nicos lounge Bar
    Our newest and most exclusive bar, luxurious Nicos pairs a beachfront location with music and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (69)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    69 out of 69
    Amenities:
    3.7
    Cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    3.9

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Kmill
    Business
    ILL.
    Nov 8, 2013

    Good deal for the money

    The grounds are very tropical and pretty.. The rooms were ok. We did have a few ants and bugs over the 11 days we stayed. The AC quit working the last day, but they fixed it right away. For an all-Inclusive, they nickel and dime you on several things. The beach is great! Lots of walking to get around..the food was good, but could have been hotter..good variety..the wait staff in the dining area was very helpful and friendly. The front desk help was very unfriendly and not helpful. The bellboys were very friendly. It worked for our needs, but doubt that we return for a second visit....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    josegonma
    Business
    Merida, Yucatan
    Oct 14, 2013

    Excellent

    No comments, all was perfect, in special all the staff, the barmans, the waithers, entertainment, everything was so good

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    the flaming taco
    Business
    pittsburgh,pa
    Jun 10, 2013

    great location-facility a little dated

    The first room we where given was in a not renovated building, not good at all. Gap in the window frame of the bathroom window, mildew in the grout of the floor tile, 2nd night there had a torrential downpour outside woke up to 1/2" of water on floor. Vita the manager was great !! gave us a upgraded room at no charge, 2nd room was awesome location is good if you walk down to the beach and look to the left you can see a ferry dock, that is where 5th avenue begin, its about a 15 minute walk. if you walk to the right you go past about 5 or 6 resorts then there is a area not developed with natural beachfront and vegetation, really nice to see. if you go out the front door and make a left there is a shopping area about 5 minutes walk with a Starbucks you can get WiFi there with a purchase. WiFi cost $15 a day at resort. we took no Pesos everybody takes USD, everything pretty much is priced in USD, Euros, and pesos. 2 pools top one has swim up bar, nice beach in front of resort. This resort is small so not a lot of amenities a larger resort would have. Staff very nice and they worked very hard. Buffet OK, sometimes stuff was not warm, sometimes could find no glasses for drinks, decent variety and quality. Would not go back again not for an one reason, just would spend a little more and go to a nicer place

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    be prepared when you go to 5th avenue, you will be bombarded with people wanting you to go into there stores, They know where you are staying by your wristband so people will come up to you and say they work at your resort, come look at my stuff, we had 3 people do this in one afternoon, overall it is safe to go there though

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    BOBBY THE MAYOR
    Business
    RHODE ISLAND
    May 14, 2013

    Couples get away!!!!

    First of all let me start my saying this was the greatest 10 days we've spent in any location on any vacation we've been on.. The resort was FANTASTIC!!!! Especially for the price that we payed. The staff were very accommodating and very peaceful.. We felt like it wasn't one of those Big Commercial resorts. It felt like family.. The resort was so clean and the food was great.. I know this comment sounds to good to be true but it truly was a great experience for us. The only negative thing I can say is there's no free WIFI, and we were promised a couples SPA on the beach and it was some misunderstanding with the Concierge service provided in the lobby!! But once again the positive side is you will always be back to this resort!! I got Scuba certified at this resort as well the marina Crew was fantastic.. Jeremy and Stefon was great.If you like to drink top shelf liquor like absolute Vodka and Whiskey and Coors light, than i suggest you to upgrade for only $15 more a day and it gives you a Gold Band around your wrist. There is also a VIP section for the Gold Band.. I think I said enough lol.... One more thing Unlimited ICE CREAM..

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    Take a cab its only $7 .. Tell the cab driver to take you to 5th Ave and drop you off by Karens Pizza from there on the shopping is better! Not to mention you wont get harassed as much..

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Endwell, NY
    May 30, 2009

    Reef Playacar

    Hotel was very nice...very comfortable and the beach was absolutely beautiful...staff is very friendly as well...rooms very simple but comfortable...food was good and even though it felt like we were eating the same stuff almost all week, it was plenty and we never felt hungry...hotel has a beautiful tropical garden and you can enjoy walking through it on your way to the beach and the restaurant...i would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Northern Iowa
    Apr 25, 2009

    Reef Playacar

    Hotel was okay, restaurants were very predictable and never changed their menus. Got very bored with the food. Lots of noisy neighbors who came in at night - had to call security more than once.....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    college student and beau
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Apr 22, 2009

    nice resort, beautiful scenery, bad food

    This resort was very impressive from first glance- offered nice clean rooms with balcony, jacuzzi; 3 bars, 2 pools, 2 restaurants and a buffet; very cheap! But when you look closer, as in stay there, you see that their food is terrible and preparation methods unsafe- myself and my travel partner both got sick on different days with food poisoning and it seemed to be the talk of the resort that others were experiencing the same thing. i don't know how many people I talked to that were up the night before with diarrhea and vomiting the entire night and feeling very ill the day after. I think I counted about 50 that I talked to alone. I called the front desk and the man assured me it wasn't from the food and that he hadn't received any other complaints and would I like him to call a doctor? Only to find out 3 people went to the hospital with similar symptoms that night! Not impressed....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    about a mile down the road is 5th avenue which was nice for shopping and restaurant.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Mt Horeb WI
    Apr 12, 2009

    April 6-12 2009

    Our hotel stay was very good, the only complaint I have is the food wasn't very good and they didn't clean up after people were done eating very quickly so you would come to the restaurant and the tables still had dirty dishes on them and the birds would get up on the tables and eat off the dirty plates. Our rooms were spotless and the staff was very nice. It was a short 10 minute walk to town. We have been to Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. Best=Puerto Vallarta 2nd= Riveria Maya Last=Cancun

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    No need to take a taxi from The Reef the walk is only 10 min. to town. If you take the ferry to Cozumel get to the ferry waiting area about 20 min. before your to leave the lines get very long.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    I love to travel!
    Business
    Chicago, IL.
    Mar 11, 2009

    Not so good....

    The Reef was a bit more expensive than our last Mexico all-inclusive trip however it was not worth it. The hotel itself had a cool setup-the rooms were in seperate villas among some lush foliage and whatnot around the grounds. There were also a couple pools with a staggering area with beach beds and chairs. The beds were exceptionally wonderful and by the far the highlight of this place. The staff was not as friendly as what I have encountered in Mexico before. They weren't very entertaining nor were they very nice. The room is dark and small and the bed is SO uncomfortable so after a couple days we "upgraded" to a suite which had a private balcony and jacuzzi and a nice bed, etc. We paid an extra $400 for the new room for the last few days of our stay. The jacuzzi did not work and was disgusting looking the whole time we were in there. We complained 3 times to the manager and he said he would have it fixed, he supposedly did, but it wasn't fixed. We ended up leaving before it could get resolved and after getting home I had to call the hotel numerous times to speak to the manager about a refund for the supposed "upgraded" room. I was always told he was unavailable and would call me back, and he never did. We ended up filing a dispute with Visa and recouped our money that way. Very disappointing. The food here was okay, not too many options and the quality was standard. My boyfriend ended up getting sick the last 2 days here, we were very careful with the water, so it must have been something else. I would not recommend the Reef to anyone though, I would have rather paid a bit more elsewhere and had a piece of mind than saved a few bucks and settled for this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Money saver tip-Save YOUR money and DO NOT stay at the Reef!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Jan 1, 2009

    Not Worth the Price

    The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top