$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
60 reviews
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (60)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    60 out of 60
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.9

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Jan 1, 2009

    Not Worth the Price

    The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Spring
    Dec 21, 2008

    Great outside ambiance but disappointing rooms

    Overall our stay at the Reef Playacar was somewhat disappointing. WE enjoyed the overall location of the hotel and the outside amenities. The beach access is probably one of the nicest in the area. But we were very disappointed in the rooms since they seemed to have clearly deteriorated since our last stay a couple of years back. For instance was the bathtub fixed with a rough patch that covered about half the bottom and still leaked - which did not seem bother anyone. The AC was loud, AC drainage leaked into the room and the drapes had mold spots. Also be aware of very agressive sales people appearing to be hotel employees (which they are not!) trying to sell 25yr memberships for $13K for preferential access at certain hotels. This was very annoying!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Dec 1, 2008

    Great location, beautiful beach

    The Reef Playacar hotel itself is in a great location, a very comfortable walking distance to the center of Playa del Carmen (5th Ave). The scenery at the hotel is very luscious, it almost feels as if you are in the middle of a jungle with all the comforts of a resort. The beach is breathtaking. The food was very good, and we never felt as if we were eating the same food every day. The staff at the hotel is very humble and extremely helpful. Try to speak Spanish, whatever little you might know. The only concern I would have is the room quality, it is clean and comfortable enough, but after all-you aren't going to Mexico to stay in the room all day!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Don't exchange your money at the airport-you will not get a good exchange rate. While shopping in Playa del Carmen, sometimes it's better to pay in pesos than in US dollars, although they accept both.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Henderson
    Oct 20, 2008

    Very Family and couple friendly

    The Reef Playacar has very nice rooms, landscaping, beautiful pools, beach and scenery. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful, if we had any questions they did not hesitate to help in any way. There were very few communication issues, checking in was a breeze and they took our luggage and brought us right to our room. The bellhop explained the air conditioner and TV remote controls and asked if we had any other questions. It is both nice for families and for couples as well as we went for our anniversary and had a great time. At the swim-up bar and the buffet they never let your glass go empty, each time we returned they remembered what we ordered before. They have great nightly shows @ 9PM, fantastic entertainment both for adults and children. They have pool tables at the upstairs bar, and a ping pong table for both adults and children to enjoy. We were there for 7 days, the entire staff were all very hard workers; we saw the same staff there all 7 days. You can either walk 15 minutes or take a taxi for $2 to 5th street which has all kinds of shops for shopping and another beautiful ocean to enjoy. Overall it was a fantastic hotel, we would most definetly go back! The hotel front desk was very helpful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Enjoy all the shops on 5th street, starbucks, restaurants and beautiful ocean. Only 15 minutes to walk or 2 minute ride in a taxi, just walk out the hotel door and the taxi's are there waiting.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Sep 23, 2008

    A relaxing get-away

    The Reef was our first all-inclusive experience and we will definately vacation this way again. We loved the no hassle/no decision days, and would recommend this style of vacationing to everyone. The Reef's grounds are absoutely beautiful-and being right on the beach is a plus. We dined at all of the restaurants and had no problem with reservations. We toured the Tulum ruins, took the ferry to Cozumel for a day, and shopped on 5th. Ave. We were very satisfied, and we would stay at The Reef again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Grand Junction
    Sep 2, 2008

    Great little gem

    The PlayCar Reef was just what we were looking for. Quit,quant atmosphere. The beach was very nice. There is a ferry to Cozumel about a 3 minute car ride away from the hotel that we took. The food was great. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. We had a great time. Be Aware everyone is trying to sell a time share.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    About five minutes from hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Jul 27, 2008

    Nice getaway

    My husband and I stayed at the Reef Playacar July 20-27 for our anniversary. We were impressed with the hotel- the grounds were pretty and our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the snack and pool bars. The proximity of the hotel to Playa Del Carmen is great- we walked into town just about every day. The houses in the neighborhood are beautiful. It's a charming town. We liked the Reef Playacar because it isn't a gigantic all-inclusive resort. We didn't feel overwhelmed by a ton of people. The only down side was that we grew tired of the buffets quickly. The food definitely left something to be desired. However, the tortilla soup at the Mexican restaurant was delicious!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is an abundance of shops, restaurants and bars there.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Liberty Lake
    Jul 5, 2008

    Ok stay

    The drinks and food were very disappointing. The drinks are very weak (even when you tip lots). Food had no flavor and even the resturants were pretty bad. Im not very picky with food eaither. They were doing construction at the hotel so things were out of order. We made the best of it and the beach was great. Our room was a 2 min walk from the shore which was great. They also tried pretty hard to sell us time shares (or even go to a meeting). We were on our honeymoon and could barley afford the trip down but they were very persistant.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    wallingford
    May 25, 2008

    Nice outdoors, Room had problems

    The Reef Playacar was overall ok. There are nicer places out there for the same price. We had problems with our room from the start... the bathroom ceiling leaked when we flushed or showered. We had a resident lizard in the room that seemed to enter & exit as he pleased through a window that was permanently unlocked because it was broken. The A/C broke and after a 6 hour ordeal with maintenance, we had to get a new room. The AC in the new room worked great, but the room decor was tacky in comparison to the previous room, which was very chic & relaxing. I think if it wasn't for all the problems with our room, I really would have loved this resort. The outdoor areas - swim up poolbar, regular pool, palm tree shaded lounge chairs, and beach were all very nice. The beach was actually quite beautiful and the water was warm & clear. There are sandbags offshore to prevent further beach erosion, but they are far enough away that you still have plenty of swimming space. The buffet dinner was standard. The restaurants offered excellent meals though. We especially enjoyed dinner at the Mexican restaurant. Had we known it was so good, we would have dined there more often. There's an ice cream parlor open in the afternoons to cool off a bit. The ice cream is much like italian gelato and we really enjoyed it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Ruins at Tulum were impressive! Disappointing at XelHa - we didn't see too many fish snorkeling - also have natural lazy river, cliff diving, snorkel, & caves. The ticket in Xel-Ha is all inclusive so food & beverages are included.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Milwaukee, WI
    May 3, 2008

    Over Crowded

    Stayed at the Reef two times prior to this trip. I must say they were way overbooked and seemed very short staffed. Staff members did not appear to be as friendly as in prior trips. Had to change rooms after the first night due to no air conditioning. Also seems that more and more locals come in on the weekends, way too many kids...... Love the location and the beach that is why we have gone back several times. After this trip though i think i would consider an adults only resort. One suggestion to the Reef, KIDS don't belong in the pool bar, sitting on the stools, i'm talking as little as maybe 1 1/2 year olds while the parents drink and order the KIDS non-alchoholic blender drinks. Accomodations were great once we changed rooms. One more thing seems they run out of certain alchohol quite frequently for long periods of time, like a day and a half on vodka and rum.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Short taxi ride into town, about 5 US dollars, fun people watching.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top