$310 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 24, 2015 Check-out: Mar 27, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (64)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    64 out of 64
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    3.9

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Northern Iowa
    Apr 25, 2009

    Reef Playacar

    Hotel was okay, restaurants were very predictable and never changed their menus. Got very bored with the food. Lots of noisy neighbors who came in at night - had to call security more than once.....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    college student and beau
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Apr 22, 2009

    nice resort, beautiful scenery, bad food

    This resort was very impressive from first glance- offered nice clean rooms with balcony, jacuzzi; 3 bars, 2 pools, 2 restaurants and a buffet; very cheap! But when you look closer, as in stay there, you see that their food is terrible and preparation methods unsafe- myself and my travel partner both got sick on different days with food poisoning and it seemed to be the talk of the resort that others were experiencing the same thing. i don't know how many people I talked to that were up the night before with diarrhea and vomiting the entire night and feeling very ill the day after. I think I counted about 50 that I talked to alone. I called the front desk and the man assured me it wasn't from the food and that he hadn't received any other complaints and would I like him to call a doctor? Only to find out 3 people went to the hospital with similar symptoms that night! Not impressed....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    about a mile down the road is 5th avenue which was nice for shopping and restaurant.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Mt Horeb WI
    Apr 12, 2009

    April 6-12 2009

    Our hotel stay was very good, the only complaint I have is the food wasn't very good and they didn't clean up after people were done eating very quickly so you would come to the restaurant and the tables still had dirty dishes on them and the birds would get up on the tables and eat off the dirty plates. Our rooms were spotless and the staff was very nice. It was a short 10 minute walk to town. We have been to Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. Best=Puerto Vallarta 2nd= Riveria Maya Last=Cancun

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    No need to take a taxi from The Reef the walk is only 10 min. to town. If you take the ferry to Cozumel get to the ferry waiting area about 20 min. before your to leave the lines get very long.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    I love to travel!
    Business
    Chicago, IL.
    Mar 11, 2009

    Not so good....

    The Reef was a bit more expensive than our last Mexico all-inclusive trip however it was not worth it. The hotel itself had a cool setup-the rooms were in seperate villas among some lush foliage and whatnot around the grounds. There were also a couple pools with a staggering area with beach beds and chairs. The beds were exceptionally wonderful and by the far the highlight of this place. The staff was not as friendly as what I have encountered in Mexico before. They weren't very entertaining nor were they very nice. The room is dark and small and the bed is SO uncomfortable so after a couple days we "upgraded" to a suite which had a private balcony and jacuzzi and a nice bed, etc. We paid an extra $400 for the new room for the last few days of our stay. The jacuzzi did not work and was disgusting looking the whole time we were in there. We complained 3 times to the manager and he said he would have it fixed, he supposedly did, but it wasn't fixed. We ended up leaving before it could get resolved and after getting home I had to call the hotel numerous times to speak to the manager about a refund for the supposed "upgraded" room. I was always told he was unavailable and would call me back, and he never did. We ended up filing a dispute with Visa and recouped our money that way. Very disappointing. The food here was okay, not too many options and the quality was standard. My boyfriend ended up getting sick the last 2 days here, we were very careful with the water, so it must have been something else. I would not recommend the Reef to anyone though, I would have rather paid a bit more elsewhere and had a piece of mind than saved a few bucks and settled for this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Money saver tip-Save YOUR money and DO NOT stay at the Reef!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Jan 1, 2009

    Not Worth the Price

    The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Spring
    Dec 21, 2008

    Great outside ambiance but disappointing rooms

    Overall our stay at the Reef Playacar was somewhat disappointing. WE enjoyed the overall location of the hotel and the outside amenities. The beach access is probably one of the nicest in the area. But we were very disappointed in the rooms since they seemed to have clearly deteriorated since our last stay a couple of years back. For instance was the bathtub fixed with a rough patch that covered about half the bottom and still leaked - which did not seem bother anyone. The AC was loud, AC drainage leaked into the room and the drapes had mold spots. Also be aware of very agressive sales people appearing to be hotel employees (which they are not!) trying to sell 25yr memberships for $13K for preferential access at certain hotels. This was very annoying!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Dec 1, 2008

    Great location, beautiful beach

    The Reef Playacar hotel itself is in a great location, a very comfortable walking distance to the center of Playa del Carmen (5th Ave). The scenery at the hotel is very luscious, it almost feels as if you are in the middle of a jungle with all the comforts of a resort. The beach is breathtaking. The food was very good, and we never felt as if we were eating the same food every day. The staff at the hotel is very humble and extremely helpful. Try to speak Spanish, whatever little you might know. The only concern I would have is the room quality, it is clean and comfortable enough, but after all-you aren't going to Mexico to stay in the room all day!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Don't exchange your money at the airport-you will not get a good exchange rate. While shopping in Playa del Carmen, sometimes it's better to pay in pesos than in US dollars, although they accept both.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Henderson
    Oct 20, 2008

    Very Family and couple friendly

    The Reef Playacar has very nice rooms, landscaping, beautiful pools, beach and scenery. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful, if we had any questions they did not hesitate to help in any way. There were very few communication issues, checking in was a breeze and they took our luggage and brought us right to our room. The bellhop explained the air conditioner and TV remote controls and asked if we had any other questions. It is both nice for families and for couples as well as we went for our anniversary and had a great time. At the swim-up bar and the buffet they never let your glass go empty, each time we returned they remembered what we ordered before. They have great nightly shows @ 9PM, fantastic entertainment both for adults and children. They have pool tables at the upstairs bar, and a ping pong table for both adults and children to enjoy. We were there for 7 days, the entire staff were all very hard workers; we saw the same staff there all 7 days. You can either walk 15 minutes or take a taxi for $2 to 5th street which has all kinds of shops for shopping and another beautiful ocean to enjoy. Overall it was a fantastic hotel, we would most definetly go back! The hotel front desk was very helpful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Enjoy all the shops on 5th street, starbucks, restaurants and beautiful ocean. Only 15 minutes to walk or 2 minute ride in a taxi, just walk out the hotel door and the taxi's are there waiting.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Sep 23, 2008

    A relaxing get-away

    The Reef was our first all-inclusive experience and we will definately vacation this way again. We loved the no hassle/no decision days, and would recommend this style of vacationing to everyone. The Reef's grounds are absoutely beautiful-and being right on the beach is a plus. We dined at all of the restaurants and had no problem with reservations. We toured the Tulum ruins, took the ferry to Cozumel for a day, and shopped on 5th. Ave. We were very satisfied, and we would stay at The Reef again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Grand Junction
    Sep 2, 2008

    Great little gem

    The PlayCar Reef was just what we were looking for. Quit,quant atmosphere. The beach was very nice. There is a ferry to Cozumel about a 3 minute car ride away from the hotel that we took. The food was great. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. We had a great time. Be Aware everyone is trying to sell a time share.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    About five minutes from hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top