$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Endwell, NY
May 30, 2009

Reef Playacar

Hotel was very nice...very comfortable and the beach was absolutely beautiful...staff is very friendly as well...rooms very simple but comfortable...food was good and even though it felt like we were eating the same stuff almost all week, it was plenty and we never felt hungry...hotel has a beautiful tropical garden and you can enjoy walking through it on your way to the beach and the restaurant...i would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Iowa
Apr 25, 2009

Reef Playacar

Hotel was okay, restaurants were very predictable and never changed their menus. Got very bored with the food. Lots of noisy neighbors who came in at night - had to call security more than once.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
college student and beau
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 22, 2009

nice resort, beautiful scenery, bad food

This resort was very impressive from first glance- offered nice clean rooms with balcony, jacuzzi; 3 bars, 2 pools, 2 restaurants and a buffet; very cheap! But when you look closer, as in stay there, you see that their food is terrible and preparation methods unsafe- myself and my travel partner both got sick on different days with food poisoning and it seemed to be the talk of the resort that others were experiencing the same thing. i don't know how many people I talked to that were up the night before with diarrhea and vomiting the entire night and feeling very ill the day after. I think I counted about 50 that I talked to alone. I called the front desk and the man assured me it wasn't from the food and that he hadn't received any other complaints and would I like him to call a doctor? Only to find out 3 people went to the hospital with similar symptoms that night! Not impressed....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

about a mile down the road is 5th avenue which was nice for shopping and restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt Horeb WI
Apr 12, 2009

April 6-12 2009

Our hotel stay was very good, the only complaint I have is the food wasn't very good and they didn't clean up after people were done eating very quickly so you would come to the restaurant and the tables still had dirty dishes on them and the birds would get up on the tables and eat off the dirty plates. Our rooms were spotless and the staff was very nice. It was a short 10 minute walk to town. We have been to Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. Best=Puerto Vallarta 2nd= Riveria Maya Last=Cancun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to take a taxi from The Reef the walk is only 10 min. to town. If you take the ferry to Cozumel get to the ferry waiting area about 20 min. before your to leave the lines get very long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I love to travel!
Business
Chicago, IL.
Mar 11, 2009

Not so good....

The Reef was a bit more expensive than our last Mexico all-inclusive trip however it was not worth it. The hotel itself had a cool setup-the rooms were in seperate villas among some lush foliage and whatnot around the grounds. There were also a couple pools with a staggering area with beach beds and chairs. The beds were exceptionally wonderful and by the far the highlight of this place. The staff was not as friendly as what I have encountered in Mexico before. They weren't very entertaining nor were they very nice. The room is dark and small and the bed is SO uncomfortable so after a couple days we "upgraded" to a suite which had a private balcony and jacuzzi and a nice bed, etc. We paid an extra $400 for the new room for the last few days of our stay. The jacuzzi did not work and was disgusting looking the whole time we were in there. We complained 3 times to the manager and he said he would have it fixed, he supposedly did, but it wasn't fixed. We ended up leaving before it could get resolved and after getting home I had to call the hotel numerous times to speak to the manager about a refund for the supposed "upgraded" room. I was always told he was unavailable and would call me back, and he never did. We ended up filing a dispute with Visa and recouped our money that way. Very disappointing. The food here was okay, not too many options and the quality was standard. My boyfriend ended up getting sick the last 2 days here, we were very careful with the water, so it must have been something else. I would not recommend the Reef to anyone though, I would have rather paid a bit more elsewhere and had a piece of mind than saved a few bucks and settled for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Money saver tip-Save YOUR money and DO NOT stay at the Reef!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Not Worth the Price

The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring
Dec 21, 2008

Great outside ambiance but disappointing rooms

Overall our stay at the Reef Playacar was somewhat disappointing. WE enjoyed the overall location of the hotel and the outside amenities. The beach access is probably one of the nicest in the area. But we were very disappointed in the rooms since they seemed to have clearly deteriorated since our last stay a couple of years back. For instance was the bathtub fixed with a rough patch that covered about half the bottom and still leaked - which did not seem bother anyone. The AC was loud, AC drainage leaked into the room and the drapes had mold spots. Also be aware of very agressive sales people appearing to be hotel employees (which they are not!) trying to sell 25yr memberships for $13K for preferential access at certain hotels. This was very annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2008

Great location, beautiful beach

The Reef Playacar hotel itself is in a great location, a very comfortable walking distance to the center of Playa del Carmen (5th Ave). The scenery at the hotel is very luscious, it almost feels as if you are in the middle of a jungle with all the comforts of a resort. The beach is breathtaking. The food was very good, and we never felt as if we were eating the same food every day. The staff at the hotel is very humble and extremely helpful. Try to speak Spanish, whatever little you might know. The only concern I would have is the room quality, it is clean and comfortable enough, but after all-you aren't going to Mexico to stay in the room all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't exchange your money at the airport-you will not get a good exchange rate. While shopping in Playa del Carmen, sometimes it's better to pay in pesos than in US dollars, although they accept both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson
Oct 20, 2008

Very Family and couple friendly

The Reef Playacar has very nice rooms, landscaping, beautiful pools, beach and scenery. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful, if we had any questions they did not hesitate to help in any way. There were very few communication issues, checking in was a breeze and they took our luggage and brought us right to our room. The bellhop explained the air conditioner and TV remote controls and asked if we had any other questions. It is both nice for families and for couples as well as we went for our anniversary and had a great time. At the swim-up bar and the buffet they never let your glass go empty, each time we returned they remembered what we ordered before. They have great nightly shows @ 9PM, fantastic entertainment both for adults and children. They have pool tables at the upstairs bar, and a ping pong table for both adults and children to enjoy. We were there for 7 days, the entire staff were all very hard workers; we saw the same staff there all 7 days. You can either walk 15 minutes or take a taxi for $2 to 5th street which has all kinds of shops for shopping and another beautiful ocean to enjoy. Overall it was a fantastic hotel, we would most definetly go back! The hotel front desk was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy all the shops on 5th street, starbucks, restaurants and beautiful ocean. Only 15 minutes to walk or 2 minute ride in a taxi, just walk out the hotel door and the taxi's are there waiting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2008

A relaxing get-away

The Reef was our first all-inclusive experience and we will definately vacation this way again. We loved the no hassle/no decision days, and would recommend this style of vacationing to everyone. The Reef's grounds are absoutely beautiful-and being right on the beach is a plus. We dined at all of the restaurants and had no problem with reservations. We toured the Tulum ruins, took the ferry to Cozumel for a day, and shopped on 5th. Ave. We were very satisfied, and we would stay at The Reef again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top