$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren0102
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 26, 2014

Lovely Visit

The hotel staff was helpful and attentive. The room was small, but close to the pool. The bed was not comfortable, but its a sacrifice I'm willing to make for the beautiful beach. Playacar is a great location as it is gated and a bit safer. The all inclusive nature made it guilt free (after the initial investment, of course). It has families, but that was not overly disruptive for our belated honeymoon/anniversary. Its about a mile walk down the beach from fifth avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family5 from Florida
Business
Weston, FL
Jun 7, 2014

Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Salma Dog lover.
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 2, 2014

La Prisienne

The bathrooms need to be updated - Very old and moldy. Jonathan at the front desk needs to learn how to smile. Not friendly. When I told him about my first room, uncomfortable, noisy, facing the parking a lot, and getting fumes from the balcony he told me that he can update the room for me for an extra $ 30.00 when I paid alsmost $ 1700.00 for this trip. Then I was charged for the safe and I had to carry with me all the time the stupid key. Was afraid to loose it swimming. Finally an other person offered me another room first floor but at night I had a lot of visitors "raccoons" couldn't use my patio. At 7:00 am construction started on the roof. Couldn't sleep late and couldn't nap after lunch because it was hot to stay at the beach. The staff at the restaurant and beach are very nice and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Didn't use any

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meister knows
Business
Chicago
May 29, 2014

OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy allll the time! is really close to downtown Playa.It's in a gated community so feel more secluded. Property is surrounded w/trees which is cool. Coffee bar at 4pm is a must do, tacos @snackbar from 10p to 2am is a blessing. Other resorts should do this! David, Nayeli, Paulino (smiley)' , Amburto, Oscar and many others were awesome. Met some new friends who we r still in contact with. A must see! Upgrade for a little more, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown (5th ave) walk the sidewalk or beach about 10 min. Cab $7bucks. The other direction walking the sidewalk about 5 min but there is absolutely no harassment and they have exactly same things as downtown, just no restaurants.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikeyfish
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
May 22, 2014

Beach Haven

The Reef Playacar is just the right size for us. Not to big but large enough to offer everything a larger resort would. the beaches are fantastic allowing you to walk several miles on each side of the resort,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTovsen
Business
St.Paul, MN
Apr 4, 2014

Couples getaway!

It is a very nice 3 star hotel. Layout is awesome, great natural surroundings. Rooms are pretty standard but offer everything you'll need for a week in paradise. Food is on par with most others, the Italian restaurant has some great dishes! The best they offer at The Reef are the people, great staff all very friendly. The evening shows were very entertaining as well. Don't miss The Show International!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the frozen cocktail (Banana Mama)

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beach traveler and beyond
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 24, 2014

Average

Just got back from a stay at the Reef. The location of this hotel is great. A 10 min walk to downtown which you can do via the beach or use the sidewalks. The staff there was good, but Willy and Felix were AWESOME! The two of them certainly made our stay better! We purchased a premium room, which wasn't needed. However, we did get the option of top shelf liquor, so if that's what your after, go that route. Plus you get to use the bar close to the beach, where Felix was working! The premium package didn't give us that view of the beach we were after, we were towards the back of the hotel, ground level room. The minibar was only stocked with a few pops and one beer per person per day. Though we had to complain twice to get the mini "fridge" stocked with our beer before it finally happened. The food was average. Nothing special. I must admit though, we never stayed at the hotel for dinner, so I cant say anything about their dinners. The beach was amazing! Though, you get that anywhere in Playacar. However, it wasn't packed at this hotel like the other hotels we noticed. Could get a perfect spot basically any time of the day. Overall, this hotel is average. A bit dated and could use some touching up, but its not like we were in the rooms much anyways. Would I stay again? It was all depend of price. It was a perfect hotel for sun, drinks, and going out on the town at night. And the price was right in our range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10 min walk to town, so many great places to eat on 5th ave. I'd prefer that to eating the buffets.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kmill
Business
ILL.
Nov 8, 2013

Good deal for the money

The grounds are very tropical and pretty.. The rooms were ok. We did have a few ants and bugs over the 11 days we stayed. The AC quit working the last day, but they fixed it right away. For an all-Inclusive, they nickel and dime you on several things. The beach is great! Lots of walking to get around..the food was good, but could have been hotter..good variety..the wait staff in the dining area was very helpful and friendly. The front desk help was very unfriendly and not helpful. The bellboys were very friendly. It worked for our needs, but doubt that we return for a second visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josegonma
Business
Merida, Yucatan
Oct 14, 2013

Excellent

No comments, all was perfect, in special all the staff, the barmans, the waithers, entertainment, everything was so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the flaming taco
Business
pittsburgh,pa
Jun 10, 2013

great location-facility a little dated

The first room we where given was in a not renovated building, not good at all. Gap in the window frame of the bathroom window, mildew in the grout of the floor tile, 2nd night there had a torrential downpour outside woke up to 1/2" of water on floor. Vita the manager was great !! gave us a upgraded room at no charge, 2nd room was awesome location is good if you walk down to the beach and look to the left you can see a ferry dock, that is where 5th avenue begin, its about a 15 minute walk. if you walk to the right you go past about 5 or 6 resorts then there is a area not developed with natural beachfront and vegetation, really nice to see. if you go out the front door and make a left there is a shopping area about 5 minutes walk with a Starbucks you can get WiFi there with a purchase. WiFi cost $15 a day at resort. we took no Pesos everybody takes USD, everything pretty much is priced in USD, Euros, and pesos. 2 pools top one has swim up bar, nice beach in front of resort. This resort is small so not a lot of amenities a larger resort would have. Staff very nice and they worked very hard. Buffet OK, sometimes stuff was not warm, sometimes could find no glasses for drinks, decent variety and quality. Would not go back again not for an one reason, just would spend a little more and go to a nicer place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be prepared when you go to 5th avenue, you will be bombarded with people wanting you to go into there stores, They know where you are staying by your wristband so people will come up to you and say they work at your resort, come look at my stuff, we had 3 people do this in one afternoon, overall it is safe to go there though

Back to menu Return to top