$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wife with kids
Business
North Hollywood, California
Nov 17, 2014

Cozy hotel for family to enjoy- needs to improve cleanliness

This was a family reunion vacation. There was a total of 20 of us. We all arrived at different times. 3 of us reserved King sized bedrooms but only one got what was reserved. I traveled with my husband, mom and kids and had asked for connecting rooms or a room close to each other. That didn't happen. Fortunately, the next day a room with a king sized bed became available right next door. I want to point out that this happened because I followed up. There was no initiative from the staff to make sure it happened. The concierge staff was not welcoming as in other hotels that we've stayed on previous vacations. I gave a rate of 4 because the other staff provided an excellent service. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful. It's a small hotel but super cozy. The rooms are dated and housekeeping needs to do a better job in cleaning the rooms and making sure they wash the bedding daily. There is a lot of humidity and so everything felt and smelled wet so changing out the sheets daily should be a must. The pool and exterior was always clean. The beach is beautiful and part of the hotel. The food was delicious but the menu doesn't really change. I loves the daily shows and performances. There is activities that everyone can enjoy. They have a kids club for the kiddies and adult activities like club outings, bars. I was really happy that there was something for everyone. For me, I don't mind that the rooms were dated but cleanliness is a MUST. They need to improve and make sure that rooms are cleaned and sheets are changed I. Not daily at least every other day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're a family of 4 or more and plan on doing activities I would strongly recommend that you rent a car. Otherwise your money will go on TAXI. It gets really pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoadTripTraveler
Business
Houston, Texas, EEUU
Oct 31, 2014

Nice place in The middle of the rainforest.

The hotel has beautiful gardens who actually is parts of the rainforest the rooms are not awesome and the staff.... Let's say average you find really fun people like the bartenders and not so fine like the security... But really nice place to stay, the beach was perfect, and the pools were fine, some of the bars are closing early and you have to walk a lot to another bar if you want to get more to drink, only two beers at the room per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Lavi
Business
NYC
Sep 8, 2014

Great !

This hotel is a perfect combination of great location and clean relaxed atmosphere! You can't beat the price and staff was very accommodating. Only con is that the food wasn't up to par besides that I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the restaurant Mi Pueblo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nillie
Business
New York
Sep 8, 2014

I didnt have any complaints from my stay

I enjoyed my stay. the staff was nice, the rooms were cleaned. the food was pretty good. what i didn't really like was the Mexican restaurant which is 6 dollar extra. we upgraded our room when we arrived and i expected a lot from from the restaurant. my friend went to the italian restaurant and she said it was decent. the food in the main restaurant was good, so we stuck to that restaurant for most of the stay. they also have a snack bar that wasn't bad. we also got the top shelve liquor. if you aren't a big drinker doesn't matter.. the differences isn't huge though. its nice to tip the staff. they work hard. overall for the price i think the hotel is decent, good size and overall it looks nice as well. I also enjoyed the pool and the beach is nice (they have beach and canopy beds). This time of the year it rains a little bit. but overall the weather was good. Its very close to the bars and clubs. 45 mins from airport. we used USA transfer (perfect)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dgqlink
Business
ct
Sep 7, 2014

family vacation.

I stayed at the reef the first week of September. Bottom line, the place is located in a lovely beach and the grounds are clean. I enjoyed my trip for the most part and would recommend it to a friend. The only thing that vexed me was that you had to pay extra to eat at the Mexican restaurant and could not access a bar unless you paid extra. Also one more tip, I am bilingual in Spanish and English , but I suggest speaking to them in English because you will get better treatment. For some odd reason when I approached staff in Spanish I would be treated like I was second class. Finally, tip the bartenders on occasion, it goes a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the ado bus from airport to 5 th ave..and than taxi to hotel.it will save you about 100 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RM370
Business
Illinois
Sep 4, 2014

Reef Playacar

Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location. Definitely will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD DMC
Business
MEX CITY
Aug 27, 2014

really questioning if i would stay there again.

Didn't help us with staff problem. Booked an amazing trip ended up with an "ok" trip (didn't get money back). They charge extra for everything (even the lock from the security box). Taxi to 5th av 90 PESOS or more. BE PREPARED TO TIP!! thats the only way to get real service. Hotel is really pretty in general, food ok, alcohol not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful they tend to over charge foreigners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oneguy
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 6, 2014

niceguy

I should have believed some of the other reviews. The hotel is definitely in need of repair. The room is not that bad but the food is not good. Coming from a non picky family, that is saying a lot. Everything is cooked / fried with lots of oil, and butter (not good for the stomach). The Italian restaurant was alright but nothing to boast about. Drinks at the bar are very watered down and bar is not staffed accordingly. Too bad this place is located on a beautiful beach and water is very clear. If you are thinking of this place for your vacation, spend a little more money and find another place at Playa Del Carmen. The beach is definitely nice just not the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gizzy mom
Business
Lynchburg, Virginia
Jul 31, 2014

best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food and the stunning location, it was just perfect!! My best friend and I couldn't have had a more perfect vacation. We can't believe what we got for the price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Know taxi cab fares before you go. Ask hotel staff or research on internet. Confirm price with driver and pay in pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MtnGatty
Business
Colorado
Jul 26, 2014

Great Couples Getaway!

We recently stayed four nights at this property and it exceeded our expectations. The room was super clean, the staff very friendly and the overall experience amazing. The food was fine and we found the two restaurants had amazing dinners. We were a little skeptical based on the great price, but our worries subsided upon arrival. We are already planning a trip back next summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top