$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family5 from Florida
Business
Weston, FL
Jun 7, 2014

Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Salma Dog lover.
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 2, 2014

La Prisienne

The bathrooms need to be updated - Very old and moldy. Jonathan at the front desk needs to learn how to smile. Not friendly. When I told him about my first room, uncomfortable, noisy, facing the parking a lot, and getting fumes from the balcony he told me that he can update the room for me for an extra $ 30.00 when I paid alsmost $ 1700.00 for this trip. Then I was charged for the safe and I had to carry with me all the time the stupid key. Was afraid to loose it swimming. Finally an other person offered me another room first floor but at night I had a lot of visitors "raccoons" couldn't use my patio. At 7:00 am construction started on the roof. Couldn't sleep late and couldn't nap after lunch because it was hot to stay at the beach. The staff at the restaurant and beach are very nice and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Didn't use any

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meister knows
Business
Chicago
May 29, 2014

OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy allll the time! is really close to downtown Playa.It's in a gated community so feel more secluded. Property is surrounded w/trees which is cool. Coffee bar at 4pm is a must do, tacos @snackbar from 10p to 2am is a blessing. Other resorts should do this! David, Nayeli, Paulino (smiley)' , Amburto, Oscar and many others were awesome. Met some new friends who we r still in contact with. A must see! Upgrade for a little more, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown (5th ave) walk the sidewalk or beach about 10 min. Cab $7bucks. The other direction walking the sidewalk about 5 min but there is absolutely no harassment and they have exactly same things as downtown, just no restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikeyfish
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
May 22, 2014

Beach Haven

The Reef Playacar is just the right size for us. Not to big but large enough to offer everything a larger resort would. the beaches are fantastic allowing you to walk several miles on each side of the resort,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTovsen
Business
St.Paul, MN
Apr 4, 2014

Couples getaway!

It is a very nice 3 star hotel. Layout is awesome, great natural surroundings. Rooms are pretty standard but offer everything you'll need for a week in paradise. Food is on par with most others, the Italian restaurant has some great dishes! The best they offer at The Reef are the people, great staff all very friendly. The evening shows were very entertaining as well. Don't miss The Show International!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the frozen cocktail (Banana Mama)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beach traveler and beyond
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 24, 2014

Average

Just got back from a stay at the Reef. The location of this hotel is great. A 10 min walk to downtown which you can do via the beach or use the sidewalks. The staff there was good, but Willy and Felix were AWESOME! The two of them certainly made our stay better! We purchased a premium room, which wasn't needed. However, we did get the option of top shelf liquor, so if that's what your after, go that route. Plus you get to use the bar close to the beach, where Felix was working! The premium package didn't give us that view of the beach we were after, we were towards the back of the hotel, ground level room. The minibar was only stocked with a few pops and one beer per person per day. Though we had to complain twice to get the mini "fridge" stocked with our beer before it finally happened. The food was average. Nothing special. I must admit though, we never stayed at the hotel for dinner, so I cant say anything about their dinners. The beach was amazing! Though, you get that anywhere in Playacar. However, it wasn't packed at this hotel like the other hotels we noticed. Could get a perfect spot basically any time of the day. Overall, this hotel is average. A bit dated and could use some touching up, but its not like we were in the rooms much anyways. Would I stay again? It was all depend of price. It was a perfect hotel for sun, drinks, and going out on the town at night. And the price was right in our range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10 min walk to town, so many great places to eat on 5th ave. I'd prefer that to eating the buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kmill
Business
ILL.
Nov 8, 2013

Good deal for the money

The grounds are very tropical and pretty.. The rooms were ok. We did have a few ants and bugs over the 11 days we stayed. The AC quit working the last day, but they fixed it right away. For an all-Inclusive, they nickel and dime you on several things. The beach is great! Lots of walking to get around..the food was good, but could have been hotter..good variety..the wait staff in the dining area was very helpful and friendly. The front desk help was very unfriendly and not helpful. The bellboys were very friendly. It worked for our needs, but doubt that we return for a second visit....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josegonma
Business
Merida, Yucatan
Oct 14, 2013

Excellent

No comments, all was perfect, in special all the staff, the barmans, the waithers, entertainment, everything was so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the flaming taco
Business
pittsburgh,pa
Jun 10, 2013

great location-facility a little dated

The first room we where given was in a not renovated building, not good at all. Gap in the window frame of the bathroom window, mildew in the grout of the floor tile, 2nd night there had a torrential downpour outside woke up to 1/2" of water on floor. Vita the manager was great !! gave us a upgraded room at no charge, 2nd room was awesome location is good if you walk down to the beach and look to the left you can see a ferry dock, that is where 5th avenue begin, its about a 15 minute walk. if you walk to the right you go past about 5 or 6 resorts then there is a area not developed with natural beachfront and vegetation, really nice to see. if you go out the front door and make a left there is a shopping area about 5 minutes walk with a Starbucks you can get WiFi there with a purchase. WiFi cost $15 a day at resort. we took no Pesos everybody takes USD, everything pretty much is priced in USD, Euros, and pesos. 2 pools top one has swim up bar, nice beach in front of resort. This resort is small so not a lot of amenities a larger resort would have. Staff very nice and they worked very hard. Buffet OK, sometimes stuff was not warm, sometimes could find no glasses for drinks, decent variety and quality. Would not go back again not for an one reason, just would spend a little more and go to a nicer place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be prepared when you go to 5th avenue, you will be bombarded with people wanting you to go into there stores, They know where you are staying by your wristband so people will come up to you and say they work at your resort, come look at my stuff, we had 3 people do this in one afternoon, overall it is safe to go there though

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BOBBY THE MAYOR
Business
RHODE ISLAND
May 14, 2013

Couples get away!!!!

First of all let me start my saying this was the greatest 10 days we've spent in any location on any vacation we've been on.. The resort was FANTASTIC!!!! Especially for the price that we payed. The staff were very accommodating and very peaceful.. We felt like it wasn't one of those Big Commercial resorts. It felt like family.. The resort was so clean and the food was great.. I know this comment sounds to good to be true but it truly was a great experience for us. The only negative thing I can say is there's no free WIFI, and we were promised a couples SPA on the beach and it was some misunderstanding with the Concierge service provided in the lobby!! But once again the positive side is you will always be back to this resort!! I got Scuba certified at this resort as well the marina Crew was fantastic.. Jeremy and Stefon was great.If you like to drink top shelf liquor like absolute Vodka and Whiskey and Coors light, than i suggest you to upgrade for only $15 more a day and it gives you a Gold Band around your wrist. There is also a VIP section for the Gold Band.. I think I said enough lol.... One more thing Unlimited ICE CREAM..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab its only $7 .. Tell the cab driver to take you to 5th Ave and drop you off by Karens Pizza from there on the shopping is better! Not to mention you wont get harassed as much..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top