$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Very reaxing

I would like to thank one of the staff in particular. His name was Pablo and he made us feel at... See full review

  • bumbula
  • Mar 21, 2015
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Top hotels

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    74 out of 74
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.8
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.9

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Kristi M.
    Business
    EVERGREEN
    Apr 6, 2015

    Great Location and Friendly Staff

    The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Loved the location of this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    bumbula
    Business
    South Bend
    Mar 21, 2015

    Very reaxing

    I would like to thank one of the staff in particular. His name was Pablo and he made us feel at home the moment we went to the buffet the first day. He was very curtious and remembered our taste in beverages no matter what meal. The other staff was very curtious and helpful. The clening staff made our room very cofortable and made sure we were happy with our accommodation. The hotel is located in a really nice area close to all the attractions. The beach is great and the the staff kept it tidy and clean. If I had to critizise anyone, it would be the entertainment staff. They seemed to be more interested in their nightly escapades than trying to entertain the travelers. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again if the price were within the range.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ErinJustin
    Business
    Ashby
    Feb 16, 2015

    Fun trip

    Beautiful beach location. Small-scale resort with only 200 rooms, so less walking than at most other Riviera Maya resorts. Decent variety of food at buffets, typically well-prepared. Ample beach chairs with umbrellas as long as you claim one before 8am. 2nd trip, likely will go back as good value for location.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Travelling four
    Business
    Okotoks
    Feb 13, 2015

    Great holiday

    when we arrived we weren't sure about the resort as there was no wifi included so I though that would be an indication of a poor hotel. I was so wrong - it was a fabulous trip. The food was so good - especially the buffet. The staff are outstanding. My only 'complaint' is that the beds are small (double) and with two preteen boys - was a bit much to have them share. We got a cot which worked out great. 15 min walk or $10 USD taxi to town to shop. Felt very safe the entire stay. We will be back - one week wasn't enough though - next time it will be at least 10 days.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mellow man
    Business
    Lynwood
    Feb 9, 2015

    Excellent location, great beach

    This hotel was a grat value. The location is great, the service was good, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food variety was good and the beac and ammenities excellent. The size of this resort is perfect, not too big yet not too small. Overall a great choice and good value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    CARRIE
    Business
    CHicago
    Jan 20, 2015

    Relaxing and wonderful

    Hello I loved the hotel, but the only problem was I could not get an unlimited supply of bottled water while there. I don't drink much alcohol and prefer water during the day. I don't like drinking tap water.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Brianna P.
    Business
    Vancouver
    Dec 23, 2014

    Great girls getaway

    Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need for a small resort. Room was just what we needed, clean spacious, balcony over looked the grounds which looks like a rain forrest. Close walking distance to the front lobby and restaurants and beach. Super nice beach for swimming or sun bathing. No complaints, would definitely go back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Barbara Demetz
    Business
    Boise, idaho
    Nov 28, 2014

    Beautiful beach, sand and water!

    We have been to Mexico several times, but this was the less enjoyable vacation we had. We were a party of 11 (family and friends), 9 of us got sick, and so we heard many other guests at the hotel. We all think it came from the food (a bacteria or virus). Our complains were heard but no action was taken. Speaking with other guests nobody felt like they would come back. Nether will we, the custom service was bad, the interest in our wellbeing ignored.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Coba and Cenote

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    MD DMC
    Business
    MEX CITY
    Nov 24, 2014

    THE STAFF IS THE WORST

    The hotel is really nice, but the staff is very very bad!!! they are expecting a tip for every drink you order, even though its an all inclusive plan they do charge for good alcohol, only the cheep is included, some areas are reserved for those how decide to pay extra. We booked a trip with them and it was a scam, talked to the hotel manager and he didn't caer, in the end their excuse was "they didn't know the person" who by the way was PART OF THE HOTEL staff!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    JUST BE CAREFUL

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Camelbak
    Business
    Texas
    Nov 19, 2014

    Summer Vacation

    Staff is beyond great! The bartenders are friendly and everyone makes you feel at home. Amenities at hotel could be better, the beds are a little hard and the bathroom needed a little remodeling. You usually don't spend a lot of time in your room anyway but it could have used a little help. The swimming pool, the Italian restaurant and buffet restaurant were good. The best part is that the beach is a few steps away and that takes away any bad amenity there is... The ocean is beautiful and perfect!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top