$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Family-oriented beachfront resort
  • Caribbean-style accommodations and personalized attention at a small size resort
  • Just a short hop from the 5th Avenue in downtown Playa del Carmen
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 196 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini refrigerator, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View Premium
This room includes:

Includes the Garden Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.

  • Garden View Standard Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Superior
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival
  • Pool View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular pool front view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Pool View Superior Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival
  • Pool View Premium Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View Superior room amenities, plus extra:
  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.
  • Ocean View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular ocean view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.

  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Ocean View Superior & Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:
    Includes the Ocean View Superior room amenities, plus extra:
  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
    Stop by the delightfully tranquil Lobby Bar for big band tunes and evening cocktails.Open 6.30 pm - 12 pm
    Miramar Restaurant
    Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM. Dress code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot.
    Rosinella Restaurant
    At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to10:00PM. Reservation required. (Please take out :Reservation required)
    Sabor Restaurant
    Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
    Sports Bar
    This elegant restaurant serves an a la carte menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Mexico. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, pool clothes, hats or shirts
    Pool Bar
    Our thatched-roof swim-up pool bar serves a thirst-quenching array of cocktails, beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 11 am - 10 pm
    Snack Bar El Palmar
    This relaxing poolside spot serves snacks during day time and night time. Open 11 am 7 pm & 10.30 - 2 am
    Bar & Mar Lounge Bar
    Luxurious Bar & Mar pairs a beachfront location with music, A/C & flat screens available and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Surcharge for standard and superior room. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.5 / 5
    5.01.0
    13 out of 62
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    4.2

    85% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Stetz28
    Business
    Riverton
    Feb 18, 2015

    Awesome Friend Trip

    Our stay in playa was amazing! The value for the money was great! I wasn't a huge fan of the food but it was fine. Staff members were amazing especially the entertainment group. If your looking for an amazing beach this however is not the best. Not much of a beach but hanging out at the pool was great. I would stay at this hotel again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Wanna be gypsy
    Business
    Vermont
    Dec 1, 2014

    Budget Holiday

    This resort is within a 5 minute walk of 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The resort itself is quite small, very simple but we enjoyed it completely. If you are looking for fancy, high end, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for very attentive staff, decent food, good drinks and a huge value then this is the place for you.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Stetz28
    Business
    Utah
    Oct 22, 2014

    My stay

    For the price of this hotel you really can't beat it! It's about a $7-10 cab ride to 5th Ave. so pretty close. The staff was pretty great especially the entertainment guys. The food was so so but we figured had we stayed at another hotel we'd probably be spending tons more money. We did end up eating out for at least one meal of the day mostly dinner, but still believed we were getting a bargin. The room I think was just fine nothing too special but for our needs. The only complaint would be the ants. I don't know if it's ant season or what but those pesky things were everywhere. It gave me the Heebie Jeebies but we got used to them and they were harmless. I would stay here again. One last thing if you prefer beach over the pool they don't have that great of a beach and your view is of boats so keep that in mind. Cons- Daily or weekly fee for wifi If you didn't upgrade and get a red bracelet you didn't get top shelf boos and had to pay extra for the restaurant ( $6 per person ) Pros- Staff was pretty great and accommodating Cleaning of the room everyday Your in Playa Del Carmen you should have NO complaints

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    They have great little restaurants all around. Some are fairly close and you can walk or just a short can ride.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mi the travel guru
    Business
    dc
    Jun 18, 2014

    thought it was better amenities

    Very basic not what you are use to if u like all inclusive. Staff very nice but things are limited like the guac. yes guac in MEXICO it was only at the snack station from 12-4 & when it was done there is no more coming out. So get there at 12 guys. Food selection OK! Clean hotel & great hospitality.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th ave is cool

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Kmc56
    Business
    NY
    Jun 8, 2014

    5 day vacation

    The hotel was ok.The rooms were always very clean.The buffet needs a little more on it. For the price the resort was good. They could use better mixes for the drinks and offer free wifi.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    50 birthday vacation
    Business
    Santa Maria, Ca
    Apr 20, 2014

    birthday vacation

    overall this hotel was clean & close proximity to town (5th Ave) The grounds were clean. the beach was really a reef- with lil beach. Arrival greeting was great, They greet you with champagne and friendly employees. and the staff were also very nice. NO ROOM SERVICE.:( Champagne was only available when you first arrive and at breakfast. food was ok.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tachuela28
    Business
    Novi, Michigan
    Jan 5, 2014

    Excelent All Inclusive

    The service was awesome, the location was perfect for an all inclusive in playa (i dont like the resorts). The food was amazing everyday had different food and it was so good. The staff is friendly and gave us the best service. I'll definitely will stay here again

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    If you want the good licor in the open bar you should buy the international open bar wrist band for $ 18 US daily. After two or three drinks of black label or Don Julio it's paid. That save me a lot of money.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Sam86
    Business
    Minneapolis, minnesota
    May 27, 2013

    It Doesnt Get Much Better than Grand Coco Bay.

    Upon our arrival we were greeted and continuously treated with the utmost respect. The facility is cozy, that is what i look for in a Hotel, i don't want a huge complex which is difficult getting from point A to point B. Grand Coco Bay is a modest size and everything is very convenient to get to. The hotel is steps away from the beach, the pool has ample space for all who would perfer to lay by the pool. Grand Coco bay's Overall location is priceless, you are in walking distance from the famed 5TH ave which has ample restaurants, shops and nightlife. The all inclusive factor really ensures you get your moneys worth, all you can drink and eat. they have a great Snack bar: my favorite were the nacho's with Guacamole , if you would rather sit down and not be pool side they have a buffet that has a great breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Dinner is themed so one night is mexican, another Italian etc. My favorite was obviously mexican night. I have come to Grand Coco Bay 3 times, and am already planning my 4th. listen i am very Picky when it comes to destinations and hotels and no other hotels in playa compare from the price to the location. the one thing i would really Suggest is room service, I love room service, and complementary Wi-fi. it must be purchased daily or weekly for a steep price. While i was staying at the hotel i was looking for relaxation. I got A message in the spa from betty, I layed out, We went dolphin swimming, jet Skiing and Scuba Diving All set up by the hotel for HONESTLY a great price. I went to 5th Ave Almost daily and on a few occasions walked back to the hotel. If you decide to take a cab the hotel is so close to town that it only costs you 4 USD. The one thing i wish i did do more of is eat locally instead of mostly at the hotel but the selection at the hotel was always so great. I will forever go to this hotel and i will definitely be returning 2014.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Short Walk to 5TH AVE but even if you want to take a cab its only 4usd from the hotel. 5th Ave is A must see, and i would recommend dolphin swimming set up by the hotel, Very decent pricing.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Turquesa
    Business
    Corona, CA, USA
    Mar 3, 2012

    Friendly, home away from home resort

    We loved Grand Coco Bay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent, for the most part, especially the Italian restaurant. The snack bar had a good variety, and the guacamole was great! We really enjoyed and appreciated all the hard work that went into the special Mexican Buffet and the show afterwards they had. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    We went to Xel-ha and loved every minute of it. What a gorgeous place. The food was very good, the snorkeling was great and we loved tubing down the river and through the mangroves.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    north man
    Business
    North Dakota
    Feb 27, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    Had a great time, location is excellent. The service was great especially Manuel at sport bar, If you are expecting a 5 star resort go someplace else, this is a nice clean smaller resort and is a great value for the money, staff was great all in all had a blast

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top