$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
It was great!

The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center... See full review

  • Thunder11
  • Feb 19, 2014
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, Grand Coco Bay - All Inclusive is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world-renowned tropical paradise.

Nestled on a lengthy stretch of beach, just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best nightlifes the Mayan Riviera has to offer. Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmens famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacars Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

Our beautifully detailed rooms offer a spectacular view, one king size or two double beds, tile floors, air conditioning, private bath with shower and bath tub, hair dryer, vanity mirror, mini bar, 27 inch color TV with European and American channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

Honeymooners will receive a complimentary bottle of domestic wine in the room upon arrival. Clients must contact the hotel prior arrival.

Hotel Map

20.6366 -87.0602
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos, Playa del Carmen, Tulum.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 55 minutes and distance is 47 km (29.5 miles).
Area description
Located just 37.5 miles south of Cancun, our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View with Private Balcony, 321 Sq.Ft
Standard room includes: Ocean, garden or pool view, one king size bed or two doubles, caribbean style decoration, balcony or terrace. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, mini bar, safety box, bath tube, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
Live music and a great ambiance are the ingredients at our lobby bar. Open from 6PM - Midnight.
Miramar Restaurant
Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM.
Rosinella Restaurant
At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sabor Restaurant
Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sports Bar Heaven
Sport Bar Papos is characterized because of the sport entertainment and here you will find an extended variety of drinks, open from 5PM - 2AM.
Pool Bar
Pool Bar Azul 48 gives service to those who wants to get domestic or International exotic drinks at the pool, open from 11AM -6:30PM.
Snack Bar El Palmar
Informal and relaxing atmosphere are the characteristics of our snack located in front of the pool here you will found great food all the day and open from 11AM - 6PM, and from 10PM2AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Paradise
Washington State
May 19, 2014

Great place, wonderful time

The hotel was beautiful, staff greeted and took your luggage immediately. Concierge greeted us with a glass of champagne. We were escorted to our Ocean View room which was well air conditioned and clean. The view was OK, the other Ocean view rooms I noticed were better, ours had a palm tree in the way of the view, but it wasn't my priority for a view. The staff in the entire hotel, restaurants and bars were all friendly and helpful. The Italian restaurant was my favorite. The buffet had decent food, there was a wide selection. The Mexican restaurant and the Italian restaurant were NOT included in the all inclusive deal. You pay $6 per person. Not bad for a full course meal and something other then the buffet so we paid it, but upon booking I thought they were included as did a lot of people who dined there after us. The pool was wonderful, beautiful landscaping around it. The lounging area was great on the Ocean. The only thing is if you want an Ocean view without anything blocking your view you won't want to be here. There are boats all in front of the resort because the Pier is close by. We walked farther from the resort down the beach just to see the view without anything blocking it. We had a wonderful time, my boyfriend and I, and missed it the moment we walked away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystheteacher
Richmond. Va
Apr 29, 2014

Not resort people but this turned us

Out first visit to Mexico and playa. It is located at the end of playa and has virtually no neighbors. It's less than a 5 dollar cab ride to downtown playa. We enjoyed its location and lack of dense tourism! It is not a new resort but it provides everything you will need. It is a good size and does not take a long time to reach anything within the resort. Buffet was good- some days better than others. Loved the juices and all the fruits. Went to the Italian place- wasn't impressed but it was a nice change of pace. The upstairs bar has the best view in the whole place of the ocean and the moon!!! Great beach access with plenty of chairs and nice big towels. If you stay here I suggest bringing a big mug or water bottle bc the staff will pour your drinks in it rather than the plastic cups. The lobby bar has the best pour on drinks while the swim of bar tended to be a bit more weak. Snack bar has yummy burgers and an ice cream machine. We enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want a day trip arrange wih mayland tours in the lobby they are cheaper than the concierge.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thunder11
Poteet, texas
Feb 19, 2014

It was great!

The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center were great! The staff always happy to help, We really enjoyed the buffet...very good food! We could not have asked for more and can't wait to go back...we miss Coco Beach already!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alaska Couple 2012
Alaska
Jan 15, 2014

Beds were horrible!

The location was near 5th Avenue which was nice, not the best neighborhood-kinda dirty location. Staff was really nice. Downsides are food is average at best, if your looking for all the booze you can drink but cant get coffee in your room unless you pay $5 bucks a packet- then this is the place for you. Beds were horrible and hard, could not get any sleep and woke up sore every morning- even tried to switch rooms and the staff said "All the beds are like that" which was true for both rooms we were in. Activities are included but only 1 per day for 1 hour per day. Kind of felt nickel and dimed at every corner. Would only consider going back for the staff, nothing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dbaker71
San Francisco, CA
Jan 12, 2014

Cockroaches, cover-fees (on all-inclusive restaurants), break-ins

What a nightmare of a vacation. Room was a pit. Cockroaches killed daily in room. Standing water in bathtub. Floods during rain. Sewer backed up daily outside hotel so it smelled like a dirty toilet near the front every day. Day 2, someone broke into the room and hotel staff didn't care ("well, at least nothing was missing" was all they could say). Food in buffet was nasty. McDonalds would have tasted better. Half-way through the week they started charging $6/person 'cover charge' to All-Inclusive restaurant. They let scammers in to sell fake deals to guests around the pool area (guy sold a couple discount tickets to Coco Bongo and told them to meet him at front at a certain time that evening only never to show up; he was a regular around the hotel apparently). I would not consider paying more than $39/night for this trash heap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look elsewhere

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mateo13
dallas, texas
Aug 27, 2013

quick trip

Avg hotel with avg beaches. Close to the center of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colombiafreqtraveler
colombia
Aug 3, 2013

not complains

we had a wonderful time during our vacations. the onky thing that could be better is the quality for the food served at night. highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AHL61
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 6, 2013

3rd Time to Riviera Maya

I enjoyed the proximity of this hotel to 5th Avenue shopping, only three walking blocks out the front door of the hotel much closer than expected having walked there along the beach. In either respect it was never a hardship. We stayed in room 2240. It was clean, quiet and close to the lobby. It didn't take more than 5 minutes to get to any of the restaurants, beach or pool. All of which were never over crowded. We enjoyed the mexican specialty restaurant menu. The buffet served it's purpose for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A good variety of the basic dishes beef, chicken, pork and fish. The snack bar was quick and cooked to order. A taste of home so to speak when it came to a fresh hamburger, hotdog, nachos, pizzas and even chicken wings. Lomas travel was onsite and could handle every excursion imaginable and was nice to have straight forward pricing from the different excursion groups so you always had a choice and no experience was pushed more than the other. They even helped arranged a private transfer to the airport for us. Mother nature interfered with a lot of rain. But we weren't discouraged. We had a rain coat, the resort provided an umbrella and despite the rain it was still very much warm to hot outside. Once the rain stopped the beach and pool came back to life. We were early risers and found our favorite beach spot with out a problem right after breakfast 730-800. The lobby bar was great meeting point at night for late night excursions with a group or so we heard. The theater had a good 1 1/2 hours worth of theater entertainment that was perfect before or after dinner. There was a good variety of couples, families and friends that never got in anyones way and if anything new friendships were born easily. While I wouldn't consider this a honeymooners resort it wasn't too large you'd get lost and not too small that we became board. Regardless of my opinion the Riviera Maya is an awesome destination for shopping, history, cuisine, water sports or just sitting at the beach. Staying at this resort was a great value for the price, having traveled from Minneapolis and staying for 7 days @$1999. In the end with shopping, excursions and a few generous tips we spent $3000 and will do it again real soon! Tony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This resort is just 4 short blocks out the front door of the hotel and can also be reached while walking along the beach. It's the best of both worlds away from the large beach resorts closer to 5th Ave. and close enough to eat, drink and play if the resort doesn't meet your expectations.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara
Maspeth, NY
May 20, 2013

second trip

we were so excited to come back to this resort. what a surprise. everything change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cath63
Ashley, Pa USA
Sep 20, 2012

Great deal

The Grand Coco resort was a true bargain. From the clean rooms, beautiful grounds & beach, to wonderful professional staff, this vacaton could not have been better. But beware, paid for transfers thou Orbitzs to Grey line. Told when we got to Cancun airport that we owed another $75 because of hotel zones. I was stuck, had to give my credit card which cost more. Believe me, I was mad & thought this was a ripe off. I made confirmed reservation before we left & was not told about the price..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top