$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
47 reviews
It was great!

The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center... See full review

  • Thunder11
  • Feb 19, 2014
Excelent All Inclusive

The service was awesome, the location was perfect for an all inclusive in playa (i dont like the... See full review

  • tachuela28
  • Jan 5, 2014
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, Grand Coco Bay - All Inclusive is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world-renowned tropical paradise.

Nestled on a lengthy stretch of beach, just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best nightlifes the Mayan Riviera has to offer. Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmens famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacars Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

Our beautifully detailed rooms offer a spectacular view, one king size or two double beds, tile floors, air conditioning, private bath with shower and bath tub, hair dryer, vanity mirror, mini bar, 27 inch color TV with European and American channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

Honeymooners will receive a complimentary bottle of domestic wine in the room upon arrival. Clients must contact the hotel prior arrival.

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View with Private Balcony, 321 Sq.Ft
Standard room includes: Ocean, garden or pool view, one king size bed or two doubles, caribbean style decoration, balcony or terrace. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, mini bar, safety box, bath tube, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6366 -87.0602
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos, Playa del Carmen, Tulum.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 55 minutes and distance is 47 km (29.5 miles).
Area description
Located just 37.5 miles south of Cancun, our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

Dining

Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
Live music and a great ambiance are the ingredients at our lobby bar. Open from 6PM - Midnight.
Miramar Restaurant
Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM.
Rosinella Restaurant
At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sabor Restaurant
Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sports Bar Heaven
Sport Bar Papos is characterized because of the sport entertainment and here you will find an extended variety of drinks, open from 5PM - 2AM.
Pool Bar
Pool Bar Azul 48 gives service to those who wants to get domestic or International exotic drinks at the pool, open from 11AM -6:30PM.
Snack Bar El Palmar
Informal and relaxing atmosphere are the characteristics of our snack located in front of the pool here you will found great food all the day and open from 11AM - 6PM, and from 10PM2AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
dbaker71
San Francisco, CA
Jan 12, 2014

Cockroaches, cover-fees (on all-inclusive restaurants), break-ins

What a nightmare of a vacation. Room was a pit. Cockroaches killed daily in room. Standing water in bathtub. Floods during rain. Sewer backed up daily outside hotel so it smelled like a dirty toilet near the front every day. Day 2, someone broke into the room and hotel staff didn't care ("well, at least nothing was missing" was all they could say). Food in buffet was nasty. McDonalds would have tasted better. Half-way through the week they started charging $6/person 'cover charge' to All-Inclusive restaurant. They let scammers in to sell fake deals to guests around the pool area (guy sold a couple discount tickets to Coco Bongo and told them to meet him at front at a certain time that evening only never to show up; he was a regular around the hotel apparently). I would not consider paying more than $39/night for this trash heap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look elsewhere

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
dbaker71
San Francisco, CA
Jan 11, 2014

WARNING!!! Roaches, thieves, food poisoning, scam

This hotel was the worst. Killed roaches daily in room. Possibly found bed bugs. Standing water in bathtub. Day 2 thieves broke into room, but we had valuable locked up in safe and car trunk. Food was disgusting. Cold at best, undercooked often, left-overs from previous day. Mid-week they started charging a cover fee of $6/person for the All-inclusive restaurants we had already paid for. Fights around pool area. Staff did nothing. Sewage backup daily in front of hotel made it smell like a dirty toilet. No internet ($16/day if you want to pay for chance at getting a signal). No manager ever on duty ("come back tomorrow" was always the answer with a shrug signifying "it's not my problem"). Not worth $30/night and barely a 1 star. Racist and homophobic guests picking fights were allowed to stay and continue to harass guests. Staff don't care as long as they get their pesos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
nurse
wisconsin
May 6, 2012

Nasty

No running water nor food the first night, ceiling leaked in the hotel room, left an inch and half of water on the floor, no night entertainment, no access to pool or hot tub after 2030, Establishment denied any compensation, yet offer to increase the room rate by 40.00 per day for a nicer room. We left, after two DAYS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

NEVER BOOK AT THIS PLACE.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Poor, condesending service!

After 6 hrs of traveling, we arrived to the hotel at 8PM.It would've been nice to be greeted with courtesy, respect and a smile. The front desk employee raised her voice when we wanted clarification on our room rate. Later, we went downstairs to grab a bite to eat. The waiter rudely asked us what we wanted and motioned with his arm, for us to step out of the restaurant.We're not sure why he did that. He clearly noticed that we were wearing the bracelets they give you when you check in. We decided after only 1 hr at this hotel that we would not consume not even one bottle of water! They did not deserve our business. We left after 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5th avenue is less than a mile away. Lots of shops and great restaurants.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Feb 20, 2008

Bed was hard as rock, woke up with a back ache each morning .

HOtel in area of development. Pool was nice, as was beach area, white powder sand. The hotel needed some upkeep, paint chipping etc. The check in went smooth, but we were put into a room on a noisey corner. Had to wait till next day late morning to change to another room. Maid forgot to put towels and water glasses in several times. Came into room with the do not disturb sign on door. Had to request mini bar be filled. Food was so-so at the snack bars. Main dining area noisey. Breakfast was good. Had to make reservations early in A.M. each day to eat in one of the two restaurants, as in 6:30ish in the morning, otherwise unable to get in unless you wanted to eat dinner at 9:30 P.M. The food was good in the restaurants, service adequate. Bar selection small. Only tap beer was DosEquisXX, it was okay, would prefer option of a light beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
mbfb
nyc
Jan 16, 2014

The retirement resort?

I didn't care for it and the overall staff was bad which is disappointing because there was 1 or 2 really nice people that worked there. I wouldn't go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Warm weather seekers
Wisconsin, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great time

Excellent staff and great service. There was a good variety of food in a large buffet and a good selection of lunch snack items if you didn't want the large buffet. The drinks were always available and they even had top brand names. We liked the location being on the north end of town. It provided an out of town beach walk in one direction and easy walk into town in the other direction. The resort was not one of the larger ones but was adequate for the price. On the negitive side, we were not happy with a couple of topless sun bathers on the beach. The resort staff claimed there was nothing they could do. Another item was the hogging of the beach towels to reserve chairs for the day. Towels were not available during the day when we wanted one. We really wish they would have provided free computer use for checking email and flight arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bring you own mug for drinks. The cups are small.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Mateo13
dallas, texas
Aug 27, 2013

quick trip

Avg hotel with avg beaches. Close to the center of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Guadalajara
Maspeth, NY
May 20, 2013

second trip

we were so excited to come back to this resort. what a surprise. everything change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
mystery guy
Washington, DC
Apr 21, 2013

Paper thin walls

Noise from my neighbors woke me up by 7AM every morning. I could hear snoring and conversation through the walls. The beach is a parking lot for boats, which spoils the view. However, the staff was nice and the food wasn't bad. I feel that I would have been better off paying less for a hotel that wasn't part of a resort. Or paying slightly more for a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top