$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MEDFORD, MA
May 8, 2008

Comfortable & Relaxing getaway

Grand Coco Bay sits on the ocean with breathtaking views of the sun rise. The pool is centered between the rooms and is a stone throw away from the restaurants and snack bars. There are plenty of bars, including one built into the side of the pool which you can swim up to and enjoy a beverage without leaving the refreshing water. The pool and amenities are clean, and there are always activities going on hosted by the hotel staff to keep things interesting. The hotel is a mile or so from route 5 which is an area of around 20 blocks that has restaurants, and stores, banks and other small businesses. This street is closed to traffic and is a must see while vacationing for souvenirs, and authentic cuisine. The food is pretty standard, and the main dinning hall has a different themed meal each night, so you won't be eating the same thing meal after meal. There are two specialty restaruants and the food and service is very good. I've heard other places skimp on the food and afterwards people would go to the main dining hall for seconds, but this place left you will a full feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Ellen
Business
Manchester, NH
Apr 20, 2008

Upscale Resort

The hotel was lovely and not too far from 5th avenue. The Beach Club was 8 miles away - we had rented an auto and so were easily able to get there. It closed at 5 however, while we wished we could have stayed longer. NO COFFEE IN ROOM!!! Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Buffet could have been better - food was there at dinner that we had for lunch. Restaurant that we made reservations for was great. Food wonderful. Room was very nice and very clean. Rates were reasonable. Am not sure we would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Too far to walk to 5th avenue, especially if it is very hot and humid - take a cab.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Torrence
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 5, 2008

like be at home

just one simple comment wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

must go every night to 5th ave good food,live music,is the place to be.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Mar 10, 2008

Comfortable, affordable mid-range hotel

The Grand Coco Bay was a great experience and very affordable. The staff, food, cleanliness and general atmosphere were better than I had expected for a 3 Star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was awesome, powdery white sand, sea shells in the early morning, good for walks and excellent for couples or families.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 10, 2008

Wonderful Vacation

The Grand Coco Bay was a very good choice for our vacation. This is the first time we had an all-inclusive food and beverage plan for a vacation. It was actually very affordable. At the Grand Coco Bay, we ate most of our meals at the Miramar Buffet Restaurant. We were never disappointed. There were always many amazing choices of fresh fruit, vegetables, breads, salads, etc. Each day there is a different theme for the choices of meat and vegetables, including Mexican, oriental, international, Caribbean, BBQ, etc. We ate one meal and many snacks at the snack bar. We made reservations on three evenings to eat in the Italian and Mexican Restaurants. The food, service, and ambiance in these restaurants was excellent. I highly recommend that you get up early and make your reservations for these outstanding restaurants. The seatings are 6:30, 7:30, 8:30, and 9:30 p.m. Men need to wear long pants for dinner. We saw many men turned away, due to inappropriate clothing. Our room was located on the construction side of the building. We were awakened the first three mornings at 6:50 a.m. by the pounding from the construction of the condos. Each morning we requested a different room, but none of the empty rooms that we were offered were any better, so we decided to stay in our original room. By the fourth morning, we had grown accustomed to the pounding noises, and slept well after that. The bed was very firm, but not hard. The room was nicely decorated and always kept clean by the friendly staff. We liked the location of the hotel, since it was an easy 20-minute walk along the beach to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen. The sand on the beach is very fine, but I made the mistake of wearing flip-flop sandals during our first walk into town. The sand caused blisters to form between my toes and under the strap of the sandals. This type of sand caused abrasion, much like sand-paper rubbing between my sandals and my skin. I have never experienced this abrasion with any other beach-walking in any other location. After the blisters formed, I needed to wear my athletic shoes and socks for our next five walks into town. We chose to visit Cozumel and Tulum during our week-long vacation. There are two companies that provide ferry service to Cozumel. They each depart at alternating times. My advice is to buy a one-way ticket to Cozumel, since you can buy your return ticket for the same price in Cozumel when you're ready to return. This way you don't need to wait for the original company to return you to Playa del Carmen, if the competing company offers a more convenient time when you're ready for your return. We took a two-hour taxi ride around the island of Cozumel. Our driver was very informative and stopped many times for pictures. When we visited Tulum, we took a taxi to the ADO bus station at Fifth Avenue and Juaraz. We bought an ADO bus ticket to Tulum with an open return time, since we didn't know exactly what time we'd be finished at Tulum. We walked around the ruins, and ate our lunch that we had brought from our hotel. We listened in on some of the tour guides, but they were giving much more information than we cared to wait for. We were glad that we didn't pay extra for a tour, since we learned what we wanted to learn on our own. I would highly recommend the Grand Coco Bay Hotel and Playa del Carmen to everyone looking for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2008

Nice place to stay

This is a very nice property, the grounds are well taken care of, and you can't beat being beach front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue shopping is only a short drive away, and it only costs $3 for a cab to get there. There's a Walmart also within a short cab ride.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Feb 20, 2008

Bed was hard as rock, woke up with a back ache each morning .

HOtel in area of development. Pool was nice, as was beach area, white powder sand. The hotel needed some upkeep, paint chipping etc. The check in went smooth, but we were put into a room on a noisey corner. Had to wait till next day late morning to change to another room. Maid forgot to put towels and water glasses in several times. Came into room with the do not disturb sign on door. Had to request mini bar be filled. Food was so-so at the snack bars. Main dining area noisey. Breakfast was good. Had to make reservations early in A.M. each day to eat in one of the two restaurants, as in 6:30ish in the morning, otherwise unable to get in unless you wanted to eat dinner at 9:30 P.M. The food was good in the restaurants, service adequate. Bar selection small. Only tap beer was DosEquisXX, it was okay, would prefer option of a light beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 18, 2007

Best beach, terrible food

Best beach, terrible food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

10 minute walk to the tourist district, though I wouldn't reccomend going there.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 14, 2007

My review of Grand Coco Bay

great place- they tried very hard- rooms were basic and clean. restaurants really tried hard to be first class and did a great job. food was very good at both italian and mexican. buffet had many choices, snack bar totally convenient and open until 2am!! pool area typical with music during the day wether you want it or not- the same songs every day however- at least they were decent songs! entertainment staff working very hard to keep everyone up! and active! which was a bit much when you want to be lazy on vacation- but good intentions by all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepynoon
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 10, 2007

Good if there was no construction around

Grand Coco Bay was a fairly good hotel, the location however made our stay there a bit of a nightmare. There are construction sites on both sides of the hotel at the moment (December 2007). The construction workers started drilling at 7am and didn't leave until 7pm. The drilling was loud and woke us up every morning we were there. The staff was nice and check-in was very easy. The rooms were cleaned daily and I didn't see any bugs at all. The beds are not comfortable but that's what you get for the price you pay. The location of the hotel is not great, it is a 3 dollar cab ride to the center of playa del carmen. The hotel is located within a residential area that is not pretty. So it is not a nice walk to the center of the town. Overall it is a good hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are interested in doing any exploring like area with one of those organized trips like Tulum and Xel-Ha (highly recommended) it is much much cheaper to buy the tickets from the vendors in 5th avenue than to buy them from the hotel. For the best price, bargain and check prices of more than one vendor on 5th avenue

Back to menu Return to top