$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
67 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Family-oriented beachfront resort
  • Caribbean-style accommodations and personalized attention at a small size resort
  • Just a short hop from the 5th Avenue in downtown Playa del Carmen
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 196 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini refrigerator, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

Top hotels

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View Premium
This room includes:

Includes the Garden Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.

  • Garden View Standard Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Superior
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival
  • Pool View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular pool front view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Pool View Superior Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival
  • Pool View Premium Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View Superior room amenities, plus extra:
  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.
  • Ocean View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular ocean view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.

  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Ocean View Superior & Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:
    Includes the Ocean View Superior room amenities, plus extra:
  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
    Stop by the delightfully tranquil Lobby Bar for big band tunes and evening cocktails.Open 6.30 pm - 12 pm
    Miramar Restaurant
    Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM. Dress code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot.
    Rosinella Restaurant
    At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to10:00PM. Reservation required. (Please take out :Reservation required)
    Sabor Restaurant
    Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
    Sports Bar
    This elegant restaurant serves an a la carte menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Mexico. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, pool clothes, hats or shirts
    Pool Bar
    Our thatched-roof swim-up pool bar serves a thirst-quenching array of cocktails, beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 11 am - 10 pm
    Snack Bar El Palmar
    This relaxing poolside spot serves snacks during day time and night time. Open 11 am 7 pm & 10.30 - 2 am
    Bar & Mar Lounge Bar
    Luxurious Bar & Mar pairs a beachfront location with music, A/C & flat screens available and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Surcharge for standard and superior room. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.5 / 5
    5.01.0
    67 out of 67
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    3.7
    Value:
    3.9

    72% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Airport Johnny
    Minneapolis, MN
    May 23, 2013

    Excellent Experience

    What a great trip! For the money, you cannot find a better deal in Playa del Carmen. The staff was beyond friendly... they were quite incredible, actually! The place was extremely clean and the food and beverages were decent. Great view of the ocean and the pool. I would absolutely stay here again and again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Merida Lover
    Business
    oceanside
    May 18, 2015

    Couple getaway

    I WAS TOTALLY UNHAPPY FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE END OF MY STAY. TO START WHEN I CHECKED IN I WAS UPGRADED TO A SUITE FOR $50 MORE BUT MY HUSBAND AND I WERE GIVEN 2 DOUBLE BEDS, WHEN I TOLD THEM WE WANTED ONE KING BED I WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT HAVE ANY AVAILABLE. THEN WE WERE GIVING A YELLOW BRACELET WHICH WAS NOT THE RIGHT ONE FOR THE ROOM WE WERE STAYING IN AND SECURITY HARRASED US MANY TIMES IF WE WERE STAYING IN THIS ROOM, BUT WHEN I CALLED THE FRONT DESK THEY WOULD NOT CHANGE OUR BRACELETS TO THE CORRECT ONE THAT GOES WITH THE ROOM I PAID FOR. THEN THE WORSE IS THE DAY WE WERE LEAVING OUR RENT A CAR WHICH WAS PARKED IN THEIR PARKING LOT RIGHT NEAR THE ENTRANCE OF THEIR HOTEL A PIECE FROM THE DRIVERS MIRROR WAS STOLEN. WE CALLED SECURITY RIGHT AWAY AND THEY REFUSED TO WRITE A REPORT FOR US TO HAVE NOR WOULD THEY TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS. THEY SAID THEY WOULD TAKE A LOOK AT THE VIDEO FROM THE CAMERAS AROUND THE AREA AND CALL US, WELL IT IS A WEEK LATER AND I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY CONTACT FROM THE REEF HOTEL IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN.I HAD TO PAY HERTZ RENT A CAR OUT OF MY POCKET FOR THIS MISSING PIECE. I WILL NEVER NEVER GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL OR RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.I AM SO DISSATISIFIED WITH MY ENTIRE STAY HERE.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    LCR
    Business
    N/A
    Apr 6, 2015

    Try and pay a little more for another hotel

    Good: Rooms are clean and confortable Pool Small hotel, perfect if you want to avoid crowds Bad: In my experience, some of the staff were not helpful at all Understaffed or poorly organized staff Night entertainment is bad Beach is AWFUL, lots of seaweed and lots of boats Food is not very good Once you get a table at the italian restaurant, gets forever to be served

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Stetz28
    Business
    Riverton
    Feb 18, 2015

    Awesome Friend Trip

    Our stay in playa was amazing! The value for the money was great! I wasn't a huge fan of the food but it was fine. Staff members were amazing especially the entertainment group. If your looking for an amazing beach this however is not the best. Not much of a beach but hanging out at the pool was great. I would stay at this hotel again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Andrew001
    Business
    saddle brook
    Feb 3, 2015

    Average at best

    This Hotel is one of the lower scale all inclusives, the only thing it really has going for it is the location, it is very close to downtown and the famous avenida Quinta where all shopping bars and restaurants are. The rooms are small and basic they get the job done but if you are looking for anything luxurious your in the wrong place. The beach is small and there are many fishing/scuba boats parked right in front of it so the swimming area is pretty small. The food and drinks are pretty poor, top shelf is only if you upgrade at an extra cost and the two restaurants are pretty bad in all honesty I had a skirt steak that tasted like rubber and some wierd dessert that was like a peice of plastic.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    I would have rather stayed in a small boutique and paid for my meals in town where they have some great restaurants.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Wanna be gypsy
    Business
    Vermont
    Dec 1, 2014

    Budget Holiday

    This resort is within a 5 minute walk of 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The resort itself is quite small, very simple but we enjoyed it completely. If you are looking for fancy, high end, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for very attentive staff, decent food, good drinks and a huge value then this is the place for you.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Stetz28
    Business
    Utah
    Oct 22, 2014

    My stay

    For the price of this hotel you really can't beat it! It's about a $7-10 cab ride to 5th Ave. so pretty close. The staff was pretty great especially the entertainment guys. The food was so so but we figured had we stayed at another hotel we'd probably be spending tons more money. We did end up eating out for at least one meal of the day mostly dinner, but still believed we were getting a bargin. The room I think was just fine nothing too special but for our needs. The only complaint would be the ants. I don't know if it's ant season or what but those pesky things were everywhere. It gave me the Heebie Jeebies but we got used to them and they were harmless. I would stay here again. One last thing if you prefer beach over the pool they don't have that great of a beach and your view is of boats so keep that in mind. Cons- Daily or weekly fee for wifi If you didn't upgrade and get a red bracelet you didn't get top shelf boos and had to pay extra for the restaurant ( $6 per person ) Pros- Staff was pretty great and accommodating Cleaning of the room everyday Your in Playa Del Carmen you should have NO complaints

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    They have great little restaurants all around. Some are fairly close and you can walk or just a short can ride.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    FiloB
    Business
    New York
    Aug 16, 2014

    Fun filled relaxing getaway

    My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and by far some of the hardest workers we have seen. We felt like true guests being catered to. The atmosphere was fun, relaxing and beautiful! We went on some awesome excursions, we loved those as well! Overall experiece was fantastic! :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    Safe and taxis are right there to accommodate you. Just know the exchange and what your $ is worth. They try to be a little sneaky with tourist and try to fool you if you don't know exactly that the exchange is.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    C Lo 28
    Business
    Fort Worth, TX, USA
    Jul 11, 2014

    BOAT PARKING LOT

    Be aware!!! Fishing boats are allowed to park right in FRONT of the hotel beach. So your view is NOT a glorious ocean view, but about 20 fishing boats. So the water is cloudy, smell of exhaust, and traffic of people coming and going on 4 wheelers and jet skis. Food is ok, nothing special. Staff is friendly. Location is walking distance to 5th Ave for shopping and restaurants.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Short walk to 5th ave for shopping and eating.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Monkey10
    Business
    Los Angeles, California
    Jun 30, 2014

    Sttaf needs improvement

    We arrived at the hotel and they told us that there were no rooms. Supposedly they were fixing the bathrooms. It was not true...they over sold rooms because there was a large group. They sent us to another hotel. I would not go back to that hotel. The rooms were clean but the food was not good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Disco...shops...restaurants...beach...

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mi the travel guru
    Business
    dc
    Jun 18, 2014

    thought it was better amenities

    Very basic not what you are use to if u like all inclusive. Staff very nice but things are limited like the guac. yes guac in MEXICO it was only at the snack station from 12-4 & when it was done there is no more coming out. So get there at 12 guys. Food selection OK! Clean hotel & great hospitality.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th ave is cool

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top