The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

4 stars
8th Street between 5th and 10th Avenue, Col Downtown, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
13 reviews
Great Spot. Will stay here again.

I looked at reviews and everything was sounding pretty good except a noise complaint. I was a bit... See full review

  • DSK1
  • Aug 5, 2014
Very modern

Great hotel, free breakfast and a welcome drink. Close to 5th but far enough away to not hear the... See full review

  • Lori lynnie
  • Mar 2, 2014
Boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen and close to the beach

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented is a boutique hotel that caters to beach lovers and vacationers looking for a getaway in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Situated on 8th Street, between 5th and 10th Avenues, this contemporary, adults-oriented hotel places visitors within easy access to famous and well-known area attractions like Parque 28 de Julio, Riviera Art Gallery, and Avenida 5. The 69 stylish accommodations are matched with top-notch amenities with area views for a memorable holiday in this side of Mexico. During free time, holidaymakers work out at the fitness center, take a dip in the pool, and enjoy pampering treatments at the spa on site.

Diners can satisfy their cravings at the in-house Calle Ocho, offering signature dishes in a casual atmosphere. Patrons can have light casual dining at The Roof while marveling at the spectacular area views. The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented also provides airport shuttle (fees apply; upon reservation), on-site parking, car rental, dry cleaning, tour assistance, currency exchange, and 24-hour concierge for added convenience.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • A stone's throw to the vibrant Avenida 5
  • 24-hour concierge for assistance
  • Buffet breakfast2

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented rooms:

Each of the 69 sophisticated rooms, lofts and suites has a rich combination of wood accents and soil tones, and come equipped with up-to-date facilities to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. All units are appointed with coffee/tea maker, safe deposit box, air conditioning, electric fan, Wi-Fi access, telephone, iPod docking station, cable plasma TV, and en suite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, and vanity mirror. Some units have refrigerator, private balcony, wet bar, living room with sofa, and garden/avenue view.

Things to do:

  • Parque 28 de Julio (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Riviera Art Gallery (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The Golf Club at Playacar (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Xplor Park (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Xcaret Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Rio Secreto Underground River (4.6 mi/7.4 km)

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented Rooms

Palm Room
A rich mix of wood accents and soil tones set the perfect mood for a great stay. We have double bedding option on request subject to availability .
Double Room
A rich mix of wood accents and soil tones set the perfect mood for a great stay.
The Loft
Our lofts are spacious and vibrant, the living area and bedroom share the same open space and twin showers interrupt seductively with a perspective of hedonism. We recommend this room to honeymooners.
Palm Deluxe One Bedroom
The resort-class suite, acquires the true meaning of warmth and comfort by taking the Playa hospitality beyond the typical. The living room and bedroom are separated, both rich in details, modern patterns and earthy tones.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6262 -87.0733
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport at 50 kms north of Playa del Carmen
Area description
The Palm at Playa is perfectly situated overlooking the main drag and the Caribbean Sea at the horizon. The "5ta Avenida" just a few steps away is trendy, in-fashion and well regarded for its strong cultural openness, alluring approach to life, charm and innovation

Dining

Playa Grill
Playa Grill is the place for gathering and exploring all the flavors of Mxico in a lively and casual environment, surrounded by mirrors and Mexican pop art. This urban-beach style Bistro offers both private and communal seating, inviting to participate in a celebration of earthly delights, masterly prepared cuisine with fresh produce harvested locally since ancient times.
The Terrace
The Terrace Bar at The Palm is perfect for celebrating in a stylish atmosphere, a place where dramatic ocean views and rounds of mojitos and margaritas flow constantly. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi and snack bar are the prefect set to relax under the warm and balmy Caribbean sun.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mimi super Grama
Illinois
Feb 27, 2014

If you want to sleep. Do not stay here!!!

The hotel was beautiful. Breakfast delicious. But there is a discotheque outside and goes till 5am. We could not sleep.....along with many other hotel guests . Staff was not helpful in moving rooms. We finally got moved. Friends did not. Great rooftop bar and pool. Fantastic views. However they also had music playing into the night. They did stop at 11pm. The problem is.....guests want to sleep at their hotel and pay good money to do so. All the great parts of the hotel do not make up for no sleep on vacation! Not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tanja Whistler
Dallas, Texas
Apr 28, 2014

Great hotel, good location except loud music at night!

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are amazing, the pool is awesome, the staff is great. We were there 2 days and did not sleep but 3 hours (from 4:30 am to 7:30 am) both nights due to the loud music at the local bar across the street. The most frustrating part is there were no patrons in the bar that stayed open and loud till 4:30 am! We even got ear plugs, turned on tv loud and still could not sleep for 2 consecutive nights...horrible experience! I could not recommend this hotel as there are no guarantees you would get a room on the other side of the hotel and to be honest, not sure you would not hear the music in any room due to the loudness of the music! We have never experienced anything like this before and travel to Mexico at least 4 times per year! It is sad as the hotel is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graeme 1973
Rio de Janeiro
Jan 22, 2014

Well located hotel

I had a nice stay Hotel room was comfortable and room clean, towels changed 2 times a day No fridge to keep any drinks cold was a pain though there was an ice machine Good breakfast and friendly staff Nice pool area Good hotel in a very central area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Mau
Veracruz
May 10, 2014

Nice Place

Hotel is new and location is great. Breakfast included is good. The room was not as clean as I had wished and they didnĀ“t supply soap, shampoo and body cream in 2 days, we had to call reception to do it. Appart from this, everything was good. Pool on the roof was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J2014
California
Jan 26, 2014

Gorgeous New Hotel

This hotel is beautiful! We were amazed when we walked in our room. It was clean, very modern, and super comfy. The rooftop pool/bar area is also great with amazing views of the city. Great location as it is close to Avenida 5 and blocks from the beach, but I must warn that nearby clubs are VERY loud at night. I'd highly recommend requesting a room away from Calle 8, and in the interior of the hotel. Otherwise, it's perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isa2014
Mexico
Mar 3, 2014

Ideal for young people

It was great, the rooms are large and the pool is fantastic. It's very close to main locations but it also has temper glass so the noise is almost 100% gone. The beach is pretty close too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You should definetly snorkel in a cenote and a cavern

Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duima
Palm
Jul 12, 2014

Great hotel for a Mexican getaway

Great rooms, very clean, modern design, cool rooftop pool and bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori lynnie
WI
Mar 2, 2014

Very modern

Great hotel, free breakfast and a welcome drink. Close to 5th but far enough away to not hear the noise. Wonderful rooftop pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to cannonball at the end of the beach on 48th.

Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bpm2014
New jersey
Jan 20, 2014

Was a good

I really like this places the only think is a paid the same amount with my friend and they give me a lil room like really tiny room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DSK1
Tucson AZ
Aug 5, 2014

Great Spot. Will stay here again.

I looked at reviews and everything was sounding pretty good except a noise complaint. I was a bit worried, so I asked for a quiet room. The hotel is split into a front and back building. We stayed in the back building in #105. When coming back at night, there is a loud bar across the street, but we could not hear a thing for 4 consecutive nights. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The food upstairs at the pool bar was fantastic. Bar was mostly measured pour, but the drinks were good. The morning breakfast was really very nice. a small buffet, but Fabio offered some specials from the kitchen - Eggs Benedict, Chicken enchiladas, which I tried and they were great! The buffet was open from 7-11 am. We tried eating at different times and the food was kept at right temps, and replenished as needed. All great and FRESH fruit and juices. Next time I go to Playa Del Carmen, I'll stay at this hotel. 50' walk to 5th avenue where all the shops, bars and restaurants are located. Another block or two and you are on the beach. They also had the best USD/Peso exchange @12.5 (if you draw out of your US bank account with a debit card like I did with my Bank of America, I got 13.2). Some places down there give a really bad FX (like 11 at Tequila Barrel), so USE PESO's. The WIFI worked GREAT EVERYWHERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Italian and GREAT service, try The Glass Bar. Go left out of the hotel, then first left and a few blocks down on the left. Also had a really nice meal (for 15 ppl) at SUR - steak house. Great Bar

Back to menu Return to top