$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of 8th Street between 5th and 10th Avenue, Col Downtown, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
20 reviews
Amazing Trip

One of my best vacations- staff there was very friendly and helpful, the pool on the rooftop was... See full review

  • Avi.724
  • Jan 15, 2015
awesome experience at the palm at playa

I stayed at the palm at playa in late june early july of 2014 with a friend of mine from college.... See full review

  • emilync
  • Nov 20, 2014
Boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen and close to the beach

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented is a boutique hotel that caters to beach lovers and vacationers looking for a getaway in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Situated on 8th Street, between 5th and 10th Avenues, this contemporary, adults-oriented hotel places visitors within easy access to famous and well-known area attractions like Parque 28 de Julio, Riviera Art Gallery, and Avenida 5. The 69 stylish accommodations are matched with top-notch amenities with area views for a memorable holiday in this side of Mexico. During free time, holidaymakers work out at the fitness center, take a dip in the pool, and enjoy pampering treatments at the spa on site.

Diners can satisfy their cravings at the in-house Calle Ocho, offering signature dishes in a casual atmosphere. Patrons can have light casual dining at The Roof while marveling at the spectacular area views. The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented also provides airport shuttle (fees apply; upon reservation), on-site parking, car rental, dry cleaning, tour assistance, currency exchange, and 24-hour concierge for added convenience.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • A stone's throw to the vibrant Avenida 5
  • 24-hour concierge for assistance
  • American breakfast

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented rooms:

Each of the 69 sophisticated rooms, lofts and suites has a rich combination of wood accents and soil tones, and come equipped with up-to-date facilities to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. All units are appointed with coffee/tea maker, safe deposit box, air conditioning, electric fan, Wi-Fi access, telephone, iPod docking station, cable plasma TV, and en suite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, and vanity mirror. Some units have refrigerator, private balcony, wet bar, living room with sofa, and garden/avenue view.

Things to do:

  • Parque 28 de Julio (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Riviera Art Gallery (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The Golf Club at Playacar (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Xplor Park (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Xcaret Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Rio Secreto Underground River (4.6 mi/7.4 km)

The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented Rooms

Palm Room
A rich mix of wood accents and soil tones set the perfect mood for a great stay. We have double bedding option on request subject to availability .
Double Room
A rich mix of wood accents and soil tones set the perfect mood for a great stay.
The Loft
Our lofts are spacious and vibrant, the living area and bedroom share the same open space and twin showers interrupt seductively with a perspective of hedonism. We recommend this room to honeymooners.
Palm Deluxe One Bedroom
The resort-class suite, acquires the true meaning of warmth and comfort by taking the Playa hospitality beyond the typical. The living room and bedroom are separated, both rich in details, modern patterns and earthy tones.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Dining

Playa Grill
Playa Grill is the place for gathering and exploring all the flavors of Mxico in a lively and casual environment, surrounded by mirrors and Mexican pop art. This urban-beach style Bistro offers both private and communal seating, inviting to participate in a celebration of earthly delights, masterly prepared cuisine with fresh produce harvested locally since ancient times.
The Terrace
The Terrace Bar at The Palm is perfect for celebrating in a stylish atmosphere, a place where dramatic ocean views and rounds of mojitos and margaritas flow constantly. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi and snack bar are the prefect set to relax under the warm and balmy Caribbean sun.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bpm2014
New jersey
Jan 20, 2014

Was a good

I really like this places the only think is a paid the same amount with my friend and they give me a lil room like really tiny room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tebostb
Business
mexico
Jan 20, 2015

Friend's trip

The hotel has a very good location and its kind of new. so its ok. It has a cool rooftop with a pool and music. The staff its kind of slow but in playa del carmen mostly are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avi.724
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Amazing Trip

One of my best vacations- staff there was very friendly and helpful, the pool on the rooftop was really relaxing. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jatraveler89
Business
New York NY
Nov 30, 2014

Nice hotel

The rooms were very modern and spacious. Definitely ask for a room along the interior of the hotel because there is a loud karaoke bar across the street from the front-facing rooms. Also, the bathroom/shower walls are made of glass, so the rooms are definitely geared towards couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sully4
Business
Fremont, California
Nov 23, 2014

Diamond in the rough

First time at this hotel. The interior of the hotel is very nice with tropical plants everywhere. The rooms are large and well equipped (ours had a few issues that they should have dealt with prior to arrival but did not). We were on the 3rd floor and just under the pool......could hear water flowing all day above our head. The pool area on the roof is fantastic. Very well equipped and beautiful. You are right next to 5th Ave where all the shops and restaurants reside....very nice. Our biggest gripe was that directly across the street on the rooftop was a bar that played very loud music until 4am.......would highly recommend that if you want to sleep you get a room not facing the front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emilync
Business
raleigh, nc
Nov 20, 2014

awesome experience at the palm at playa

I stayed at the palm at playa in late june early july of 2014 with a friend of mine from college. We stayed for over a week and the hotel staff was amazing to us. The front desk folks were very welcoming and gave us drinks and let us check in early. The staff at breakfast everyday was so nice and breakfast was really delicious and lots of variety. The staff at the pool bar was awesome and fun and accommodating when we went in evening or afternoons they did everything from get drinks and food I ordered to adjust the shade umbrella and bring me new towels after I used one to dry off. I have only the best things to say about the staff and how they made my stay at the hotel wonderful. The cleaning woman who did our room the whole week always did an exceptional job and our room was always comfortable and clean and we had towels and plenty of bottled water and beds made- she even folded clothes I left lying on bed or chairs! The room was very comfortable- not huge but we spent most of our time outside, the king bed and giant shower and double vanity were all in excellent condition and exactly what we needed to make our evening luxurious and relaxing in between our adventures and fun in the sun each day. The common areas in the hotel were beautiful, the courtyard, the restaurant that opens to the town street- very nice - the rooftop pool is awesome, the view is amazing, slight breeze up on the roof, the pool can get a little crowded but i can see why, it is a beautiful infinity edge pool. There was a power outage that happened one day- it was obvious the hotel had no control over this as the local utilities crew was present in the street all day working on it- that lasted a lot longer than expected but we were informed beforehand and given free dinner afterwards and it was never the hotels fault. Also dinner was delicious- i was told we had some of the more locally authentic dishes (instead of touristy mexican things we like such as guac and nachos) and they were very delicious and new to me. I will mention we had a room that was in the back side of the hotel top floor, so we didn't not hear any street noise and only some noise form the rooftop bar. We were too exhausted from exploring and swimming all day to ever let that prevent us from falling asleep. I've heard other rooms are hard for noise issues. I slept 9-10 hours every night so obviously had no trouble. The location of this hotel is great for all local things and excurion pick ups so I wouldnt change a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lover of Travels
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 20, 2014

Great Experience

I had a great time! The staff was excellent and very attentive. The room was clean and I loved the showers! I would stay here again! Also, the events at the bar were great. And such a beautiful pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go on 5th street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethG
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 3, 2014

nice hotel

central location, clean, modern hotel with basic amenities, responsive helpful staff, nice rooftop pool but hot tub on the roof did not work, breakfast was average, but being in the center of Playa lots of restaurants are all around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DSK1
Business
Tucson AZ
Aug 5, 2014

Great Spot. Will stay here again.

I looked at reviews and everything was sounding pretty good except a noise complaint. I was a bit worried, so I asked for a quiet room. The hotel is split into a front and back building. We stayed in the back building in #105. When coming back at night, there is a loud bar across the street, but we could not hear a thing for 4 consecutive nights. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The food upstairs at the pool bar was fantastic. Bar was mostly measured pour, but the drinks were good. The morning breakfast was really very nice. a small buffet, but Fabio offered some specials from the kitchen - Eggs Benedict, Chicken enchiladas, which I tried and they were great! The buffet was open from 7-11 am. We tried eating at different times and the food was kept at right temps, and replenished as needed. All great and FRESH fruit and juices. Next time I go to Playa Del Carmen, I'll stay at this hotel. 50' walk to 5th avenue where all the shops, bars and restaurants are located. Another block or two and you are on the beach. They also had the best USD/Peso exchange @12.5 (if you draw out of your US bank account with a debit card like I did with my Bank of America, I got 13.2). Some places down there give a really bad FX (like 11 at Tequila Barrel), so USE PESO's. The WIFI worked GREAT EVERYWHERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Italian and GREAT service, try The Glass Bar. Go left out of the hotel, then first left and a few blocks down on the left. Also had a really nice meal (for 15 ppl) at SUR - steak house. Great Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duima
Business
Palm
Jul 12, 2014

Great hotel for a Mexican getaway

Great rooms, very clean, modern design, cool rooftop pool and bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palm at Playa - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Mau
Business
Veracruz
May 10, 2014

Nice Place

Hotel is new and location is great. Breakfast included is good. The room was not as clean as I had wished and they didn´t supply soap, shampoo and body cream in 2 days, we had to call reception to do it. Appart from this, everything was good. Pool on the roof was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top