$336 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
View map of Paseo xaman-ha, lote 1, mza. 1,, fracc playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crazy for Mexico
Business
minnesota
Sep 16, 2013

September getaway

Check in-we paid for the adults only club room which included a private check-in. However, we had to go to the regular check in desk like everyone else. The lady that sat us down explained a few of the areas of the resort, the restaurant options, ect. However, she pushed the time share breakfast meeting on us several times, never taking no for an answer. We insisted we were not going to that meeting. She closed her book and walked away and had us fend for ourselves. Restaurants-the only bright spot in this regard was how easy making the reservations was. We were able to make our 3 ala carte reservations right away at the meeting place. The unfortunate part is that you only get 3 ala carte dinners for a 1 week stay. The buffets are what you have for the rest of the week. These left something to be desired to say the least. The food was always the same, was always cold and the service was poor. Beach-the beach was great, very clean and lots of room and chairs for everyone. Towels were always available. Entertainment staff-poor at best. They did not try to involve people with activities. It rained a lot during the week and they provided minimal activities to keep people busy during the rain. Room-very comfortable. Bed was too firm and bedding was cheap. Blankets and bedspread were worn. There was mold in the bathroom. Jacuzzi was good. TV channel selection for English speaking guests was minimal. We have been going to Mexico for over 10 years and this resort is by far very inferior to all the others we have stayed at. If you enjoy good food and good service, chose another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super Mili
Business
NEW ROCHELLE, NY
Aug 4, 2013

ggod place

good, but far to the beach. People is very nice In general service is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swismex
Business
geneva, Switzerland
Jun 24, 2013

Nice place

Nice palce to be able to have an all inclusive palce but not to expensive to be allow you to spend a few days out travelling to Tulum or other nice places from the riviera maya

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAS in Texas
Business
Texas
Jun 11, 2013

jacuzzi in room, outdoor hot tub

We went for our 1st wedding aniversery. It was so nice to have welcome champaign and fruit. In room Jacuzzi was perfect. We stayed in the adult only section. Bath robes were nice too. Everything was at this resort. Beach, pools, swim up bar, late night dancing, entertainment, outdoor hot tub. Staff was always helpfull. Dinner reservations was the only problem we had. I had a vision of Brazil, Mexican, and Steak. But I could only get reservations for one of 3 nights. This is the 2nd time it has happened. I don't know how people do it. I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we ziplined at hidden adventure Located at Xel Ha just north of Tulum cool Cave to swim in. More fun for us then walking up lots of stairs in the hear on a history tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shmatie
Business
Nj
May 15, 2013

Great location but won't go again

The location and size of the resort and amazing beach were fantastic great swim up adult bar and pretty good food choices however I was there for my best friends wedding the checking was long and a nightmare customer service is not very accommodating they try and put u in the wrong rooms the bride and groom moved 4 times because the rooms smelled or had twin beds the hacienda suites r gorgeous that they finally ended up in but r expensive. Our room had the worst bed and smell and cockroaches it seemingly looked nice at first and was seemingly clean but had issues. I did not wana move cause it would far up a whole day of vacation. Wish they had more rides frequently to the beach side it was rough to walk in such heat. Beach was still so clean and gorgeous and the wildlife at the resort was very cool the wedding was also very pretty. And the drinks and bartenders were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob Michigan
Business
South east Michigan
May 13, 2013

Perfect

We stayed at the Adults Only Rivera Select Club part of Sandos Playacar. You will not find a better place to stay. The beach was the BEST! Food was incredible. We enjoyed walking miles on the the beach along all the hotels in Playa del Carmen, The rooms are located away from the resturaunts and beach. They have a commuter carts for you if you want to ride instead of walking. Definitley stay here..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you don't want to walk, or can't. there is commuter carts. Mexico is very safe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gecko911
Business
WI
May 13, 2013

Select Club - Adults Only

Spent a week at this resort in the adults only section. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriel Ch
Business
Buenos aires Argentina
Mar 5, 2013

Good honeymoon

IT is the right place to go with familiy or couple!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to book in advance dinner at the a-la-carte restaurants, do this at the guest service desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and Dan
Business
Minneapolis MN
Mar 4, 2013

Very nice resort. A couple of little things need something

Our room was nice, clean, but had a lingering odor that didn't go away, mold or mildew. The safe needed programming 3 times due to malfunctioning. TV remote worked only the first night. Otherwise the room was spacious and comfortable. Beds are a rather hard. Some of the staff was exceptional and some just very average, if not helpful. Very good food. We enjoyed the venues and the dining room staff. Marguarita in Fesitval and Daniel in Piedmont in the evening were delightful. Lots of amenities. Entertainment was very good and the beach was absolutely beyond, wonderful! All in all, we enjoyed our stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi from the airport instead of transfers. Much easier and faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Looking for Adventure Ann
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 23, 2013

An All-inclusive First getaway

The hotel was nice and we appreciated the Adult-only area for the quiet. The beach was great for relaxing. The food was not good. We were enticed to listen a long 2.5 hour high pressure membership sales schpell, when promised it would be no longer than 30 to 45 minutes. However, the regular hotel staff were friendly and gracious! I don't know if all All-Inclusive's are like this hotel, but I think we discovered that perhaps we are not the All Inclusive types... We traveled to Xichen Itza (amazing) with a tour group (ok, but tour guide was excellent) and Tulum (spectacular history and a fantastic public beach with snorkeling and terrific beach side bar) in our rented car (which we only used this one time... something to consider).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be open to travel a bit to witness the amazing history

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top