$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Paseo xaman-ha, lote 1, mza. 1,, fracc playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
30 reviews
Great for honey moon

Staff is excellent, we walked around to other hotels and found out from othere people that sandles... See full review

  • Rydog
  • Jan 20, 2014
Worth your money

Great value , my second time here , nice beach , would return again soon See full review

  • Mik Jagger
  • Jan 16, 2014
With 5-star all inclusive services, this resort is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya, in the Playa del Carmen. Part of Sandos Playacar Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive, this adults only resort offers quality amenities and a wide variety of dining options.

Sandos Riviera Select Club Adults Only features concierge service, free WiFi areas, includes room service 24 hours a day, extensive gardens, comfortable loungers, tennis courts, gym and an adults only lagoon-style pool with a swim-up bar. After having fun with water sports thanks to the dive center, you can kick back and relax with massage services at the spa for an extra charge.

The spacious and modern Junior Suites in the Select Club Adults Only section feature contemporary design. Youll also find a flat screen TV with satellite service, a well-stocked minibar, Jacuzzi and Balcony

An extensive array of a la carte and buffet restaurants offers a variety of specialties, with Asian cuisine at Asiana Restaurant, Argentine dishes at El Gaucho Restaurant, and much more. The resort also includes various bars, the Cupcake Caf and a nightclub. Guests staying at Sandos Riviera can enjoy unlimited local and international brand drinks in the pool and beach areas throughout the day.

In addition to daytime and nighttime entertainment, guests will find a wide range of beach activities, along with an adults only restaurant and an adults only beach area with hammocks and umbrellas.

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Master Suite Riviera
Riviera Master Suite Select Adults Only + 21 Years Old offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, pull - out sofa bed and smoke detector, shower, living area, vanity mirror, luggage bench, wardrobe and double sink. Located in a secluded part of the resort, offers an spacious suite providing comfort and Luxury as well as VIP treatment, and Wardrobe, Terrace, premium Liquor Bottles, Sofa and lounge, including snacks, Jacuzzi in the room, Jacuzzi at the terrace, ipod player, wireless internet, fine pillows and bedding, bathrobes for using during your stay.
Junior Suite Riviera
Riviera Junior Suite With Jacuzzi offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, pull - out sofa bed and smoke detector, shower, living area, vanity mirror, luggage bench, wardrobe and double sink. Spacious Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, lounge with a sofa bed and jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6024 -87.0942
Area served
Playa Del Carmen, Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
The recently constructed Sandos Riviera Beach Resort & Spa forms part of the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa and it is located within the renowned residential area of Playacar. Sharing the magnificent beachfront area of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa, the hotel is located within a short distance from the town of Playa del Carmen, the pier to Cozumel, and 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport.

Dining

Riviera Grand Buffet
Select Club Breakfast Restaurant, Breakfast: 07:00 to 11:00 Hrs. Only for Riviera Select Club Adults Only Section guests
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 - : 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
Looking for Adventure Ann
Providence, RI
Feb 23, 2013

An All-inclusive First getaway

The hotel was nice and we appreciated the Adult-only area for the quiet. The beach was great for relaxing. The food was not good. We were enticed to listen a long 2.5 hour high pressure membership sales schpell, when promised it would be no longer than 30 to 45 minutes. However, the regular hotel staff were friendly and gracious! I don't know if all All-Inclusive's are like this hotel, but I think we discovered that perhaps we are not the All Inclusive types... We traveled to Xichen Itza (amazing) with a tour group (ok, but tour guide was excellent) and Tulum (spectacular history and a fantastic public beach with snorkeling and terrific beach side bar) in our rented car (which we only used this one time... something to consider).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be open to travel a bit to witness the amazing history

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Toledosfinest1
Toledo,Oh
Feb 14, 2013

Sadsals Playcar was excellant !!

The hotel is spotless and beautiful. The employees are the best. The Adult section is really nice, but as people have said, it is a long walk to the beach. But after all the choices of food and bars, it was nice to walk. The resort had many animals and apear to be well taken care of. We would return to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking to Playa Del Carmen is within walking distance, but for $7.00 per cab, take the cab.

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
Alberto Prince
Brighton. UK
Jan 4, 2013

Not the real thing

This hotel is advertised as 'Adults Only', and it is not true. There is a section at the hotel that is for adults only, but that is only one swimming pool! At the beach, even though there is a section for adults only, it was full of children with no adult supervision. The restaurants are also incorrectly advertised as 'Adults Only'. This was not the only bad thing. We had an issue with the room key, and we had to go EIGHT times to the reception since not a single employee was able to walk with us to the room, so we had to walk every single time to the reception for getting the key changed. All the restaurants have to be booked in advance, almost 24 hours before dinner time. This makes an unflexible customer experience. But imagine the frustration we had when we saw people arriving to the restaurant with NO RESERVATIONS! So what's the point of making a reservation when it's not needed? Lastly, for the price I paid for this hotel, I could easily got a better deal in some other one. Alcohol was not great, food was not great. Only cheap pieces of meat and cheap alcohol in all cocktails!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not make a reservation for having dinner. Feel free to make a last minute pick on the restaurant you prefer. They tell you it is necessary while it is not.

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Couple of Pro Travelers
Mexico City
Nov 23, 2012

It was fine

I spent a lot of time looking for a great place for my husband and I to spend a long weekend to get away and relax after too much working. We ended up choosing this resort based on reviews and a suggestion of a friend. Pros Breakfast buffet is great Buffets in general much better than the restaurants SPA Pool. Go there if you want to relax and have some peace and quiet. Really nice. We discovered on our way out. Adult section- we stayed in the select adult area and we were happy we did. It was nice and quiet and a great escape. Hot tub/bath in room. We used this almost everyday. It was huge. Beach (anywhere in Playa del Carmen) is SPECTACULAR Adult section lounge section on beach is great. Quiet, no one bothers you except the barmaid to take drink orders. Very large- which meant that even though there were a lot of people there, it never seemed like it. Cons Restaurant food felt like it was very low quality and that they microwaved most of it. If you order meet, as for it to be red. They will still overcook it, but it will be edible. Mine was burnt and dark brown throughout for a medium. Drinks- low quality. Ask for high quality the entire time. We got headaches immediately after having a drink. In general the food felt really cheap. Seriously, don't even get "reservations" for the restaurants. They are always "booked" and it is not worth it. Our room was only half-cleaned one of the 3 days we were there. Overall, if the food was better, I would probably overlook most other things. In general, it is a fine place and if you don't want to think- this place is just as good as any other of these style resorts. The next time, we will stay in a hotel in playa del carmen on the beach that is not part of an all-inclusive. We did not use the pools but spent the days on the beach playing volleyball and swimming. Mexico has such spectacular food and for cheap- better idea to get into the town and take advantage of it! We also spent one fully day out of the resort- we hired a driver to take us to all the ruins and a cenote. It was an excellent thing to do and we didn't have to stick with a large tour group and avoided all the crowds. If you are a native speaker, you can hire of the cab drivers to take you to Chichen Itza, Coba, Ik-kil, and Tulum. it is a little more than doing the tour, but so worth it! Overall, I wanted to love this place but it was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab in town and then walk back to the resort along the beach. It is about 2k, so not very far and really beautiful. If we had known, we probably would have just walked along the beach to the town. Good to get out of the bubble for a bit :)

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Couple XYZ
Washington DC
Nov 19, 2012

Good deal if you want all inclusive and do not need an adults only hotel

No complains. Great hotel if you want all inclusive. Adults only area is only part of the hotel though. Maybe not a good idea if you want an "only adults only" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Barbie and Dan
Islip, New York
Sep 15, 2012

Anniversary celebration

This hotral exceeded my expectations, the staff were great, room clean and comfortable, food was good but not exceptional. We stayed at the adults only select club. The only thing I could have asked for were lunch to be served in that area and for an ice machine. All in all a great time and value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carboncitos Mexican Grill, at 4th Street between 5th and 10th avenues, Playa Del Carmen. Best food just off 5th Avenue, priced to please.

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Claron
Miami
Aug 5, 2012

Makes you want to go again

These have been unforgettable vacations, the hotel is fantastic, the activities were not lacking in any area of the hotel and at any time. The beach is spectacular, the spectacular pools, the restaurants and buffets spectacular. The most important thing was the attention of the staff of the hotel. They were friendly, familiar, and make you feel right at home. Absolutely loved it, definitely going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Trip to Chichen-Itza ruins; Great experience, especially with a tour guide. However, it is a very long drive.

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
BKcouple
Brooklyn, New York
Jul 16, 2012

Couple Getaway

The hotel staff was attentive, friendly and responded quickly. The cleanliness of the room and the resort as a whole was very good. The pools were nice and the beach area was great, great places to lounge, perfect sand and crystal clear beaches. I stayed at the Adults Only section with my girlfriend. The food at the hotels resturants and buffets were good and better then what I have previously experienced at other all inclusive resorts. The hotel put on quality entertainment at night and it was just a short ride into the town of Playa Del Carmen for those who like to get away. All in all, it was a solid trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Loved to get away...
Chicago, IL
Jun 18, 2012

Romantic Getaway

This was a nice hotel. The food was better than average with more than enough choices. 24 hour room service (limited menu), but great when you need something before bed after a late night. The rooms were huge and offered a beautiful jacuzzi tub. The adults only area was never crowded and the drinks were flowing. The only downside is how far the walk was to the beach...but overall it was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

On Tuesday nights the hotel has all the local vendors come in and sell all of the same stuff in the city. The whole hotel turns into a little city in Mexico amazing street food. For those of you who never want to go to town wait for this to bring things home for family and friends.

Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
bigwig
atlanta
May 19, 2012

great

staff was friendly, service was great, no wait time for drinks or food. room cleaned well. if something was lacking you only had to ask. already planning for next year. great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

went in may, if taking any of the tours do the express half day. it tends to be hot and humid from 1-4pm so early morning is great time to tour, back at the pool for heat of the day

Back to menu Return to top