$424 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
View map of Paseo xaman-ha, lote 1, mza. 1,, fracc playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
49 reviews
Excellent vacation

Excellent resort and lots of entertainment and great food ,definitely worth the money See full review

  • CHRISTOPHER P.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Fabulous Vacation

This was our first trip to this location. This was an amazing hotel and very friendly staff. We... See full review

  • Angel C.
  • Feb 14, 2015
Contemporary suites featuring beautiful views of the beach

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen features an array of leisure options for holidaymakers in this hotel near Playa Del Carmen. Guests relax at the loungers, play tennis, work-out at the gym or have fun at the lagoon-style pool which also features a swim-up bar. The beach area has hammocks and umbrellas for tourists who want to relax along the shore. Retreat to the hotel and have a massage at the spa for an added charge.

Patrons can savour Asian cuisine at Asiana Restaurant or Argentine dishes at El Gaucho Restaurant on site. The resort also features Cupcake Cafe as well as a nightclub.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Lagoon-style pool with a swim-up bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
  • Spa amenities

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen boasts spacious and contemporary suites with chic and modern decors. All units come equipped with modern conveniences like cable LCD TV, well-contained mini bar, Jacuzzi and a balcony that opens to beautiful views of the sea.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Central Square (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Xcaret Eco Theme Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Xcaret Water Park (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Xcaret Eco-Archeological Park (2.4 mi/3.9 km)

Top hotels

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Master Suite Riviera
Riviera Master Suite Select Adults Only + 21 Years Old offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, pull - out sofa bed and smoke detector, shower, living area, vanity mirror, luggage bench, wardrobe and double sink. Located in a secluded part of the resort, offers an spacious suite providing comfort and Luxury as well as VIP treatment, and Wardrobe, Terrace, premium Liquor Bottles, Sofa and lounge, including snacks, Jacuzzi in the room, Jacuzzi at the terrace, ipod player, wireless internet, fine pillows and bedding, bathrobes for using during your stay.
Junior Suite Riviera
Riviera Junior Suite With Jacuzzi offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, pull - out sofa bed and smoke detector, shower, living area, vanity mirror, luggage bench, wardrobe and double sink. Spacious Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, lounge with a sofa bed and jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera Grand Buffet
Select Club Breakfast Restaurant, Breakfast: 07:00 to 11:00 Hrs. Only for Riviera Select Club Adults Only Section guests
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 - : 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angry hungry
Business
Florida
Apr 26, 2014

I would not recomend

I have stayed about 10 times in all inclusive resorts. The food here was disappointing. The breakfast was good, but dinner and lunch were unacceptable. We were about 1/2 mile from the beach, and they only had one cart and one van going around. We ussually had to walk. The room was large and comfortableo, but the matress and water pressure could have been better. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the italian restaurant in Jardin de Marieta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alberto Prince
Business
Brighton. UK
Jan 4, 2013

Not the real thing

This hotel is advertised as 'Adults Only', and it is not true. There is a section at the hotel that is for adults only, but that is only one swimming pool! At the beach, even though there is a section for adults only, it was full of children with no adult supervision. The restaurants are also incorrectly advertised as 'Adults Only'. This was not the only bad thing. We had an issue with the room key, and we had to go EIGHT times to the reception since not a single employee was able to walk with us to the room, so we had to walk every single time to the reception for getting the key changed. All the restaurants have to be booked in advance, almost 24 hours before dinner time. This makes an unflexible customer experience. But imagine the frustration we had when we saw people arriving to the restaurant with NO RESERVATIONS! So what's the point of making a reservation when it's not needed? Lastly, for the price I paid for this hotel, I could easily got a better deal in some other one. Alcohol was not great, food was not great. Only cheap pieces of meat and cheap alcohol in all cocktails!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not make a reservation for having dinner. Feel free to make a last minute pick on the restaurant you prefer. They tell you it is necessary while it is not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Looking for Adventure Ann
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 23, 2013

An All-inclusive First getaway

The hotel was nice and we appreciated the Adult-only area for the quiet. The beach was great for relaxing. The food was not good. We were enticed to listen a long 2.5 hour high pressure membership sales schpell, when promised it would be no longer than 30 to 45 minutes. However, the regular hotel staff were friendly and gracious! I don't know if all All-Inclusive's are like this hotel, but I think we discovered that perhaps we are not the All Inclusive types... We traveled to Xichen Itza (amazing) with a tour group (ok, but tour guide was excellent) and Tulum (spectacular history and a fantastic public beach with snorkeling and terrific beach side bar) in our rented car (which we only used this one time... something to consider).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be open to travel a bit to witness the amazing history

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crazy for Mexico
Business
minnesota
Sep 16, 2013

September getaway

Check in-we paid for the adults only club room which included a private check-in. However, we had to go to the regular check in desk like everyone else. The lady that sat us down explained a few of the areas of the resort, the restaurant options, ect. However, she pushed the time share breakfast meeting on us several times, never taking no for an answer. We insisted we were not going to that meeting. She closed her book and walked away and had us fend for ourselves. Restaurants-the only bright spot in this regard was how easy making the reservations was. We were able to make our 3 ala carte reservations right away at the meeting place. The unfortunate part is that you only get 3 ala carte dinners for a 1 week stay. The buffets are what you have for the rest of the week. These left something to be desired to say the least. The food was always the same, was always cold and the service was poor. Beach-the beach was great, very clean and lots of room and chairs for everyone. Towels were always available. Entertainment staff-poor at best. They did not try to involve people with activities. It rained a lot during the week and they provided minimal activities to keep people busy during the rain. Room-very comfortable. Bed was too firm and bedding was cheap. Blankets and bedspread were worn. There was mold in the bathroom. Jacuzzi was good. TV channel selection for English speaking guests was minimal. We have been going to Mexico for over 10 years and this resort is by far very inferior to all the others we have stayed at. If you enjoy good food and good service, chose another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steph
Business
Hazlet
Mar 4, 2015

Disappointed

We went to this resort as a recommendation from someone who had been there before. We were very disappointed. We were unable to make reservations for a nicer restaurant for any of the days we stayed there even though we could see that the restaurants were quite empty. And because the resort was environmentally friendly, there was no air conditioning in the buffets and it was just unbearable eating in the heat. The couple that recommended the place, who also returned with us, also said it has changed since they've been there a few years back. There were also a lot of children and most amenities there were for under 18. We were not even allowed in the arcade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJJDD
Business
New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

Good value

Resort was very big and somewhat dated. Staff tried their best to make the stay pleasureable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations at the ala carte restaurants early. They limit the # of servings per night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of Pro Travelers
Business
Mexico City
Nov 23, 2012

It was fine

I spent a lot of time looking for a great place for my husband and I to spend a long weekend to get away and relax after too much working. We ended up choosing this resort based on reviews and a suggestion of a friend. Pros Breakfast buffet is great Buffets in general much better than the restaurants SPA Pool. Go there if you want to relax and have some peace and quiet. Really nice. We discovered on our way out. Adult section- we stayed in the select adult area and we were happy we did. It was nice and quiet and a great escape. Hot tub/bath in room. We used this almost everyday. It was huge. Beach (anywhere in Playa del Carmen) is SPECTACULAR Adult section lounge section on beach is great. Quiet, no one bothers you except the barmaid to take drink orders. Very large- which meant that even though there were a lot of people there, it never seemed like it. Cons Restaurant food felt like it was very low quality and that they microwaved most of it. If you order meet, as for it to be red. They will still overcook it, but it will be edible. Mine was burnt and dark brown throughout for a medium. Drinks- low quality. Ask for high quality the entire time. We got headaches immediately after having a drink. In general the food felt really cheap. Seriously, don't even get "reservations" for the restaurants. They are always "booked" and it is not worth it. Our room was only half-cleaned one of the 3 days we were there. Overall, if the food was better, I would probably overlook most other things. In general, it is a fine place and if you don't want to think- this place is just as good as any other of these style resorts. The next time, we will stay in a hotel in playa del carmen on the beach that is not part of an all-inclusive. We did not use the pools but spent the days on the beach playing volleyball and swimming. Mexico has such spectacular food and for cheap- better idea to get into the town and take advantage of it! We also spent one fully day out of the resort- we hired a driver to take us to all the ruins and a cenote. It was an excellent thing to do and we didn't have to stick with a large tour group and avoided all the crowds. If you are a native speaker, you can hire of the cab drivers to take you to Chichen Itza, Coba, Ik-kil, and Tulum. it is a little more than doing the tour, but so worth it! Overall, I wanted to love this place but it was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab in town and then walk back to the resort along the beach. It is about 2k, so not very far and really beautiful. If we had known, we probably would have just walked along the beach to the town. Good to get out of the bubble for a bit :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shmatie
Business
Nj
May 15, 2013

Great location but won't go again

The location and size of the resort and amazing beach were fantastic great swim up adult bar and pretty good food choices however I was there for my best friends wedding the checking was long and a nightmare customer service is not very accommodating they try and put u in the wrong rooms the bride and groom moved 4 times because the rooms smelled or had twin beds the hacienda suites r gorgeous that they finally ended up in but r expensive. Our room had the worst bed and smell and cockroaches it seemingly looked nice at first and was seemingly clean but had issues. I did not wana move cause it would far up a whole day of vacation. Wish they had more rides frequently to the beach side it was rough to walk in such heat. Beach was still so clean and gorgeous and the wildlife at the resort was very cool the wedding was also very pretty. And the drinks and bartenders were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Szulbam
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 20, 2013

Relaxing getaway

My husband and I stayed in the adults section of Sandos Playacar. The resort overall is beautiful. The food isn't that great, it's typical all inclusive resort food. The alcohol is very watered down. The staff is so friendly and because we stayed in the adults section we had a private check in. I read reviews about the beds being hard, but we didn't find that at all. We slept extremely well. We had a jacuzzi tub in our room, but there was some brown gunk that came out of the jets that wasn't noticeable until you drained the tub so that grossed us out. It is about a 20 minute walk to 5th ave in Playa and you walk past some gorgeous homes on the way there, or you can take a taxi for 70 pesos. We had a great time. If we'd go back, I'd definitely stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On the nights that you don't have reservations at the al a carte restaurants go into town and eat at one of fabulous restaurants in Playa, especially Il beratto ( or something like that). They have excellent pizzas and wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lars2769
Business
Playa Del Carmen
May 13, 2014

Nice BEACH getaway!

This is a great Place to stay for the price as an All-inclusive. 5th Avenue was very close to walk or take a short cab ride. Since we were on our Anniversary vacation and had no children with us, We enjoyed the Adult-Only areas very much. Plus side, was the beach and Adult-only swim up pool bar! On the down side, there was young children at all the sit down fancy dinners and late evening shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to 5th Avenue to shop and dine out. Very large beach areas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top