$471 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Paseo xaman-ha, lote 1, mza. 1,, fracc playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
GREAT times here

Adult side was wonderful! Food was good. No reservations required which was a plus. Cupcake cafe... See full review

  • mrakes
  • Oct 12, 2014
Great stay!

First time staying at an all inclusive resort and it was amazing. Staff is really friendly,... See full review

  • Tinez
  • Sep 3, 2014
Contemporary suites featuring beautiful views of the beach

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen features an array of leisure options for holidaymakers in this hotel near Playa Del Carmen. Guests relax at the loungers, play tennis, work-out at the gym or have fun at the lagoon-style pool which also features a swim-up bar. The beach area has hammocks and umbrellas for tourists who want to relax along the shore. Retreat to the hotel and have a massage at the spa for an added charge.

Patrons can savour Asian cuisine at Asiana Restaurant or Argentine dishes at El Gaucho Restaurant on site. The resort also features Cupcake Cafe as well as a nightclub.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Lagoon-style pool with a swim-up bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
  • Spa amenities

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen boasts spacious and contemporary suites with chic and modern decors. All units come equipped with modern conveniences like cable LCD TV, well-contained mini bar, Jacuzzi and a balcony that opens to beautiful views of the sea.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Central Square (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Xcaret Eco Theme Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Xcaret Water Park (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Xcaret Eco-Archeological Park (2.4 mi/3.9 km)

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Master Suite Riviera
Riviera Master Suite Select Adults Only + 21 Years Old offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, pull - out sofa bed and smoke detector, shower, living area, vanity mirror, luggage bench, wardrobe and double sink. Located in a secluded part of the resort, offers an spacious suite providing comfort and Luxury as well as VIP treatment, and Wardrobe, Terrace, premium Liquor Bottles, Sofa and lounge, including snacks, Jacuzzi in the room, Jacuzzi at the terrace, ipod player, wireless internet, fine pillows and bedding, bathrobes for using during your stay.
Junior Suite Riviera
Riviera Junior Suite With Jacuzzi offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, pull - out sofa bed and smoke detector, shower, living area, vanity mirror, luggage bench, wardrobe and double sink. Spacious Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, lounge with a sofa bed and jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera Grand Buffet
Select Club Breakfast Restaurant, Breakfast: 07:00 to 11:00 Hrs. Only for Riviera Select Club Adults Only Section guests
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 - : 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric Illini Fan
Business
Illinois
Mar 28, 2014

awesome place

Very nice resort. I would recommend this place for families and adults. If you are not traveling with children, stay at the adults only section. It is very accommodating. Adults only pool swim up bar, and food by the pool from 11 till 3:30 - 4:00....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AEM20
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 9, 2014

Nice Place

Hotel and grounds were very nice. Beach was a little far away from Room, however the walk was nice through the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was very good. Go with an empty stomach !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McMillion
Business
Baltimore
Mar 7, 2014

Fun Times!

Fantastic way to celebrate 30yrs of life... Friendly stay, the food and drinks weren't the worst.. The beach was AMAZING and the staff was always friendly/helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Captain Dinner show is a MUST SEE!!!!! The show is a waxing and the dinner is surprisingly good!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rydog
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Jan 20, 2014

Great for honey moon

Staff is excellent, we walked around to other hotels and found out from othere people that sandles is the best bang for your buck. I would be careful when looking into the RIU hotels I heard they suck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you break up your large bills for like 1's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mik Jagger
Business
IL
Jan 16, 2014

Worth your money

Great value , my second time here , nice beach , would return again soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Down Town Playa Del Carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJJDD
Business
New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

Good value

Resort was very big and somewhat dated. Staff tried their best to make the stay pleasureable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations at the ala carte restaurants early. They limit the # of servings per night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elluce
Business
Ontario, Canada
Dec 8, 2013

Nice vacation

Nice, very large resort on the south part of Playa del Carmen. The beach is perfect and the water very clean. They are 7 a la carte restaurants, tried 5 of them, the French and Mexican were better. Adults only pool and beach a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Szulbam
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 20, 2013

Relaxing getaway

My husband and I stayed in the adults section of Sandos Playacar. The resort overall is beautiful. The food isn't that great, it's typical all inclusive resort food. The alcohol is very watered down. The staff is so friendly and because we stayed in the adults section we had a private check in. I read reviews about the beds being hard, but we didn't find that at all. We slept extremely well. We had a jacuzzi tub in our room, but there was some brown gunk that came out of the jets that wasn't noticeable until you drained the tub so that grossed us out. It is about a 20 minute walk to 5th ave in Playa and you walk past some gorgeous homes on the way there, or you can take a taxi for 70 pesos. We had a great time. If we'd go back, I'd definitely stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

On the nights that you don't have reservations at the al a carte restaurants go into town and eat at one of fabulous restaurants in Playa, especially Il beratto ( or something like that). They have excellent pizzas and wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George Anniversary
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Nov 13, 2013

Great Hotel

Nice food, very kind the staff but the only thing is the distance between the adults rooms and the beach, is too far and you have to walk for more than five minutes to get there and this is hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Calle 5 is really near and has it all that you could ask

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Seeker from Redmond
Business
Redmond, WA
Sep 20, 2013

Nice couple getaway

This is a review for the Adults Only experience. Both check in and out were easy. I was tired at arrival though, and decided to hope for the best at check-in, not making any specific request hoping they wouldn’t put us on a room smelling like mold – I had read some reviews about it, stating higher floors were better. Well, no luck and we were indeed placed in the 1st floor. By the way, the room number system is 1st digit for the building (9 for adults only section - and the lower the number, the closer you’re to the beach). The 2nd digit is the floor number so anything starting with 91 you’ll know it’s 1st floor. By entering the room we could barely breath all that humidity/mold. We went back to reception, asked to be moved, and they asked us to go back next morning. We did and the move to 3rd floor happened smoothly. We had to leave our bags packed in the room, and give back the keys. We went to the beach. By 3 pm we got the key to our new room, and luggage was there. Much better – hardly any mold smell, nicer view, more privacy, and the extra exercise going up and down stairs was actually welcome. Room was spacious, no complains, and having a Jacuzzi in the room was actually a nice touch! Some reviews mention the bed being hard as rock. Not for us. We thought the mattress was firm but very comfortable. Oh, the phone didn't work though. They offered to move us again, but we didn't want to. We could ask room service other ways (which in the end we didn’t use anyway#. Food was just eatable, not yummy, on the buffets. Burgers not eatable though – weird texture. White wine was drinkable, red wine was chilled which for me is a deal breaker. We could do TWO dinner reservations staying five nights - yes, there is a limit. We chose Mediterranean and Brazilian. Mediterranean had slow service, too quiet, just ok food. Brazilian was nicer and rodizio was good, although no traditional rice, black beans, farofa, cheese puffs. Nice caipirinha at arrival at the restaurant. Bagel bar, by the beach, at night is very nice! Cool atmosphere. Very friendly staff – I don’t remember anyone being rude or anything. Lots of smiles. Beach: very nice but we got the rainy and windy days with hurricane Ingrid around #mid-September), so couldn't really enjoy it that much, and there was no snorkeling. Pools were nice, clean. Cool giant Jenga available on the adult pool! Fun! Outdoor jacuzzi wasn't warm enough. Adults section far from beach but we thought the walk was nice. I can’t comment on day entertainment quality, as we didn’t participate in any. Quick look at Michael Jackson show one of the evenings, it was nice, but really also cannot comment on night entertainment either. And didn't try spa or any paying service. We didn't get bothered at all by timeshare people. All in all, I feel we got what we paid for, as the price for the package was quite reasonable, especially considering the adults only deal. I really appreciated being able to stay away from kids from time to time, but people should not expect a full vacation away from them – only certain areas are kids-free. Likely will try a different hotel next time, for the sake of variety, but I do recommend the hotel depending on what you’re looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do visit some cenotes if you haven't tried that Yet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top