$336 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
View map of Paseo xaman-ha, lote 1, mza. 1,, fracc playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tinez
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 3, 2014

Great stay!

First time staying at an all inclusive resort and it was amazing. Staff is really friendly, especially David, the bartender by the swimming pool. Food was delicious, different variety throughout the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olichka
Business
Queens, NY
Sep 1, 2014

Excellent Vacation

Overall, our experience was great at Sandos Playacar. We stayed at the adults only section and recommend it for couples. We enjoyed ourselves and believe the hotel is worth the money. The ameneties were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Ask for more alcohol in drinks at the bars. The drinks tend to not have enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WillRS
Business
Regina, Sk
Aug 19, 2014

Sandos Playa del Carmen

Great experience!! This resort was great!! The staff, the location, the beach, the shows, the food!!! I don't know how to describe it.. Everything was just so great!!! Maybe some may mention the wifi being available mostly in the lobby but really who cares when you're on vacation!!! Disconnect from the world and enjoy your holidays!!! The adults only area is the way to go!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Michael Jackson show was surprisingly good!!! I have to say I was quite pleased with their entertainment team!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HootHoot
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 11, 2014

Great Stay

This was a great stay. We have stayed at a few places in Playa and Cancun and this one has been the best so far. We did the Adults only section and it is definitely worth it. I recommend this hotel (specifically this area) to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant reservations go very quickly. I suggest making your reservations on the first day you arrive for the rest of your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaBoricua
Business
North Carolina
May 30, 2014

Adults Only Was the way to go!

I selected this All-Inclusive resort because it had a truly Adults Only area....and it delivered. We had our own pool area, which was not just a small little pool fenced in on the side of another area. There was plenty of seating in our area with our own swim up bar area, with some pretty good bartenders that kept the drinks flowing. There was a daily buffet by the pool and entertainment, so you really didn't have to explore other areas of the resort if you didn't want to. I have one negative...no Wi-Fi in the room. Not even a LAN connection in the room. There is Wi-Fi in the service areas and some open areas, but based on the resort description and being a 4 star resort, I expected Wi-Fi access in my room. So back to the good....The beach was beautiful. The beach and activity options are in the regular part of the resort, so you do have to walk (or wait for the cart service) a bit. But again, I was ok with that to have a kid free zone to go back to and relax in. There were plenty of restaurants available, even one for Adults Only. The food was great: Steakhouse, Italian, Mexican, Brazilian, regular buffet. My only issue was that some nicer restaurants required reservations which can fill up quickly. I tried to communicate with the concierge desk a few times ahead of arrival and did not get a response. Once I arrived though, they were ready to help and make sure we got into one of the nicer restaurants. So with all of the good stuff I have said, you may wonder why I rated it a 4. So I have been in some of the more posh resorts and I just wouldn't rank this a 5 star posh resort. But still a great resort with a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just outside of the Playacar gates, there is a small mall, which by the way has a movie theatre (Cinemex) that plays current movies in English. If you forget something at home, you can find it there. By Taxi, 90 pesos one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lars2769
Business
Playa Del Carmen
May 13, 2014

Nice BEACH getaway!

This is a great Place to stay for the price as an All-inclusive. 5th Avenue was very close to walk or take a short cab ride. Since we were on our Anniversary vacation and had no children with us, We enjoyed the Adult-Only areas very much. Plus side, was the beach and Adult-only swim up pool bar! On the down side, there was young children at all the sit down fancy dinners and late evening shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to 5th Avenue to shop and dine out. Very large beach areas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Until next time...
Business
Nebraska
May 13, 2014

A couple of couples

This resort was very nice. Since it is so big there is always something to do and nightly entertainment. The staff is wonderful. Only complaints would be how far the adults only section is from the beach and we were quite annoyed with how many parents didn't stay on the family side of the beach; making the adults only beach not truly adults only. Shame on those parents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

You COULD walk to 5th Avenue in playa, but a cab will only cost you $7 so its well worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuhns Ex
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 29, 2014

Enjoyed

Nice place and very beautiful. Beach was great. Adults only worth the extra buck and was very nice facility. A long way from the beach, though, which was OK because we liked the nice walk. Food was OK. Very large resort. Need a shuttle to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to town for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angry hungry
Business
Florida
Apr 26, 2014

I would not recomend

I have stayed about 10 times in all inclusive resorts. The food here was disappointing. The breakfast was good, but dinner and lunch were unacceptable. We were about 1/2 mile from the beach, and they only had one cart and one van going around. We ussually had to walk. The room was large and comfortableo, but the matress and water pressure could have been better. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the italian restaurant in Jardin de Marieta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Riviera Select Club - Adults Only All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric Illini Fan
Business
Illinois
Mar 28, 2014

awesome place

Very nice resort. I would recommend this place for families and adults. If you are not traveling with children, stay at the adults only section. It is very accommodating. Adults only pool swim up bar, and food by the pool from 11 till 3:30 - 4:00....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top