$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
AMAZING.

My four friends and me celebrated my 30th birthday at Sandos and it was one of the best vacations... See full review

  • Miha
  • Apr 28, 2014
Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in... See full review

  • mordonez
  • Apr 15, 2014
Private white sand beach in sporty Mexican resort
The Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is ideally located close to the seaside town of Playa del Carmen and not far from Cozumel. The hotel is based around its own idyllic stretch of soft white sand on the Riviera Maya. This is a relaxed family resort where guests have a choice of restaurants on site. The emphasis at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is on sports with four tennis courts, swimming pools and access to a nearby championship golf course. Children are also well catered for with their own swimming pool and activities. Situated next to a golf course, the resort awaits you for an unforgettable vacation.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • All-inclusive resort with its own beautiful private beach
  • Nine swimming pools and lawn tennis courts on site
  • Close to world-class diving destination
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa Rooms
The 438 bright rooms in the comfortable Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and as an added bonus, children under seven years of age may stay free in parents' accommodation (using existing bedding), making this a real draw for families. Rooms range from standard to Hacienda Royal Elite rooms and suites, which include concierge and private butler services. All rooms have either a terrace or balcony and views of the garden or ocean. Bedrooms are furnished in cool pastel shades and feature ceiling fans and air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, mini bar, work desk, safe deposit box and separate living areas with sofas. Bathrooms have robes and showers, and some come with additional whirlpool bath/Jacuzzi. All rooms have refrigerator. Superior rooms come with complimentary designer toiletries. Internet access is available in public areas (fees apply). 
Dining and Restaurants
The beach resort provides Cupcake Cafe, room service 24 hours a day, and a wide variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants serving everything from casual meals on the beach to elegant gourmet dinners. Visitors at Sandos Playacar can spend free time at the shopping area.
Features

Nestled among lush gardens, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa All Inclusive features amenities like gym, lighted tennis courts and free bike rental with guided tours. Have fun on the beach and in the pool with water sports, snorkelling, pool basketball and many other activities. The resort also features the Lite Teens Club, a Kids' Club, archery and a miniature golf course, all in an environment surrounded by nature. The entertainment team hosts a wide range of daytime and night time activities for kids, teens and adults for a fun-filled vacation. Vacationers can experience Mayan culture by booking an excursion to the ancient Mayan cities of Tulum and Coba located a few minutes away from Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort.

Things To Do:
  • Diving at Cozumel (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (1.8 mi/3.3 km) 
  • Xcaret Eco Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Internet access (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6025 -87.0944
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Located within a short distance from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen and the world-class dive destination Cozumel.

Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mordonez
Peru
Apr 15, 2014

Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in every place in the hotel. The first room they gave us had a weird smell but they change it as soon as they can and the next one was way better and in front of the pool. It was a nice a experience, the beach is amazing, we will def go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ladydia530
Cameron park, ca
Apr 3, 2014

excellent access for disabled

Great place to go when I broke my leg and had to use my knee scooter. Staff was excellent to provide extra assistance for me to get around. They were very friendly !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flan
Ireland
Jan 15, 2012

beautiful grounds and beach

wonderful stay beatiful grounds and beach ,lovely staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Brooklyn NY
Jul 23, 2012

5 STAR*****ALL THE WAY*****

This resort is of the highest quality. I read most reviews before we left and I dont understand why some people complain. We were offered an upgrade to a beauitful suite.It was gorgeous,but it was in adults only section and we decided it was to quiet for my wife and myself, so we stayed in villas on pool and beach area. The food was very good, the grounds were impeccable. The service was out of this world. The Entertainment team was fantastic....they gave you a personnal feeling. The rooms were very clean. No bugs or insects whatsoever. We kept our balcony doors at all times to avoid any. This resort exceeded all of my expectations. Drinks were always easelly ascessable. Bars were steps away from anywhere you may be and the staff was always there every few minutes to serve you. A dollar or two every so often is appreciated by them and well deserved. The only thing I say is if you dont want a timeshare presentation, make that clear if you are approached when you you arrive and checking in. If someone comes up to you when you check in to tell you they want to tell you about the resort, they are going to try and get you to take a tour...if you arent intrested WALK AWAY . I made reservations for Febuary 2013...CANT WAIT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Brooklyn NY
Aug 11, 2012

F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.

I reviewed my experience at this wonderful resort already. Just wanted to add a couple of things. There were 2 shows every night. They were great. Something for all ages.....kids, and adults that just want to be kids. We felt that the shows were so good, we decided not to go to Coco Bongo. Michael Jackson show was great. They had a Disney show that included many little children staying at resort. We had no children with us,but I saw how wonderful the staff was with the kids. Rock bands, Mexican Mariarchi, Circa show, 70"s Show, high flying acts...it was all great. They work so hard at this resort. Again, food and drinks were all fantastic. Even if you are a picky person with what you eat, you will not starve. We stayed 7 nights ,so we got 3 reservations. At first I was a little dissappointed,but it was enough. The buffets wer great. The Italian buffet was exceptional(I am italian and own an Italian Restaurant in New York). They use high quality products,especially for their antipastos. Try the prociutto and salumi. Pasta is fresh and made to order. You will not be disappointed with this resort. We are going again in july 2013!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the shows!!!!

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love to travel!
New york, NY
Jul 29, 2011

Great accomodations and customer service

Me and my fiance need to get out of new york and decided to go visit playa del carmen for the first time. Just by chance a friend of mine suggested we stay at Sandos All inclusive. I did some research and found out that there are 3 different Sandos Hotels in Riviera Maya: Sandos PlayaCar, Sandos, Eco resort, and Sandos Caracol. Well thank goodness I read a review recommending Sandos Playacar out of all of them because Playacar happens to be the newest Hotel out of the three and it was amazing! We had such a great time and the food was delicious. There was not one day we were disappointed by the food. And we are foodies so we love food. We chose to stay in the Junior suite with jacuzzi. The room was spotless and kept that way for the 8 days we were there. We also had a new owel animal" everyday surprising us when we got back to the room. The AC never failed, we actually ahd to turn it off a couple of times because it was so cold. Also the staff were so friendly. [...] we received a letter upon arrival personally signed by the general manager welcoming us to the hotel. They also gave us $40 to use in their spa for whatever we wanted. The night before we left they surprised us with a chapagne bottle and chocolate covered strawberries in our room Complimentary! We were taken back because it was so unexpected. So back to the food, the best place to eat is the Festival buffet. They have the most variety.They have a wide variety of fresh squeezed fruit juices, at dinner you will find lots of seafood, fresh shrimp, calamari, and fish. The food was just yummy. The pool is alot of fun and every night they have tons of activities and performers to keep you busy until about 12am then after that the party continues in their disco (if you're up for it). During the day i highly suggest you rent their bikes and take the 10 min ride into playa del carmen (5th avenue) for some sightseeing, people watching, and great shopping. There are tons of restuarants and things to see down there. The resort lies in a secure location because it's located inside of a gated communtiy. There are residentail houses (very beautiful) and other hotels that are located in the community of Playacar. But it's safe enough to walk around because there are only 2 entry points into the community and both with security guards 24 hrs. I felt safe and enjoyed my stay there. I was never bored and if you have kids they won't get bored either because they have a kdis activity lounge stocked with ping pong tables, fooseball tables, jenga, a couple of nintendo Wii,pool tables I mean I was impressed. Hope this review helps because I just picked this hotel on a whim and was grateful when it turned out to be so good. Oh another note, the specialty restaurants are so good. We ate at the Asian place, the Gaucho steakhouse, and the french restaurant. The best one we thought was the steak restaurant. All of them had yummy food but we love steak so we particularly enjoyed the milanesa at the Gaucho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go to Isla Mujeres do what we did which saved us some $$$....take a cab ride to 5th ave bus terminal called ADO where you can purchase a ticket for a coach bus ride into Cancun. The ticket is about $4.50 USD. The ride is comfortable with AC and they play a movie on the way. The ride lasts approx 1 hr. Once you get to the Cancun bus terminal take a cab to the Puerto juarez port to take the ferry over to isla mujeres. Once you get to isla mujeres you can sign up for a snorkel tour or just hang out on the beach. We did the snorkeling tour that included a fresh fish lunch which was tasty. The snorkeling was beautiful, the water crystal clear and all shades of blue. Lots of colorful fish and we even saw a turtle, starfish, and squid. Very nice day trip to consider.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle Rezende
Dallas, TX
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful Beach

Absolutely gorgeous beach. I have no complains about this hotel. The food was always nice, the drinks were always coming. We were supposed to get a hotel with a pool view, but ended up in a partial ocean view, Amazing!!!!!!!! Definetly going back to sandos in november.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the french restaurant and dine at the gormet Mexican, no reservations required and the carne assada was fantastic!!!!!!

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moorzie
Mercer Island, WA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Winter Vacation

The service was phenomenal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The resort was very clean and well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brassmonkey
Denver Colorado
May 7, 2012

Great for the price

Room was not cleaned when we went in so went to front desk and showed the cell phone pictures of the dirty room. It took about an hour but they put us in a Jr. suite with jacuzzi and gave us an upgraded wrist band. The room was great but beds are hard. The beach, food, and service were all Great !!! We had a good time and will go back to the Sandos Playacar again. The neighborhood is very safe. Went for a bike ride to shopping center and had NO high pressure sales people. Remember to tip the workers at hotel they work hard for very little pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Booked a private van shuttle from airport to hotel and back it was 30 dollars more than a shared ride well worth it.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sands
Castle Rock, CO, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Wedding/Vacation

We had a wonderful stay at Sandos Playacar. The staff was so nice and friendly and the service was excellent. Very clean! Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search