$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
AMAZING.

My four friends and me celebrated my 30th birthday at Sandos and it was one of the best vacations... See full review

  • Miha
  • Apr 28, 2014
Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in... See full review

  • mordonez
  • Apr 15, 2014
The Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-inclusive Hotel located within a short distance from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen and the world-class dive destination Cozumel. The resort rests on a half-mile-long stretch of soft white sand beach surrounded by the areas main attractions including the Archaeological sites of Tulum and Coba and the ecological water parks of Xcaret and Xel-Ha. Hotel Style: Family, Couples / Weddings, Young People, City Location, Beach, Water Sports, Tennis, Spa / relax. Generals: Parking - 24/ Reception - Money exchange - Internet - Wifi - Laundry - Medical Service - Baby Sitting Service - Gardens - Pool bar - Spa - Massages - Sauna - Beauty Parlour - Sunbeds - Umbrellas.The other amenity includes Children facilities, Dry cleaning, Lobby, Reception, Table tennis, Sunbeds, Umbrellas (beach area), Pool bar, Sauna (spa) and Teens Club. Select Club Rooms Special room location in Select Club section - Private check-in - Concierge service - Room service 24 hrs - VIP guest recognition - Check out up to 3:00 PM (subject to availability)- Preferential treatment for reservations at specialty restaurants - Nightly turn-down service - Private beach area with an exclusive bar and waiter service, palapas and day beds - Access to the Sandos Select Club Lounge with computers and free use of computers with internet access, and daily service of drinks and canaps from 7:00 am through 10:00 pm.

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6025 -87.0944
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Located within a short distance from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen and the world-class dive destination Cozumel.

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lemkin
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2012

Good overall value

We stayed here during the first week of April 2012. Easy check-in, switched rooms happily when we didn't like the first one. Stayed in an Hacienda suite, lowest priced. Good location in the resort, and first-floor Haciendas walk out directly to a private pool (shared with 7 other units). This was very convenient with 2 small kids. The room itself was clean, sized like a regular hotel room. Average bathroom. Bed very hard and pillows were motel-quality (bed and pillows were the lowest points of the entire resort--take that as you will!). For all I know, the upper-level suites had better beds and pillows. Although I doubt it (saw through the windows). The larger pools were nice, with lots of kid features, and about 4 feet deep at all points. Water was good temp throughout our stay (76-78F). No lap pool for adult exercise, but there is a separate adult pool and hot tub in the Spa (although still no lap pool). Beach access is good, with beach chairs easily available. Entertainment staff was always around, offering Volleyball, sand castle building, trivia, water polo, always something, if anyone is interested. Kids club was nice, too--age stratified, multilingual, with a separate pool in the kids club, movies, a Disney show the kids put on once a week, and almost-daily tennis lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isacardona14
Medellín, Colombia
Jul 7, 2013

Wonderful vacation

This hotel is excellent, it have good service. The staff is very polite and friendly. I would get better the internet service into hotel, My experience in this hotel have been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat 159753
Alexandria, MN, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Kids night life.

Our three children, ages 17, 18, and 19 really enjoyed the night life for kids their age. Other hotels we have taken our children to with us have pretty much shut down any actitivies for kids of this age at 8:00 or so. This place had music and dancing for kids of this age not only in discos but also outdoors for later at nights. The pool tables and other games were located close so they could reach these without walking a long ways. As for the resort and things for parents to do we never did do and see everthing available to us. I would recommend this hotel to families who like to travel together. There were alot of other families like us there, so our kids found those other kids to have fun with and made many new friends while on this vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troyalot
Minnesota, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Another fun Playa vacation

This was our second stay at Sandos Playacar, and we were not dissapointed. The place doubled in size since our last trip, which provided more restaurant options and three more bars including an adult only pool bar. The restaurant food was awsome and service was spectacular. Buffet food was mostly average with an occasional surprise (BBQ ribs- YUM!) Friendly staff, and an awesome beach! During prime time it takes a while to get waited on for drinks and it was faster to walk up to the bar. Beds and pillows (byop) are hard, which is norm for Mexico. A thermal mug helps for cold beverages on the beach. Our 2 college girls, one boyfriend and one 12 yr old daughter had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ferry to Cozumel, rent a car and head to the East side of the island. Have a good lunch and cold beer (a few options). Head south along miles of undeveloped and beautiful beaches with body surfing size waves.(see it on satellite images) Coming back up the west side there is alot of excellent snorkling, just pull off road, park and dive in. Rent vehicle from an international chain ONLY and get the insurance. $148 total for a mini van , we had 6 people. Getting on and off the ferry, blow through the onslaught of pushy sales people and head for fun! Plan it all ahead and maximize your time on the island.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isalambert
Montréal, QC, Canada
Mar 22, 2012

Good quality vs price

We stayed in a hacienda's suite. It's very beautiful with the private pool for 10 suites. The restaurant were good and well located. For us having a restaurant near the beach is very important, so you can eat and see the beach. The mexican restaurant and steak house a la carte was very good. The dress code "casual" is appreciated by the man to have acces to a la carte restaurants. The beach is very nice and we can walk a long distance. You can go to playa del carmen in 7min by taxi for 7$ Us . Alway's animation for everyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha.... a beutiful park were you can swim, do zip line, jump of reef even do bike.... The snorkel is the best thing to do. 99$ all inclusive package. Entrance,dining,swimming gear,and even towels. Fun for all the familly

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shevchey
Maryland
Dec 16, 2012

Around 80 percent

Nice resort with several options: standard rooms are indeed around 3 star; jr suites are closer to 4 star, and then there are the "hasiendas" for more upscale experience. Well, the last kind is only for the "club members". My impression is that everything was almost very good, but realistically just ok, and could have been better. Check-in was very welcoming and friendly, but sent me to a "standard" room. Once I showed the printed reservation with an upgraded room, they gladly upgraded me, but did not do anything outstanding. and thus caused me a fair bit of inconvenience. There goes an "almost good" check-in. Service was ok, but in order to get what we wanted, we had to ask multiple times. Luggage, crib for the baby, extra towels - all took multiple calls and reminders. That was somewhat annoying. The room was nice but worn out. A couple of years ago it would have been perfect, but today it's around 80% of perfect. Also, no internet in the rooms, which may be good when on vacation, but inconvenient for us. Food was good with breakfast and lunch served in buffets that could have used more variety, so again, around 80%. Service in the all-inclusive restaurants was good, except for one place where we had to sit for quite a while before anyone paid attention and brought some water, let alone appetizers. Great food, though. Sorry, 80% again. Getting a cappuccino: one bar didn't have milk, another bar had a broken coffee machine, the third bar had it all, plus some Kahlua to make up for the other two. On the 100% positive: nice airy gym, nice territory with lush greens, clean everything. Definitely 100% beach and ocean, with zumba, yoga, and volleyball on the beach. 80% is still very good, so you will most likely enjoy it unless you're a perfectionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zip liners
Clinton, Maine USA
Apr 28, 2012

Relaxing Couples Beach Vacation

We stayed 8 nights recently here and we were comfortable, relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. The beach is very important to us and it was beautiful--very wide, lots of chairs and shade(while we were there they planted more large palm trees at night on the beach area and erected more palapas), and a long mile or so of solitary beach to walk to one side of the resort. We found a lot of large shells. We stayed at the jr. suites buildings in the adult only Select Club area and we were happy there. We like to walk and it was maybe 5-7 min. to the beach. The walkways were being widened in one area. If you don't like to walk, you could take a van or a golf cart from the lobby to the Meeting Point which was probably 2/3 of the distance to the beach. The restaurants were good. We especially appreciated the small one that was just off the lobby and so close to our room/area for breakfast. We went to 4 a-la-carte restaurants-the Brazillian, the El Gaucho Steakhouse, and twice to the Mexican one. That was a lot of fun!! You didn't need a reservation there, but they take your room #. We traveled with another couple so they gave their room # the 2nd time. The shows at the theater were good; we went every night. Then they had more entertainment at the Plaza afterward. We saw several weddings while we were there. They have some pretty wedding gazebos, but most take their vows right down on the beach. There were lots of activities; you could participate if you wanted, but they were'nt pushy or in the way. We spent most of our days on the beach but one day there was a pool party at the adult only pool area so we went back up. They had a bbq and a live band playing on the island in the pool! They were good! Wish that the mariachi bands would have been around more; maybe we didn't eat at the right times...and some music in the lobby would have been nice in the late afternoon to early evening. All in all, it was a great resort and we would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCE01
Decorah, IA 52101, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Favorite Beach, beautiful sand

This hotel had the very best beach experience when it comes to walking and snorkeling right off the shore. Very kid friendly, if that is what you want. We enjoyed the adults only section. Would have liked adult only restaurants, but if you eat at late reservations, kids may all be in bed. Really enjoyed the 24 hour room service and frig in room. We would leave a tip in the frig each night and receive extra beer every day to carry down the beach with us. Getting a drink on the beach was a little bit of work and quite a walk. However, good exercise. Beautiful beach and sand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short taxi ride to town ($7.00) was really fun for shopping and a great massage (at Veronica's). Prices great in town. Ten minute taxi ride.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holiday2012
Montreal, QC, Canada
Jan 10, 2012

Fantastic location

Great location, good food and great staff. Room was clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenHen
oklahoma
May 27, 2012

couples getaway

Hotel was wonderful! Clean, grounds beautiful, and awesome beach! Buffets were good. Ate at steakhouse it was great!. Lady at help desk got us reservations even though they were booked full.Nightly entertainment was fun. Had massages at spa. Ladies very concerned with your comfort and relaxation. Went snorkeling with dive shop on grounds. Will scuba dive with them next trip. You can leave right here from beach. The staff was very helpful and concerned with making everything great!! We will be back. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out bike from hotel and bike a few blocks to the shopping plaza.

Back to menu Return to top