$395 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce1111
Business
Bc, Canada
May 12, 2013

Fantastic!!!

Great staff, great food, beautiful resort. 2nd time at this resort. Can't wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nicelina
Business
latvia
May 21, 2013

may daughters wedding

everything was perfect! wedding was beautiful! stuff was amazing! food was delicious! we were there for 2 weeks..... i will go back definitely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love to travel!
Business
New york, NY
Jul 29, 2011

Great accomodations and customer service

Me and my fiance need to get out of new york and decided to go visit playa del carmen for the first time. Just by chance a friend of mine suggested we stay at Sandos All inclusive. I did some research and found out that there are 3 different Sandos Hotels in Riviera Maya: Sandos PlayaCar, Sandos, Eco resort, and Sandos Caracol. Well thank goodness I read a review recommending Sandos Playacar out of all of them because Playacar happens to be the newest Hotel out of the three and it was amazing! We had such a great time and the food was delicious. There was not one day we were disappointed by the food. And we are foodies so we love food. We chose to stay in the Junior suite with jacuzzi. The room was spotless and kept that way for the 8 days we were there. We also had a new owel animal" everyday surprising us when we got back to the room. The AC never failed, we actually ahd to turn it off a couple of times because it was so cold. Also the staff were so friendly. [...] we received a letter upon arrival personally signed by the general manager welcoming us to the hotel. They also gave us $40 to use in their spa for whatever we wanted. The night before we left they surprised us with a chapagne bottle and chocolate covered strawberries in our room Complimentary! We were taken back because it was so unexpected. So back to the food, the best place to eat is the Festival buffet. They have the most variety.They have a wide variety of fresh squeezed fruit juices, at dinner you will find lots of seafood, fresh shrimp, calamari, and fish. The food was just yummy. The pool is alot of fun and every night they have tons of activities and performers to keep you busy until about 12am then after that the party continues in their disco (if you're up for it). During the day i highly suggest you rent their bikes and take the 10 min ride into playa del carmen (5th avenue) for some sightseeing, people watching, and great shopping. There are tons of restuarants and things to see down there. The resort lies in a secure location because it's located inside of a gated communtiy. There are residentail houses (very beautiful) and other hotels that are located in the community of Playacar. But it's safe enough to walk around because there are only 2 entry points into the community and both with security guards 24 hrs. I felt safe and enjoyed my stay there. I was never bored and if you have kids they won't get bored either because they have a kdis activity lounge stocked with ping pong tables, fooseball tables, jenga, a couple of nintendo Wii,pool tables I mean I was impressed. Hope this review helps because I just picked this hotel on a whim and was grateful when it turned out to be so good. Oh another note, the specialty restaurants are so good. We ate at the Asian place, the Gaucho steakhouse, and the french restaurant. The best one we thought was the steak restaurant. All of them had yummy food but we love steak so we particularly enjoyed the milanesa at the Gaucho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go to Isla Mujeres do what we did which saved us some $$$....take a cab ride to 5th ave bus terminal called ADO where you can purchase a ticket for a coach bus ride into Cancun. The ticket is about $4.50 USD. The ride is comfortable with AC and they play a movie on the way. The ride lasts approx 1 hr. Once you get to the Cancun bus terminal take a cab to the Puerto juarez port to take the ferry over to isla mujeres. Once you get to isla mujeres you can sign up for a snorkel tour or just hang out on the beach. We did the snorkeling tour that included a fresh fish lunch which was tasty. The snorkeling was beautiful, the water crystal clear and all shades of blue. Lots of colorful fish and we even saw a turtle, starfish, and squid. Very nice day trip to consider.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abraham A.
Business
Bellevue
Dec 29, 2014

Great experience

Great vacation, value for your money. Only complaint is that some activities open late and close early. (Not a deal breaker) Would definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abraham A.
Business
Bellevue
Dec 16, 2014

Great experience

Great vacation, value for your money. Only complaint is that some activities open late and close early. (Not a deal breaker) Would definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beach lover 100
Business
roswell
Jan 16, 2015

couples trip

Very nice beach(the best beach im Playa del Carmen, good food ,good size rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eva V.
Business
salinas
Jan 19, 2015

Great trip!!!!!

The hotel surpassed my expectations i loved it was great. The staff was so friendly and everyone really treated you well. I really liked location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great snorkling spot so close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward W.
Business
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

Great Escape...

Trip totally met our expectations!! Food was great, excellent beach, staff was friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haley
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Boyfriend and I

My boyfriend and I went to Sandos last July 2014 and LOVED every minute we were there and didn't want to leave! We stayed 6 nights and this year we are going back to stay 8 nights at Sandos. We had the best experience from the minute we got there! We were booked for a standard room, but they were all full and so they upgraded us for free to the adults only section and we had the best time ever there because you get a suite room where it is quieter and we got the adults only section on the beach which is way more quieter than the regular section. We had a relaxing time. The front desk receptionists were always extremely friendly when we had a question and we got to know most of the staff by their names and they knew ours. Rooms: Our room was a junior riviera suite and was huge! The jet tub was the best. If you haven't been dating long or it's your first year together taking a trip this room may not be best for you because the toilet had just a piece of glass for a door and I could hear everything when my bf got sick... :( Although we had been dating for a long time this was no biggy for us. Food: AMAZING. The pasta was awesome even when in Mexico haha. The mexican restaurant gave the biggest portion sizes and it was almost the best mexican food I ever ate. :) Bars: If you tip a few bucks they will remember your drink and you will get great service (we did because they work their butts off!!) The beach bar was our favorite because you barely walked a few feet to get a drink and there were even beach servers where you didn't have to get up to get a drink which was nice. Beach: GORGEOUS. I've been to Riviera Maya the previous year with my parents and we stayed at the Catalonia privledge Maroma (worst first experience ever) but I have never in my life seen a more gorgeous beach. If you like walking you can go right and there will be a great area for pictures or just a nice walk its about 10 min walk but you won't regret it. Also, there are no resorts on the right side of Sandos so it is extremely peaceful and not busy just the way we like it. We loved everything about Sandos and will definitely be returning this July!!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philphilphil
Business
Canada
Jan 14, 2014

Great time for a laid back vacation

The location provided an easy 20 min walk via the beach into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Asiana restaurant was really enjoyable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top