$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
AMAZING.

My four friends and me celebrated my 30th birthday at Sandos and it was one of the best vacations... See full review

  • Miha
  • Apr 28, 2014
Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in... See full review

  • mordonez
  • Apr 15, 2014
The Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-inclusive Hotel located within a short distance from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen and the world-class dive destination Cozumel. The resort rests on a half-mile-long stretch of soft white sand beach surrounded by the areas main attractions including the Archaeological sites of Tulum and Coba and the ecological water parks of Xcaret and Xel-Ha. Hotel Style: Family, Couples / Weddings, Young People, City Location, Beach, Water Sports, Tennis, Spa / relax. Generals: Parking - 24/ Reception - Money exchange - Internet - Wifi - Laundry - Medical Service - Baby Sitting Service - Gardens - Pool bar - Spa - Massages - Sauna - Beauty Parlour - Sunbeds - Umbrellas.The other amenity includes Children facilities, Dry cleaning, Lobby, Reception, Table tennis, Sunbeds, Umbrellas (beach area), Pool bar, Sauna (spa) and Teens Club. Select Club Rooms Special room location in Select Club section - Private check-in - Concierge service - Room service 24 hrs - VIP guest recognition - Check out up to 3:00 PM (subject to availability)- Preferential treatment for reservations at specialty restaurants - Nightly turn-down service - Private beach area with an exclusive bar and waiter service, palapas and day beds - Access to the Sandos Select Club Lounge with computers and free use of computers with internet access, and daily service of drinks and canaps from 7:00 am through 10:00 pm.

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6025 -87.0944
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Located within a short distance from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen and the world-class dive destination Cozumel.

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nicelina
latvia
May 21, 2013

may daughters wedding

everything was perfect! wedding was beautiful! stuff was amazing! food was delicious! we were there for 2 weeks..... i will go back definitely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mordonez
Peru
Apr 15, 2014

Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in every place in the hotel. The first room they gave us had a weird smell but they change it as soon as they can and the next one was way better and in front of the pool. It was a nice a experience, the beach is amazing, we will def go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce1111
Bc, Canada
May 12, 2013

Fantastic!!!

Great staff, great food, beautiful resort. 2nd time at this resort. Can't wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ladydia530
Cameron park, ca
Apr 3, 2014

excellent access for disabled

Great place to go when I broke my leg and had to use my knee scooter. Staff was excellent to provide extra assistance for me to get around. They were very friendly !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gogi
New Jersey, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Best Value for the money and then some!

I suppose it could have been better, but we didn't pay top dollar. Then again, we never felt like we should have paid more to get more - hence the five-star rating. We stayed at Sandos Playacar on a six-night trip. I personally thought we spent way too much time on side trips (Tulum, Chichen Itza, Xcaret). We tried all the restaurants except Brazilian. I strongly recommend the Steakhouse and La Gourmet (French - Adults Only) and would avoid Mexican. Wasn't too hard to get reservations; just need to plan ahead. Can't say enough about the service. These folks are genuinely interested in providing the best experience - hard to spot a fake smile or a sign of frustration (we tried our best with four pre-teen boys with picky eating habits and preferences). We would like to go back; would like to spend more time "doing nothing".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belinda G
San Angelo, Tx
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only issue I had was when we got to our room we had no idea that you needed the room key to have electricity. There was a slot on the wall for the room key to activate the electricity. We had no idea and was not told ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go downtown to 5th Ave. Great place to shop. Take lots of small bills. Taxi Cab ride is only $7.00.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flan
Ireland
Jan 15, 2012

beautiful grounds and beach

wonderful stay beatiful grounds and beach ,lovely staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VS15
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2013

Excellent as always

It was not the first time we spent our vacation at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa. Every time it is getting better. They are constantly improving food and service quality, adding amenities. The entertainment team is wonderful. Sometimes the music was too loud though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is the best.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Brooklyn NY
Jul 23, 2012

5 STAR*****ALL THE WAY*****

This resort is of the highest quality. I read most reviews before we left and I dont understand why some people complain. We were offered an upgrade to a beauitful suite.It was gorgeous,but it was in adults only section and we decided it was to quiet for my wife and myself, so we stayed in villas on pool and beach area. The food was very good, the grounds were impeccable. The service was out of this world. The Entertainment team was fantastic....they gave you a personnal feeling. The rooms were very clean. No bugs or insects whatsoever. We kept our balcony doors at all times to avoid any. This resort exceeded all of my expectations. Drinks were always easelly ascessable. Bars were steps away from anywhere you may be and the staff was always there every few minutes to serve you. A dollar or two every so often is appreciated by them and well deserved. The only thing I say is if you dont want a timeshare presentation, make that clear if you are approached when you you arrive and checking in. If someone comes up to you when you check in to tell you they want to tell you about the resort, they are going to try and get you to take a tour...if you arent intrested WALK AWAY . I made reservations for Febuary 2013...CANT WAIT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top