$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belinda G
Friends
San Angelo, Tx
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only issue I had was when we got to our room we had no idea that you needed the room key to have electricity. There was a slot on the wall for the room key to activate the electricity. We had no idea and was not told ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go downtown to 5th Ave. Great place to shop. Take lots of small bills. Taxi Cab ride is only $7.00.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle Rezende
Couples
Dallas, TX
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful Beach

Absolutely gorgeous beach. I have no complains about this hotel. The food was always nice, the drinks were always coming. We were supposed to get a hotel with a pool view, but ended up in a partial ocean view, Amazing!!!!!!!! Definetly going back to sandos in november.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the french restaurant and dine at the gormet Mexican, no reservations required and the carne assada was fantastic!!!!!!

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenHen
Couples
oklahoma
May 27, 2012

couples getaway

Hotel was wonderful! Clean, grounds beautiful, and awesome beach! Buffets were good. Ate at steakhouse it was great!. Lady at help desk got us reservations even though they were booked full.Nightly entertainment was fun. Had massages at spa. Ladies very concerned with your comfort and relaxation. Went snorkeling with dive shop on grounds. Will scuba dive with them next trip. You can leave right here from beach. The staff was very helpful and concerned with making everything great!! We will be back. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out bike from hotel and bike a few blocks to the shopping plaza.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican bean
Couples
California
May 11, 2012

Great for families, average for adults

Lots of activities for families and for people who like to stay on the resort. The beaches were great. The food was average but what can u expect from buffets. The downside of the ala cart restaurants were that they are limited depending on the length of your stay. We stayed there for 6 days/5 nights and we were told we only get 2 dinner reservations for the length of our stay. we ate the brazilian and french restaurants. both were pretty good. We had a beach front suite with king size bed. The room was ok except for the fact that the shower smells like sewage. overall i would recommend this resort to others. PS....If you have airport transfer through grayline..DO NOT RESERVE YOUR EXCURSIONS WITH WILSON... we missed a meeting with him due to the timeshare presentation...we booked 1 excursion through the hotel because we did not want to waste a day looking for him....that night he called our room and harassed us about it and refused to confirm our airport transfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brassmonkey
Couples
Denver Colorado
May 7, 2012

Great for the price

Room was not cleaned when we went in so went to front desk and showed the cell phone pictures of the dirty room. It took about an hour but they put us in a Jr. suite with jacuzzi and gave us an upgraded wrist band. The room was great but beds are hard. The beach, food, and service were all Great !!! We had a good time and will go back to the Sandos Playacar again. The neighborhood is very safe. Went for a bike ride to shopping center and had NO high pressure sales people. Remember to tip the workers at hotel they work hard for very little pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Booked a private van shuttle from airport to hotel and back it was 30 dollars more than a shared ride well worth it.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zip liners
Couples
Clinton, Maine USA
Apr 28, 2012

Relaxing Couples Beach Vacation

We stayed 8 nights recently here and we were comfortable, relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. The beach is very important to us and it was beautiful--very wide, lots of chairs and shade(while we were there they planted more large palm trees at night on the beach area and erected more palapas), and a long mile or so of solitary beach to walk to one side of the resort. We found a lot of large shells. We stayed at the jr. suites buildings in the adult only Select Club area and we were happy there. We like to walk and it was maybe 5-7 min. to the beach. The walkways were being widened in one area. If you don't like to walk, you could take a van or a golf cart from the lobby to the Meeting Point which was probably 2/3 of the distance to the beach. The restaurants were good. We especially appreciated the small one that was just off the lobby and so close to our room/area for breakfast. We went to 4 a-la-carte restaurants-the Brazillian, the El Gaucho Steakhouse, and twice to the Mexican one. That was a lot of fun!! You didn't need a reservation there, but they take your room #. We traveled with another couple so they gave their room # the 2nd time. The shows at the theater were good; we went every night. Then they had more entertainment at the Plaza afterward. We saw several weddings while we were there. They have some pretty wedding gazebos, but most take their vows right down on the beach. There were lots of activities; you could participate if you wanted, but they were'nt pushy or in the way. We spent most of our days on the beach but one day there was a pool party at the adult only pool area so we went back up. They had a bbq and a live band playing on the island in the pool! They were good! Wish that the mariachi bands would have been around more; maybe we didn't eat at the right times...and some music in the lobby would have been nice in the late afternoon to early evening. All in all, it was a great resort and we would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexicofun
Family
Hartland WI
Apr 17, 2012

Fun spring break

The hotel is beautiful. Everything is always clean. The beach is amazing! the staff is friendly and willing to help. Claudia met all our requests. Thank You! The only thing we have liked better at other resorts is the swim up bar being in or close to the activities pool. Always a fun place to hang out meet people, even for us beach lovers. This swim up bar is in the adult only pool which is a 10 minute walk from the beach. With children that is just too far, and too quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

use a private transfer from and back to the airport. Javier at AGI is wonderful!

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lemkin
Family
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2012

Good overall value

We stayed here during the first week of April 2012. Easy check-in, switched rooms happily when we didn't like the first one. Stayed in an Hacienda suite, lowest priced. Good location in the resort, and first-floor Haciendas walk out directly to a private pool (shared with 7 other units). This was very convenient with 2 small kids. The room itself was clean, sized like a regular hotel room. Average bathroom. Bed very hard and pillows were motel-quality (bed and pillows were the lowest points of the entire resort--take that as you will!). For all I know, the upper-level suites had better beds and pillows. Although I doubt it (saw through the windows). The larger pools were nice, with lots of kid features, and about 4 feet deep at all points. Water was good temp throughout our stay (76-78F). No lap pool for adult exercise, but there is a separate adult pool and hot tub in the Spa (although still no lap pool). Beach access is good, with beach chairs easily available. Entertainment staff was always around, offering Volleyball, sand castle building, trivia, water polo, always something, if anyone is interested. Kids club was nice, too--age stratified, multilingual, with a separate pool in the kids club, movies, a Disney show the kids put on once a week, and almost-daily tennis lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isalambert
Couples
Montréal, QC, Canada
Mar 22, 2012

Good quality vs price

We stayed in a hacienda's suite. It's very beautiful with the private pool for 10 suites. The restaurant were good and well located. For us having a restaurant near the beach is very important, so you can eat and see the beach. The mexican restaurant and steak house a la carte was very good. The dress code "casual" is appreciated by the man to have acces to a la carte restaurants. The beach is very nice and we can walk a long distance. You can go to playa del carmen in 7min by taxi for 7$ Us . Alway's animation for everyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha.... a beutiful park were you can swim, do zip line, jump of reef even do bike.... The snorkel is the best thing to do. 99$ all inclusive package. Entrance,dining,swimming gear,and even towels. Fun for all the familly

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bizteacher
Family
Kansas, USA
Mar 21, 2012

do not stay here

The hacienda junior suites have not been updated since the 50's or 60's. They smell like mold and mildew and have bugs. The beds are as hard as a table. The staff in the restaurants are very friendly, but the security treated treated our teenagers like criminals. Many of our teenagers were in tears and the 10+ families that went for spring break will never return there or recommend this place to anyone. I have stayed at 2 nice resorts in Playa del Carmen, but this is not one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top