$428 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
80 reviews
Great trip!!!!!

The hotel surpassed my expectations i loved it was great. The staff was so friendly and everyone... See full review

  • Eva V.
  • Jan 19, 2015
couples trip

Very nice beach(the best beach im Playa del Carmen, good food ,good size rooms. See full review

  • beach lover 100
  • Jan 16, 2015
Private white sand beach in sporty Mexican resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen is ideally located close to the seaside town of Playa del Carmen and not far from Cozumel. The hotel is based around its own idyllic stretch of soft white sand on the Riviera Maya. This is a relaxed family resort where guests have a choice of restaurants on site. The emphasis at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen is on sports with four tennis courts, swimming pools and access to a nearby championship golf course. Children are also well catered for with their own swimming pool and activities. Situated next to a golf course, the resort awaits you for an unforgettable vacation.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • All-inclusive resort with its own beautiful private beach
  • Nine swimming pools and lawn tennis courts on site
  • Close to world-class diving destination
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms
The 438 bright rooms in the comfortable Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen and as an added bonus, children under seven years of age may stay free in parents' accommodation (using existing bedding), making this a real draw for families. Rooms range from standard to Hacienda Royal Elite rooms and suites, which include concierge and private butler services. All rooms have either a terrace or balcony and views of the garden or ocean. Bedrooms are furnished in cool pastel shades and feature ceiling fans and air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, mini bar, work desk, safe deposit box and separate living areas with sofas. Bathrooms have robes and showers, and some come with additional whirlpool bath/Jacuzzi. All rooms have refrigerator. Superior rooms come with complimentary designer toiletries. Internet access is available in public areas (fees apply). 
Dining and Restaurants
The beach resort provides Cupcake Cafe, room service 24 hours a day, and a wide variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants serving everything from casual meals on the beach to elegant gourmet dinners. Visitors at Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen can spend free time at the shopping area.
Features

Nestled among lush gardens, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen features amenities like gym, lighted tennis courts and free bike rental with guided tours. Have fun on the beach and in the pool with water sports, snorkelling, pool basketball and many other activities. The resort also features the Lite Teens Club, a Kids' Club, archery and a miniature golf course, all in an environment surrounded by nature. The entertainment team hosts a wide range of daytime and night time activities for kids, teens and adults for a fun-filled vacation. Vacationers can experience Mayan culture by booking an excursion to the ancient Mayan cities of Tulum and Coba located a few minutes away from Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen.

Things To Do:
  • Diving at Cozumel (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (1.8 mi/3.3 km) 
  • Xcaret Eco Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Internet access (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alt584
Business
Midwest
May 9, 2013

Awesome

Great place. Food is just ok. If you get a good deal don't pass it up! Excellent safe location in VIP section of Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VS15
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2013

Excellent as always

It was not the first time we spent our vacation at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa. Every time it is getting better. They are constantly improving food and service quality, adding amenities. The entertainment team is wonderful. Sometimes the music was too loud though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shevchey
Business
Maryland
Dec 16, 2012

Around 80 percent

Nice resort with several options: standard rooms are indeed around 3 star; jr suites are closer to 4 star, and then there are the "hasiendas" for more upscale experience. Well, the last kind is only for the "club members". My impression is that everything was almost very good, but realistically just ok, and could have been better. Check-in was very welcoming and friendly, but sent me to a "standard" room. Once I showed the printed reservation with an upgraded room, they gladly upgraded me, but did not do anything outstanding. and thus caused me a fair bit of inconvenience. There goes an "almost good" check-in. Service was ok, but in order to get what we wanted, we had to ask multiple times. Luggage, crib for the baby, extra towels - all took multiple calls and reminders. That was somewhat annoying. The room was nice but worn out. A couple of years ago it would have been perfect, but today it's around 80% of perfect. Also, no internet in the rooms, which may be good when on vacation, but inconvenient for us. Food was good with breakfast and lunch served in buffets that could have used more variety, so again, around 80%. Service in the all-inclusive restaurants was good, except for one place where we had to sit for quite a while before anyone paid attention and brought some water, let alone appetizers. Great food, though. Sorry, 80% again. Getting a cappuccino: one bar didn't have milk, another bar had a broken coffee machine, the third bar had it all, plus some Kahlua to make up for the other two. On the 100% positive: nice airy gym, nice territory with lush greens, clean everything. Definitely 100% beach and ocean, with zumba, yoga, and volleyball on the beach. 80% is still very good, so you will most likely enjoy it unless you're a perfectionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Playa del Carmen
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 15, 2012

Family Vacay

It was fun, and the resort included everything so we didn't even have to leave. The only concern we had was the lack of vegetarian options for room service and late night food menu could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spaolella
Business
Colorado
Nov 14, 2012

Great entertainment

This was my 6th trip to Mexico (each time staying at all-inclusive resorts) and this was the best! The one thing that was missing was a swim up bar, however there was a bar within 10 steps of the pool and plenty of wait staff to get you a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pmfg
Business
Michigan
Nov 11, 2012

LOVE THE PLACE!!!!

I love this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing place to visit. If you are looking for a "big party place" you may want to stay in Cancun. The location is perfect and the people are so nice. The food and drinks are fabulous, the rooms are spacious and comfortable too....again, LOVE IT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet is wonderful, if you cannot find something that you like, you must be very hard to please. The fish dishes are to die for:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tati
Business
Miami, Fl.
Aug 19, 2012

Staff was great! Family friendly environment, super beach.

Our biggest complaint would be that the beds were hard as a rock. Other than that, the property is set up as a long strip, from the beach back. The standard rooms are close to the beach, activities, restaurants, etc.The suites are very nice (still hard beds) but they are further away, a 10 minute walk to the beach. Although we loved our suite, we opted for the downgrade to a standard room in order to be close to the beach & all the activities. If we wouldn't have made the move we wouldn't have had so much fun since all the activities are in the main plaza, pool & by the beach. Oh, don't get hungry between 11:30 & noon or 6-6:30pm, when the restaurants close they won't serve no matter what! Room service is good but you have to plan ahead

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If your by the pool area take the hotels free shuttle to the main lobby restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Aug 11, 2012

F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.

I reviewed my experience at this wonderful resort already. Just wanted to add a couple of things. There were 2 shows every night. They were great. Something for all ages.....kids, and adults that just want to be kids. We felt that the shows were so good, we decided not to go to Coco Bongo. Michael Jackson show was great. They had a Disney show that included many little children staying at resort. We had no children with us,but I saw how wonderful the staff was with the kids. Rock bands, Mexican Mariarchi, Circa show, 70"s Show, high flying acts...it was all great. They work so hard at this resort. Again, food and drinks were all fantastic. Even if you are a picky person with what you eat, you will not starve. We stayed 7 nights ,so we got 3 reservations. At first I was a little dissappointed,but it was enough. The buffets wer great. The Italian buffet was exceptional(I am italian and own an Italian Restaurant in New York). They use high quality products,especially for their antipastos. Try the prociutto and salumi. Pasta is fresh and made to order. You will not be disappointed with this resort. We are going again in july 2013!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the shows!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jul 23, 2012

5 STAR*****ALL THE WAY*****

This resort is of the highest quality. I read most reviews before we left and I dont understand why some people complain. We were offered an upgrade to a beauitful suite.It was gorgeous,but it was in adults only section and we decided it was to quiet for my wife and myself, so we stayed in villas on pool and beach area. The food was very good, the grounds were impeccable. The service was out of this world. The Entertainment team was fantastic....they gave you a personnal feeling. The rooms were very clean. No bugs or insects whatsoever. We kept our balcony doors at all times to avoid any. This resort exceeded all of my expectations. Drinks were always easelly ascessable. Bars were steps away from anywhere you may be and the staff was always there every few minutes to serve you. A dollar or two every so often is appreciated by them and well deserved. The only thing I say is if you dont want a timeshare presentation, make that clear if you are approached when you you arrive and checking in. If someone comes up to you when you check in to tell you they want to tell you about the resort, they are going to try and get you to take a tour...if you arent intrested WALK AWAY . I made reservations for Febuary 2013...CANT WAIT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belinda G
Business
San Angelo, Tx
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only issue I had was when we got to our room we had no idea that you needed the room key to have electricity. There was a slot on the wall for the room key to activate the electricity. We had no idea and was not told ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go downtown to 5th Ave. Great place to shop. Take lots of small bills. Taxi Cab ride is only $7.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top