Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthia Aguilar
Business
Mexico
May 29, 2013

Sandos Playacar

For what you paid its ok, but its a really big big hotel, for reaching the pool yopu have to walkkkkkkkkk a long way.-..... and when you ask for a reservation for dinner, the staff put a lof of negatives for reaching the reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce1111
Business
Bc, Canada
May 12, 2013

Fantastic!!!

Great staff, great food, beautiful resort. 2nd time at this resort. Can't wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alt584
Business
Midwest
May 9, 2013

Awesome

Great place. Food is just ok. If you get a good deal don't pass it up! Excellent safe location in VIP section of Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VS15
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2013

Excellent as always

It was not the first time we spent our vacation at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa. Every time it is getting better. They are constantly improving food and service quality, adding amenities. The entertainment team is wonderful. Sometimes the music was too loud though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is the best.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shevchey
Business
Maryland
Dec 16, 2012

Around 80 percent

Nice resort with several options: standard rooms are indeed around 3 star; jr suites are closer to 4 star, and then there are the "hasiendas" for more upscale experience. Well, the last kind is only for the "club members". My impression is that everything was almost very good, but realistically just ok, and could have been better. Check-in was very welcoming and friendly, but sent me to a "standard" room. Once I showed the printed reservation with an upgraded room, they gladly upgraded me, but did not do anything outstanding. and thus caused me a fair bit of inconvenience. There goes an "almost good" check-in. Service was ok, but in order to get what we wanted, we had to ask multiple times. Luggage, crib for the baby, extra towels - all took multiple calls and reminders. That was somewhat annoying. The room was nice but worn out. A couple of years ago it would have been perfect, but today it's around 80% of perfect. Also, no internet in the rooms, which may be good when on vacation, but inconvenient for us. Food was good with breakfast and lunch served in buffets that could have used more variety, so again, around 80%. Service in the all-inclusive restaurants was good, except for one place where we had to sit for quite a while before anyone paid attention and brought some water, let alone appetizers. Great food, though. Sorry, 80% again. Getting a cappuccino: one bar didn't have milk, another bar had a broken coffee machine, the third bar had it all, plus some Kahlua to make up for the other two. On the 100% positive: nice airy gym, nice territory with lush greens, clean everything. Definitely 100% beach and ocean, with zumba, yoga, and volleyball on the beach. 80% is still very good, so you will most likely enjoy it unless you're a perfectionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Playa del Carmen
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 15, 2012

Family Vacay

It was fun, and the resort included everything so we didn't even have to leave. The only concern we had was the lack of vegetarian options for room service and late night food menu could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spaolella
Business
Colorado
Nov 14, 2012

Great entertainment

This was my 6th trip to Mexico (each time staying at all-inclusive resorts) and this was the best! The one thing that was missing was a swim up bar, however there was a bar within 10 steps of the pool and plenty of wait staff to get you a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pmfg
Business
Michigan
Nov 11, 2012

LOVE THE PLACE!!!!

I love this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing place to visit. If you are looking for a "big party place" you may want to stay in Cancun. The location is perfect and the people are so nice. The food and drinks are fabulous, the rooms are spacious and comfortable too....again, LOVE IT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet is wonderful, if you cannot find something that you like, you must be very hard to please. The fish dishes are to die for:)

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Aug 11, 2012

F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.

I reviewed my experience at this wonderful resort already. Just wanted to add a couple of things. There were 2 shows every night. They were great. Something for all ages.....kids, and adults that just want to be kids. We felt that the shows were so good, we decided not to go to Coco Bongo. Michael Jackson show was great. They had a Disney show that included many little children staying at resort. We had no children with us,but I saw how wonderful the staff was with the kids. Rock bands, Mexican Mariarchi, Circa show, 70"s Show, high flying acts...it was all great. They work so hard at this resort. Again, food and drinks were all fantastic. Even if you are a picky person with what you eat, you will not starve. We stayed 7 nights ,so we got 3 reservations. At first I was a little dissappointed,but it was enough. The buffets wer great. The Italian buffet was exceptional(I am italian and own an Italian Restaurant in New York). They use high quality products,especially for their antipastos. Try the prociutto and salumi. Pasta is fresh and made to order. You will not be disappointed with this resort. We are going again in july 2013!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the shows!!!!

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jul 23, 2012

5 STAR*****ALL THE WAY*****

This resort is of the highest quality. I read most reviews before we left and I dont understand why some people complain. We were offered an upgrade to a beauitful suite.It was gorgeous,but it was in adults only section and we decided it was to quiet for my wife and myself, so we stayed in villas on pool and beach area. The food was very good, the grounds were impeccable. The service was out of this world. The Entertainment team was fantastic....they gave you a personnal feeling. The rooms were very clean. No bugs or insects whatsoever. We kept our balcony doors at all times to avoid any. This resort exceeded all of my expectations. Drinks were always easelly ascessable. Bars were steps away from anywhere you may be and the staff was always there every few minutes to serve you. A dollar or two every so often is appreciated by them and well deserved. The only thing I say is if you dont want a timeshare presentation, make that clear if you are approached when you you arrive and checking in. If someone comes up to you when you check in to tell you they want to tell you about the resort, they are going to try and get you to take a tour...if you arent intrested WALK AWAY . I made reservations for Febuary 2013...CANT WAIT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top