$362 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belinda G
San Angelo, Tx
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only issue I had was when we got to our room we had no idea that you needed the room key to have electricity. There was a slot on the wall for the room key to activate the electricity. We had no idea and was not told ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go downtown to 5th Ave. Great place to shop. Take lots of small bills. Taxi Cab ride is only $7.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthia Aguilar
Business
Mexico
May 29, 2013

Sandos Playacar

For what you paid its ok, but its a really big big hotel, for reaching the pool yopu have to walkkkkkkkkk a long way.-..... and when you ask for a reservation for dinner, the staff put a lof of negatives for reaching the reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nicelina
Business
latvia
May 21, 2013

may daughters wedding

everything was perfect! wedding was beautiful! stuff was amazing! food was delicious! we were there for 2 weeks..... i will go back definitely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce1111
Business
Bc, Canada
May 12, 2013

Fantastic!!!

Great staff, great food, beautiful resort. 2nd time at this resort. Can't wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alt584
Business
Midwest
May 9, 2013

Awesome

Great place. Food is just ok. If you get a good deal don't pass it up! Excellent safe location in VIP section of Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VS15
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2013

Excellent as always

It was not the first time we spent our vacation at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa. Every time it is getting better. They are constantly improving food and service quality, adding amenities. The entertainment team is wonderful. Sometimes the music was too loud though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shevchey
Business
Maryland
Dec 16, 2012

Around 80 percent

Nice resort with several options: standard rooms are indeed around 3 star; jr suites are closer to 4 star, and then there are the "hasiendas" for more upscale experience. Well, the last kind is only for the "club members". My impression is that everything was almost very good, but realistically just ok, and could have been better. Check-in was very welcoming and friendly, but sent me to a "standard" room. Once I showed the printed reservation with an upgraded room, they gladly upgraded me, but did not do anything outstanding. and thus caused me a fair bit of inconvenience. There goes an "almost good" check-in. Service was ok, but in order to get what we wanted, we had to ask multiple times. Luggage, crib for the baby, extra towels - all took multiple calls and reminders. That was somewhat annoying. The room was nice but worn out. A couple of years ago it would have been perfect, but today it's around 80% of perfect. Also, no internet in the rooms, which may be good when on vacation, but inconvenient for us. Food was good with breakfast and lunch served in buffets that could have used more variety, so again, around 80%. Service in the all-inclusive restaurants was good, except for one place where we had to sit for quite a while before anyone paid attention and brought some water, let alone appetizers. Great food, though. Sorry, 80% again. Getting a cappuccino: one bar didn't have milk, another bar had a broken coffee machine, the third bar had it all, plus some Kahlua to make up for the other two. On the 100% positive: nice airy gym, nice territory with lush greens, clean everything. Definitely 100% beach and ocean, with zumba, yoga, and volleyball on the beach. 80% is still very good, so you will most likely enjoy it unless you're a perfectionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Playa del Carmen
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 15, 2012

Family Vacay

It was fun, and the resort included everything so we didn't even have to leave. The only concern we had was the lack of vegetarian options for room service and late night food menu could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spaolella
Business
Colorado
Nov 14, 2012

Great entertainment

This was my 6th trip to Mexico (each time staying at all-inclusive resorts) and this was the best! The one thing that was missing was a swim up bar, however there was a bar within 10 steps of the pool and plenty of wait staff to get you a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pmfg
Business
Michigan
Nov 11, 2012

LOVE THE PLACE!!!!

I love this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing place to visit. If you are looking for a "big party place" you may want to stay in Cancun. The location is perfect and the people are so nice. The food and drinks are fabulous, the rooms are spacious and comfortable too....again, LOVE IT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet is wonderful, if you cannot find something that you like, you must be very hard to please. The fish dishes are to die for:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tati
Business
Miami, Fl.
Aug 19, 2012

Staff was great! Family friendly environment, super beach.

Our biggest complaint would be that the beds were hard as a rock. Other than that, the property is set up as a long strip, from the beach back. The standard rooms are close to the beach, activities, restaurants, etc.The suites are very nice (still hard beds) but they are further away, a 10 minute walk to the beach. Although we loved our suite, we opted for the downgrade to a standard room in order to be close to the beach & all the activities. If we wouldn't have made the move we wouldn't have had so much fun since all the activities are in the main plaza, pool & by the beach. Oh, don't get hungry between 11:30 & noon or 6-6:30pm, when the restaurants close they won't serve no matter what! Room service is good but you have to plan ahead

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If your by the pool area take the hotels free shuttle to the main lobby restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top