$248 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
AMAZING.

My four friends and me celebrated my 30th birthday at Sandos and it was one of the best vacations... See full review

  • Miha
  • Apr 28, 2014
Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in... See full review

  • mordonez
  • Apr 15, 2014
Private white sand beach in sporty Mexican resort
The Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is ideally located close to the seaside town of Playa del Carmen and not far from Cozumel. The hotel is based around its own idyllic stretch of soft white sand on the Riviera Maya. This is a relaxed family resort where guests have a choice of restaurants on site. The emphasis at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is on sports with four tennis courts, swimming pools and access to a nearby championship golf course. Children are also well catered for with their own swimming pool and activities. Situated next to a golf course, the resort awaits you for an unforgettable vacation.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • All-inclusive resort with its own beautiful private beach
  • Nine swimming pools and lawn tennis courts on site
  • Close to world-class diving destination
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa Rooms
The 438 bright rooms in the comfortable Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and as an added bonus, children under seven years of age may stay free in parents' accommodation (using existing bedding), making this a real draw for families. Rooms range from standard to Hacienda Royal Elite rooms and suites, which include concierge and private butler services. All rooms have either a terrace or balcony and views of the garden or ocean. Bedrooms are furnished in cool pastel shades and feature ceiling fans and air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, mini bar, work desk, safe deposit box and separate living areas with sofas. Bathrooms have robes and showers, and some come with additional whirlpool bath/Jacuzzi. All rooms have refrigerator. Superior rooms come with complimentary designer toiletries. Internet access is available in public areas (fees apply). 
Dining and Restaurants
The beach resort provides Cupcake Cafe, room service 24 hours a day, and a wide variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants serving everything from casual meals on the beach to elegant gourmet dinners. Visitors at Sandos Playacar can spend free time at the shopping area.
Features

Nestled among lush gardens, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa All Inclusive features amenities like gym, lighted tennis courts and free bike rental with guided tours. Have fun on the beach and in the pool with water sports, snorkelling, pool basketball and many other activities. The resort also features the Lite Teens Club, a Kids' Club, archery and a miniature golf course, all in an environment surrounded by nature. The entertainment team hosts a wide range of daytime and night time activities for kids, teens and adults for a fun-filled vacation. Vacationers can experience Mayan culture by booking an excursion to the ancient Mayan cities of Tulum and Coba located a few minutes away from Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort.

Things To Do:
  • Diving at Cozumel (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (1.8 mi/3.3 km) 
  • Xcaret Eco Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Internet access (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tati
Business
Miami, Fl.
Aug 19, 2012

Staff was great! Family friendly environment, super beach.

Our biggest complaint would be that the beds were hard as a rock. Other than that, the property is set up as a long strip, from the beach back. The standard rooms are close to the beach, activities, restaurants, etc.The suites are very nice (still hard beds) but they are further away, a 10 minute walk to the beach. Although we loved our suite, we opted for the downgrade to a standard room in order to be close to the beach & all the activities. If we wouldn't have made the move we wouldn't have had so much fun since all the activities are in the main plaza, pool & by the beach. Oh, don't get hungry between 11:30 & noon or 6-6:30pm, when the restaurants close they won't serve no matter what! Room service is good but you have to plan ahead

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If your by the pool area take the hotels free shuttle to the main lobby restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Aug 11, 2012

F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.

I reviewed my experience at this wonderful resort already. Just wanted to add a couple of things. There were 2 shows every night. They were great. Something for all ages.....kids, and adults that just want to be kids. We felt that the shows were so good, we decided not to go to Coco Bongo. Michael Jackson show was great. They had a Disney show that included many little children staying at resort. We had no children with us,but I saw how wonderful the staff was with the kids. Rock bands, Mexican Mariarchi, Circa show, 70"s Show, high flying acts...it was all great. They work so hard at this resort. Again, food and drinks were all fantastic. Even if you are a picky person with what you eat, you will not starve. We stayed 7 nights ,so we got 3 reservations. At first I was a little dissappointed,but it was enough. The buffets wer great. The Italian buffet was exceptional(I am italian and own an Italian Restaurant in New York). They use high quality products,especially for their antipastos. Try the prociutto and salumi. Pasta is fresh and made to order. You will not be disappointed with this resort. We are going again in july 2013!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the shows!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jul 23, 2012

5 STAR*****ALL THE WAY*****

This resort is of the highest quality. I read most reviews before we left and I dont understand why some people complain. We were offered an upgrade to a beauitful suite.It was gorgeous,but it was in adults only section and we decided it was to quiet for my wife and myself, so we stayed in villas on pool and beach area. The food was very good, the grounds were impeccable. The service was out of this world. The Entertainment team was fantastic....they gave you a personnal feeling. The rooms were very clean. No bugs or insects whatsoever. We kept our balcony doors at all times to avoid any. This resort exceeded all of my expectations. Drinks were always easelly ascessable. Bars were steps away from anywhere you may be and the staff was always there every few minutes to serve you. A dollar or two every so often is appreciated by them and well deserved. The only thing I say is if you dont want a timeshare presentation, make that clear if you are approached when you you arrive and checking in. If someone comes up to you when you check in to tell you they want to tell you about the resort, they are going to try and get you to take a tour...if you arent intrested WALK AWAY . I made reservations for Febuary 2013...CANT WAIT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belinda G
Business
San Angelo, Tx
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only issue I had was when we got to our room we had no idea that you needed the room key to have electricity. There was a slot on the wall for the room key to activate the electricity. We had no idea and was not told ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go downtown to 5th Ave. Great place to shop. Take lots of small bills. Taxi Cab ride is only $7.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
Business
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle Rezende
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful Beach

Absolutely gorgeous beach. I have no complains about this hotel. The food was always nice, the drinks were always coming. We were supposed to get a hotel with a pool view, but ended up in a partial ocean view, Amazing!!!!!!!! Definetly going back to sandos in november.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the french restaurant and dine at the gormet Mexican, no reservations required and the carne assada was fantastic!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenHen
Business
oklahoma
May 27, 2012

couples getaway

Hotel was wonderful! Clean, grounds beautiful, and awesome beach! Buffets were good. Ate at steakhouse it was great!. Lady at help desk got us reservations even though they were booked full.Nightly entertainment was fun. Had massages at spa. Ladies very concerned with your comfort and relaxation. Went snorkeling with dive shop on grounds. Will scuba dive with them next trip. You can leave right here from beach. The staff was very helpful and concerned with making everything great!! We will be back. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out bike from hotel and bike a few blocks to the shopping plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican bean
Business
California
May 11, 2012

Great for families, average for adults

Lots of activities for families and for people who like to stay on the resort. The beaches were great. The food was average but what can u expect from buffets. The downside of the ala cart restaurants were that they are limited depending on the length of your stay. We stayed there for 6 days/5 nights and we were told we only get 2 dinner reservations for the length of our stay. we ate the brazilian and french restaurants. both were pretty good. We had a beach front suite with king size bed. The room was ok except for the fact that the shower smells like sewage. overall i would recommend this resort to others. PS....If you have airport transfer through grayline..DO NOT RESERVE YOUR EXCURSIONS WITH WILSON... we missed a meeting with him due to the timeshare presentation...we booked 1 excursion through the hotel because we did not want to waste a day looking for him....that night he called our room and harassed us about it and refused to confirm our airport transfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brassmonkey
Business
Denver Colorado
May 7, 2012

Great for the price

Room was not cleaned when we went in so went to front desk and showed the cell phone pictures of the dirty room. It took about an hour but they put us in a Jr. suite with jacuzzi and gave us an upgraded wrist band. The room was great but beds are hard. The beach, food, and service were all Great !!! We had a good time and will go back to the Sandos Playacar again. The neighborhood is very safe. Went for a bike ride to shopping center and had NO high pressure sales people. Remember to tip the workers at hotel they work hard for very little pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Booked a private van shuttle from airport to hotel and back it was 30 dollars more than a shared ride well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
peachrus
Business
Vancouver
May 5, 2012

service

For 2 out of 8 days our room was not cleaned, no soup in the washroom for 2 days. Staff at Meeting Point forgot to process information that we ordered bell boy service in the morning, so as a result we could be late for our trip to airport. When we were leaving (3 hours earlier than 12) housekeeping staff was waiting for us at the door of our room to start cleaning, quite a rash! Why there were no rash to give us a room when we arrived (at 1:00 pm) so we waited more that 2 hours to get in the room. Not fair! Conclusion - not high class service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top