$395 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
Oct 10, 2013

THE WORST TRAVEL EXPERIENCE OF OUR LIVES

THE HOTEL HAS A GREAT LOCATION, BUT THE AMENITIES ARE VERY COMMON. the jr suite was horrible and had a strong smell of damp. Staff were very inattentive and bagage we receive until 6 pm. the food bad. we just leave the hotel before time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 av in playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
Oct 10, 2013

worst vacations

the location is great and the hotel is just common. but the experience whit the staff was terrible. you need to bring a ton of extra money and eat out. The buffet it was editable but disgusting. All they served was American food 24/7 #pizza, hot dogs, burgers#. From our hacienda we had to walk 9 minutes every day to the buffet to sweat our butts off because it has no air conditioning. Most of the food was day old The room was poorly cleaned when we checked in, it was about a 15 minute walk from the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAKotlarz
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 30, 2013

Disappointment

We spent 7 days and 6 nights at the Sandos Playacar we spent a little over $2600 for my husband, myself and our 2 year old son. We booked a Hacienda Junior Suite with the private pool. The pros of staying at this hotel are the private pool, and some of the staff was friendly. That was pretty much the only 2 positives about staying at this hotel. The Cons of staying at this hotel: BEWARE first time guests. When we arrived to the hotel for check in you are greeted by a bell hop he couldn't find us on his check in list. We were then taken to the front desk at the lobby and the girl said "oh we've been here before" my husband and I have never been to this hotel but other family has. We checked in got our keys and then had to meet with a lady for our "welcome breakfast" that was mandatory at 9 am the next day and was only suppose to be 90 minutes long. When we went for the welcome breakfast it turned out to be a sales pitch to buy a time share at the hotel, we didn't want it but they kept pushing it on us. 3 hours later we were finally done with the 90 minute sales pitch to buy a time share. Food: Might as well bring a ton of extra money and eat out. The buffet it was editable but disgusting. All they served was American food 24/7 #pizza, hot dogs, burgers#. From our hacienda we had to walk 9 minutes every day to the buffet to sweat our butts off because it has no air conditioning. Most of the food was day old. Beach: The beach was nice if you stayed on the royal elite side. Otherwise you were being haggled buy people selling jewelry and other knickknacks. Room: We stayed in the 6000 rooms of the haciendas. The room was poorly cleaned when we checked in, it was about a 15 minute walk from the lobby. We constantly heard trucks, scooters, staff, and loud music 24/7. The last 2 days we were there we were killing baby cockroaches and on the last night we had a huge 3 inch cockroach crawl through our room. Hotel: Location is horrible its about a 45 minute walk to 5th avenue or a $20 cab ride round trip. You have to walk to everything and its not a short walk. Some of the staff was friendly but others you would ask a simple question and they would say no English and walk away. It was loud and noisy from all the trucks being shuttled back and forth all day. They have 2 atms that give American money but the entire time we were there they didn't work. Meeting Point: BEWARE you have to walk through the meeting point to go to the beach, pool and the buffet. This is also the only place that has wifi unless your a royal elite member. The meeting point is such a scam we would walk through and every day we would have someone ask if we wanted to buy a time share, they have people there selling excursion trips and other things. They have a guest service there that is useless. Overall we would never stay at this hotel again even if it was free. We paid a good price but for what we paid the only nice thing was the private pool that we had. Spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Los Rancheros on 5th ave is one of the best Mexican food restaurants on the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
Sep 19, 2013

Great for the money

Great food, great location; right next to the 5th Ave, great staff. The staff waited on you hand and foot. The Asiana Restaurant was my favorite; great waiter Armando. Best place I have stayed in Mexico and I have visited there many times. I am of Mexican decent and I am proud to see my people taking advantage of their beautiful country. VIVA MEXICO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
my nickname has already b
Business
san antonio, tx
Sep 16, 2013

vacation

room was very nice, but it was right next to the pool with the music so loud it was hard to relax with the thumping. food was not bad, but nothing exciting. Average. got the take the ferry to Cozumel. quit easy and a great day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you WILL be harassed about time shares and upgrading in the resort! If you aren't interested, just keep walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Xacto
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 6, 2013

Lots of potential but horrible customer service

My subject line says it all. Lot's of potential but horrible customer service. Paid for a hacienda and was bumped down to a regular room with no compensation until I submitted a complaint. Bathrooms had bugs and housekeeping didn't clean the room until 5 or 6pm? The resort was huge and maybe housekeeping was overextended. In any case, I would skip this resort and stay where you are appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry from Philadelphia
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 8, 2013

Relaxing beach holiday

Hotel was great. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Food surprisingly good. Beach outstanding. Staff was very, very nice and accomodating. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mediterranean Restaurant was our favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnaRpo
Business
Medellín, Colombia
Jul 7, 2013

Everything in the same place

The best all inclusive ever (that include service room, drink at the beach, at the pool, at the bar, food and drinks everywhere, shop, jewelry, theater, cafe, gym, spa, hydrotherapy, snacks...) Wonderful staff service Restaurants options Amazing beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isacardona14
Business
Medellín, Colombia
Jul 7, 2013

Wonderful vacation

This hotel is excellent, it have good service. The staff is very polite and friendly. I would get better the internet service into hotel, My experience in this hotel have been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationing single parent
Business
Prairie Village, KS
Jun 6, 2013

Rainy getaway

Aside from the weather many other things were wrong at this resort. I would not suggest going if you are a single parent. Just not accommodating. The maitre de at the French restaurant was extremely rude! Denied we even had reservations but eventually gave in. Apparently this restaurant is reserved for only romantic diners (kids and I did not fit the bill even though they were of age, must be 18 to enter). Not sure why he was so protective of the restaurant as the food was mediocre at best. The rest of the food was also mediocre. Best meal we had was a burger and the meals in town were much, much better. Also watch out for bugs in your room. On a positive note the entertainment staff was superb and the beach is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top