$311 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casarod
Business
Chicago
Jun 21, 2014

Great location

Everything in this hotel was great, the staff were very friendly but understaffed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Attractions are also close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kuffy
Business
Australia
May 27, 2014

Poor quality bedding and poor availability at restaurants

The beds and pillows were extremely hard and uncomfortable. This was very disappointing as it was hard to get a good sleep. It's very difficult booking into the restaurants even when booking days ahead . We were there 5 days and only managed to secure one restaurant booking, Not good enough in my opinion. Only other alternative was buffet restaurant and food there was very average. Service at the bars was very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kandacekay
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
May 19, 2014

Beautiful beaches, family oriented and private haciendas and a lot of culture.

Multiple cultures travel here and that was an intriguing experience. It was very family oriented and had multiple activities. Most of the rooms are a good walk away from the beach. They have a common area near the beach with rooms but this is very loud and busy. I recommend the furthest away haciendas or the rooms near the lobby if you want quiet and relaxing. I felt very safe here and well taken care of by the staff. There is quite a bit of walking to get from point A to point B.The food buffets had a wide variety but average and a bit bland. You can eat at 3 restaurants. The Asian and Brazil steak house were very good but the Mediterranean was poor. We were disappointed with the food for the most part. They did have an amazing cupcake cafe with coffees that we couldn't stay out of. They had a really cool arcade room as well. The gift shops are of course way over priced so save your shopping for 5th Ave. The excursions were reasonably priced. We didn't do the spa due to over pricing but they had daily specials that were better priced. The staff worked hard and were the best part of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Pay attention to the exchange rates wherever you go. I recommend the big souvenir shops like Playa mart. One restaurant charged us a 15% tax on our bill which is weird. Their prices are very fair along with exchange rate. I would find out right away if a shop or restaurant allows credit card. I would ask for a cash receipt on everything you buy!! Monitor and calculate everything that goes on your credit card.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miha
Business
nyc
Apr 28, 2014

AMAZING.

My four friends and me celebrated my 30th birthday at Sandos and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. The beach is absolutely beautiful. No rocks. Clear water and very clean. The service is great. Everyone is so nice! Yasmin by the beach was one of our all time favorites. Plenty of pools. Plenty of food. The only negatives would be the lack of wifi in all areas and the average age was a bit "mature". Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

$5 bus takes you to Tulum to see the ruins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mordonez
Business
Peru
Apr 15, 2014

Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in every place in the hotel. The first room they gave us had a weird smell but they change it as soon as they can and the next one was way better and in front of the pool. It was a nice a experience, the beach is amazing, we will def go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ladydia530
Business
Cameron park, ca
Apr 3, 2014

excellent access for disabled

Great place to go when I broke my leg and had to use my knee scooter. Staff was excellent to provide extra assistance for me to get around. They were very friendly !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VS15
Business
Denver, Colorado
Feb 27, 2014

Everything is just right

We've been there in November 2013. It was our 7th or 8th time at this hotel. Every time we are there they add something new. The last surprise was a little cafe where you can get a piece of cake with a cup of tea or coffee. It's open all day. Very nice! We like everything about it. The food is always very good - nothing special, but tasty. It seems they have a good chef. The beach is the best - wide open and clean, the ocean is perfect. The entertainment is sometimes too loud to our taste, but I guess it's the name of the game. We'll go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First time in Mexico
Business
México
Jan 18, 2014

Awful!

To be fair the only nice thing about this hotel is the beach and the beach bar! The rest is awful!! The rooms have got mojld on the walls and they look like some cheap hostel rooms! Food is tasteless and although they have loads of restaurants you only can book them twice a week! Drinks are watered down and tastless too! I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone I care about! The only time you would get a nice room or get to see the nice side of the hotel is when you join the royal elite club! Which is another annoying thing in this hotel !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philphilphil
Business
Canada
Jan 14, 2014

Great time for a laid back vacation

The location provided an easy 20 min walk via the beach into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Asiana restaurant was really enjoyable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELLA A
Business
NEW YORK
Dec 3, 2013

Great Family getaway.

My family loves this hotel. We have been 5 times at this resort and coming back in April again. The resort has a perfect beach, great spa and gym facility. Every time we come we see something new was done at the resort. The entertainment was poor this time. The hotel switches staff very often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top