$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
AMAZING.

My four friends and me celebrated my 30th birthday at Sandos and it was one of the best vacations... See full review

  • Miha
  • Apr 28, 2014
Excelent honey moon!

It was an excelent experience, it just need to improve it's wifi signal since it doesn't work in... See full review

  • mordonez
  • Apr 15, 2014
Private white sand beach in sporty Mexican resort
The Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is ideally located close to the seaside town of Playa del Carmen and not far from Cozumel. The hotel is based around its own idyllic stretch of soft white sand on the Riviera Maya. This is a relaxed family resort where guests have a choice of restaurants on site. The emphasis at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort is on sports with four tennis courts, swimming pools and access to a nearby championship golf course. Children are also well catered for with their own swimming pool and activities. Situated next to a golf course, the resort awaits you for an unforgettable vacation.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • All-inclusive resort with its own beautiful private beach
  • Nine swimming pools and lawn tennis courts on site
  • Close to world-class diving destination
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa Rooms
The 438 bright rooms in the comfortable Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and as an added bonus, children under seven years of age may stay free in parents' accommodation (using existing bedding), making this a real draw for families. Rooms range from standard to Hacienda Royal Elite rooms and suites, which include concierge and private butler services. All rooms have either a terrace or balcony and views of the garden or ocean. Bedrooms are furnished in cool pastel shades and feature ceiling fans and air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, mini bar, work desk, safe deposit box and separate living areas with sofas. Bathrooms have robes and showers, and some come with additional whirlpool bath/Jacuzzi. All rooms have refrigerator. Superior rooms come with complimentary designer toiletries. Internet access is available in public areas (fees apply). 
Dining and Restaurants
The beach resort provides Cupcake Cafe, room service 24 hours a day, and a wide variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants serving everything from casual meals on the beach to elegant gourmet dinners. Visitors at Sandos Playacar can spend free time at the shopping area.
Features

Nestled among lush gardens, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa All Inclusive features amenities like gym, lighted tennis courts and free bike rental with guided tours. Have fun on the beach and in the pool with water sports, snorkelling, pool basketball and many other activities. The resort also features the Lite Teens Club, a Kids' Club, archery and a miniature golf course, all in an environment surrounded by nature. The entertainment team hosts a wide range of daytime and night time activities for kids, teens and adults for a fun-filled vacation. Vacationers can experience Mayan culture by booking an excursion to the ancient Mayan cities of Tulum and Coba located a few minutes away from Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort.

Things To Do:
  • Diving at Cozumel (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (1.8 mi/3.3 km) 
  • Xcaret Eco Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Internet access (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6025 -87.0944
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Located within a short distance from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen and the world-class dive destination Cozumel.

Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodzio
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Great Vacation

This was our second time in this resort. First time was last year in September, we liked it so much that we went back again. Just as the first time it was perfect again. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, and the food was great. Good selection. We liked the French Restaurant the best. The location is also great. We liked it because this is the last resort , but on the other side you can walk on the beach and you pass resorts after resorts. Because this is the last resort you have an opportunity to walk on the beach where is nothing but palm trees and wild flowers growing on the sand.We will be back. We`recomend it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the so called "Fifht Avenue" very close by. Taxi will take you from the lobby for $ 7. It is very safe shopping district and they have all kind of stores, restaurants and massage places. You can hear music from almost every resturants. The massage places are very cheap comparing to the resorts, and they are offering a wide selections. You can find here the Ferry to Cozume Island also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELLA A
Business
NEW YORK
Dec 3, 2013

Great Family getaway.

My family loves this hotel. We have been 5 times at this resort and coming back in April again. The resort has a perfect beach, great spa and gym facility. Every time we come we see something new was done at the resort. The entertainment was poor this time. The hotel switches staff very often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
Oct 10, 2013

THE WORST TRAVEL EXPERIENCE OF OUR LIVES

THE HOTEL HAS A GREAT LOCATION, BUT THE AMENITIES ARE VERY COMMON. the jr suite was horrible and had a strong smell of damp. Staff were very inattentive and bagage we receive until 6 pm. the food bad. we just leave the hotel before time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 av in playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
Oct 10, 2013

worst vacations

the location is great and the hotel is just common. but the experience whit the staff was terrible. you need to bring a ton of extra money and eat out. The buffet it was editable but disgusting. All they served was American food 24/7 #pizza, hot dogs, burgers#. From our hacienda we had to walk 9 minutes every day to the buffet to sweat our butts off because it has no air conditioning. Most of the food was day old The room was poorly cleaned when we checked in, it was about a 15 minute walk from the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAKotlarz
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 30, 2013

Disappointment

We spent 7 days and 6 nights at the Sandos Playacar we spent a little over $2600 for my husband, myself and our 2 year old son. We booked a Hacienda Junior Suite with the private pool. The pros of staying at this hotel are the private pool, and some of the staff was friendly. That was pretty much the only 2 positives about staying at this hotel. The Cons of staying at this hotel: BEWARE first time guests. When we arrived to the hotel for check in you are greeted by a bell hop he couldn't find us on his check in list. We were then taken to the front desk at the lobby and the girl said "oh we've been here before" my husband and I have never been to this hotel but other family has. We checked in got our keys and then had to meet with a lady for our "welcome breakfast" that was mandatory at 9 am the next day and was only suppose to be 90 minutes long. When we went for the welcome breakfast it turned out to be a sales pitch to buy a time share at the hotel, we didn't want it but they kept pushing it on us. 3 hours later we were finally done with the 90 minute sales pitch to buy a time share. Food: Might as well bring a ton of extra money and eat out. The buffet it was editable but disgusting. All they served was American food 24/7 #pizza, hot dogs, burgers#. From our hacienda we had to walk 9 minutes every day to the buffet to sweat our butts off because it has no air conditioning. Most of the food was day old. Beach: The beach was nice if you stayed on the royal elite side. Otherwise you were being haggled buy people selling jewelry and other knickknacks. Room: We stayed in the 6000 rooms of the haciendas. The room was poorly cleaned when we checked in, it was about a 15 minute walk from the lobby. We constantly heard trucks, scooters, staff, and loud music 24/7. The last 2 days we were there we were killing baby cockroaches and on the last night we had a huge 3 inch cockroach crawl through our room. Hotel: Location is horrible its about a 45 minute walk to 5th avenue or a $20 cab ride round trip. You have to walk to everything and its not a short walk. Some of the staff was friendly but others you would ask a simple question and they would say no English and walk away. It was loud and noisy from all the trucks being shuttled back and forth all day. They have 2 atms that give American money but the entire time we were there they didn't work. Meeting Point: BEWARE you have to walk through the meeting point to go to the beach, pool and the buffet. This is also the only place that has wifi unless your a royal elite member. The meeting point is such a scam we would walk through and every day we would have someone ask if we wanted to buy a time share, they have people there selling excursion trips and other things. They have a guest service there that is useless. Overall we would never stay at this hotel again even if it was free. We paid a good price but for what we paid the only nice thing was the private pool that we had. Spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Los Rancheros on 5th ave is one of the best Mexican food restaurants on the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
Sep 19, 2013

Great for the money

Great food, great location; right next to the 5th Ave, great staff. The staff waited on you hand and foot. The Asiana Restaurant was my favorite; great waiter Armando. Best place I have stayed in Mexico and I have visited there many times. I am of Mexican decent and I am proud to see my people taking advantage of their beautiful country. VIVA MEXICO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
my nickname has already b
Business
san antonio, tx
Sep 16, 2013

vacation

room was very nice, but it was right next to the pool with the music so loud it was hard to relax with the thumping. food was not bad, but nothing exciting. Average. got the take the ferry to Cozumel. quit easy and a great day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you WILL be harassed about time shares and upgrading in the resort! If you aren't interested, just keep walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Xacto
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 6, 2013

Lots of potential but horrible customer service

My subject line says it all. Lot's of potential but horrible customer service. Paid for a hacienda and was bumped down to a regular room with no compensation until I submitted a complaint. Bathrooms had bugs and housekeeping didn't clean the room until 5 or 6pm? The resort was huge and maybe housekeeping was overextended. In any case, I would skip this resort and stay where you are appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry from Philadelphia
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 8, 2013

Relaxing beach holiday

Hotel was great. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Food surprisingly good. Beach outstanding. Staff was very, very nice and accomodating. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mediterranean Restaurant was our favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnaRpo
Business
Medellín, Colombia
Jul 7, 2013

Everything in the same place

The best all inclusive ever (that include service room, drink at the beach, at the pool, at the bar, food and drinks everywhere, shop, jewelry, theater, cafe, gym, spa, hydrotherapy, snacks...) Wonderful staff service Restaurants options Amazing beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isacardona14
Business
Medellín, Colombia
Jul 7, 2013

Wonderful vacation

This hotel is excellent, it have good service. The staff is very polite and friendly. I would get better the internet service into hotel, My experience in this hotel have been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top