$311 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote 1, Mza 1, Frac.Playacar, Q.Roo, Mexico, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
85 reviews
Boyfriend and I

My boyfriend and I went to Sandos last July 2014 and LOVED every minute we were there and didn't... See full review

  • Haley
  • Mar 26, 2015
Great Escape...

Trip totally met our expectations!! Food was great, excellent beach, staff was friendly... See full review

  • Edward W.
  • Mar 11, 2015
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen is ideally located close to the seaside town of Playa del Carmen and not far from Cozumel. The hotel is based around its own idyllic stretch of soft white sand on the Riviera Maya. This is a relaxed family resort where guests have a choice of restaurants on site. The emphasis at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen is on sports with four tennis courts, swimming pools and access to a nearby championship golf course. Children are also well catered for with their own swimming pool and activities. Situated next to a golf course, the resort awaits you for an unforgettable vacation.
Dining
The beach resort provides Cupcake Cafe, room service 24 hours a day, and a wide variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants serving everything from casual meals on the beach to elegant gourmet dinners. Visitors at Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort and Spa - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen can spend free time at the shopping area.
Rooms
The 438 bright rooms in the comfortable Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen and as an added bonus, children under seven years of age may stay free in parents' accommodation (using existing bedding), making this a real draw for families. Rooms range from standard to Hacienda Royal Elite rooms and suites, which include concierge and private butler services. All rooms have either a terrace or balcony and views of the garden or ocean. Bedrooms are furnished in cool pastel shades and feature ceiling fans and air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, mini bar, work desk, safe deposit box and separate living areas with sofas. Bathrooms have robes and showers, and some come with additional whirlpool bath/Jacuzzi. All rooms have refrigerator. Superior rooms come with complimentary designer toiletries. Internet access is available in public areas (fees apply). 
Highlights
  • All-inclusive resort with its own beautiful private beach
  • Nine swimming pools and lawn tennis courts on site
  • Close to world-class diving destination

Top hotels

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Standard Balcony with Garden View or Pool or Partial Ocean
Two double beds or one King size bed. Private deluxe Bathroom with shower, Hair dryer, Air Conditioning, Color TV, Phone, Mini Bar with water, soft drinks and beer, Sitting Area, Coffee Maker, Safe, Balcony / Terrace, ceiling fan, Garden or Pool view.
Junior Suite Riviera with Jacuzzi Balcony with Pool
Spacious Junior Suites with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, terrace or balcony, bathroom, toilet, double view vanity mirror, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. Air conditioning, plasma satellite TV, telephone, safe, ceiling fan, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Mini Bar with water, sodas, beer and 24hrs room service. With garden or pool view.
Hacienda Junior Suite with Balcony Pool View or Garden View
Spacious Junior Suite, with two double beds or one king size bed, integrated living room area with a sofa bed, elegant modern rattan furniture on balcony or terrace, overlooking the lush tropical flora, duvet covers on beds, luxury private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, bathrobes to use during their stay, 24hrs room service, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, air conditioning, 42 Plasma satellite TV, telephone, Mini Bar with mineral water, soft drinks, beer, and safety box. Option of adjoining rooms for families (subject to availability)
Superior Ocean Front Adults Only
King Size bed, private luxury bathroom with shower, hair dryer, vanity mirror, 24hr room service, bath robes for use during stay in the hotel, shower cap, body lotion, safe, air conditioning, satellite Plasma TV, VIP mini bar (mineral water, natural water, soft drinks and beer, welcome fruit basket. Radio / alarm clock, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, Terrace or balcony with sea view. VIP Bracelet for access to Select Club Adults Only services and the Premium Lounge at the lobby.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Grand Buffet
Main Restaurant, Breakfast: 7:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:30 to 15:30 Hrs. Dinner: 18:30 to 22:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are Mandatory
Iztapalapa
Pool Buffet & Snack Bar, Drinks: 08:00 to 22:00 Hrs. Breakfast: 08:00 to 10:30 Hrs. Lunch: 12:00 to 17:00 Hrs. Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Riviera Blue Pool Snack Bar
Drinks: 10:00 to 18:00 Hrs. Lunch: 11:00 to 17:00 Hrs Dress Code: Shirt & Shoes are mandatory
Il Piemonte Buffet
Italian Buffet, Dinner: 18.30 to 22.30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear
Asiana Restaurant
Oriental Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21.30hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Gourmet Restaurant
French Restaurant (adults only). Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Formal Wear (Closed toe shoes, gentleman long trousers) Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
El Gaucho Restaurant
Argentinean Stake House Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code:Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Fogo de Janeiro Restaurant
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear. Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Mediterranean Restaurant
Mediterranean Cuisine Dinner: 18:00 to 21:30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear Previous reservation, subject to availability, restrictions apply: 7 Night Stay: 3 Reservations for Dinner 4-6 Nights 2 reservations 2-3Nights 1 reservation
Riviera Maya Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant Dinner: 18:00 to 21: 30 Hrs. Dress Code: Casual, no beach wear

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belinda G
San Angelo, Tx
Jul 8, 2012

Great Vacation

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only issue I had was when we got to our room we had no idea that you needed the room key to have electricity. There was a slot on the wall for the room key to activate the electricity. We had no idea and was not told ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go downtown to 5th Ave. Great place to shop. Take lots of small bills. Taxi Cab ride is only $7.00.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
May 16, 2015

Family Trip

The hotel was great! We really enjoyed the hotel and amenities that came with the hotel. This is hotel was certainly geared towards kids 13 and under. There wasn't much to do for adult activities. The only reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel was due to the bed/rooms. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the rooms were not everything that the pictures lead them to be. It was almost like sleeping on a cement block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haley
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Boyfriend and I

My boyfriend and I went to Sandos last July 2014 and LOVED every minute we were there and didn't want to leave! We stayed 6 nights and this year we are going back to stay 8 nights at Sandos. We had the best experience from the minute we got there! We were booked for a standard room, but they were all full and so they upgraded us for free to the adults only section and we had the best time ever there because you get a suite room where it is quieter and we got the adults only section on the beach which is way more quieter than the regular section. We had a relaxing time. The front desk receptionists were always extremely friendly when we had a question and we got to know most of the staff by their names and they knew ours. Rooms: Our room was a junior riviera suite and was huge! The jet tub was the best. If you haven't been dating long or it's your first year together taking a trip this room may not be best for you because the toilet had just a piece of glass for a door and I could hear everything when my bf got sick... :( Although we had been dating for a long time this was no biggy for us. Food: AMAZING. The pasta was awesome even when in Mexico haha. The mexican restaurant gave the biggest portion sizes and it was almost the best mexican food I ever ate. :) Bars: If you tip a few bucks they will remember your drink and you will get great service (we did because they work their butts off!!) The beach bar was our favorite because you barely walked a few feet to get a drink and there were even beach servers where you didn't have to get up to get a drink which was nice. Beach: GORGEOUS. I've been to Riviera Maya the previous year with my parents and we stayed at the Catalonia privledge Maroma (worst first experience ever) but I have never in my life seen a more gorgeous beach. If you like walking you can go right and there will be a great area for pictures or just a nice walk its about 10 min walk but you won't regret it. Also, there are no resorts on the right side of Sandos so it is extremely peaceful and not busy just the way we like it. We loved everything about Sandos and will definitely be returning this July!!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isalambert
Business
BOUCHERVILLE
Mar 26, 2015

Second time

Second time .. Near playa del carmen, nice beach.. staff nice. beautiful room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward W.
Business
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

Great Escape...

Trip totally met our expectations!! Food was great, excellent beach, staff was friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eva V.
Business
salinas
Jan 19, 2015

Great trip!!!!!

The hotel surpassed my expectations i loved it was great. The staff was so friendly and everyone really treated you well. I really liked location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great snorkling spot so close to the hotel.

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beach lover 100
Business
roswell
Jan 16, 2015

couples trip

Very nice beach(the best beach im Playa del Carmen, good food ,good size rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abraham A.
Business
Bellevue
Dec 29, 2014

Great experience

Great vacation, value for your money. Only complaint is that some activities open late and close early. (Not a deal breaker) Would definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beach lover 100
Business
roswell
Dec 29, 2014

Very nice beach experience

This resort exceeded our expectations, location was great, very good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beach lover 100
Business
roswell
Dec 22, 2014

Very nice beach experience

This resort exceeded our expectations, location was great, very good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abraham A.
Business
Bellevue
Dec 16, 2014

Great experience

Great vacation, value for your money. Only complaint is that some activities open late and close early. (Not a deal breaker) Would definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top