$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 295 Hotel Sandos Caracol, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
17 reviews
It could not have been any better!

This is my second time at this facility. This means that I liked it the first time and after the... See full review

  • Dom the Traveler
  • Nov 25, 2014
GREAT weekend getaway

My experience was great from the 1st day to last day. See full review

  • Bivi10
  • Oct 7, 2014
Stylish comforts in the heart of Riviera Maya
Ideal for romantic vacation or weekend getaway, Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive offers sophisticated and stylish accommodations in the heart of Riviera Maya. This luxurious resort provides easy access to the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea and pristine beach area exclusively for adults the features hammocks and waiter. Guests can play at the tennis courts or have fun with nightly entertainment at the theater. 

At Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive, patrons enjoy the variety of appetizing Brazilian cuisine at Fogo du Brasil and enjoy a la carte breakfast and luch at La Jungla snack bar on site. Visitors can rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Spa Sandos on site with diverse temperature pools, hydrotherapy area, sauna and steam bath and work out at the fitness center. 
3 Reasons To Stay
Beach area with hammocks and waiterIn-house restaurant serving Brazilian cuisineExcellent spa facilities including diverse temperature pools
Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms
Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive offers elegant suites nestled into a quiet jungle area. Each unit is appointed with individual climate control, satellite 42-inch plasma TV, wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, iron and board, mini bar, hair dryer and balcony/terrace that opens to garden, pool or jungle views. Select accommodations have living area and balcony with Jacuzzi. 
Things To Do
  • Mamitas Beach Club (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Riviera Art Gallery (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • 5th avenue art gallery (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Silver Shine Art Gallery (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Playa Paintball Park (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21
Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21 offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning individual control, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, 42 " color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, turn down service, premium liquor bottles, wi fi internet, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, radio, bathrobes, hot and cold water dispenser, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, Ipod player, vanity mirror, fine pillows and linen and smoke detector. Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21 years old balcony or terrace with garden or pool view, Wardrobe, Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes.
Suite Deluxe Select Club Adults Only + 21
Deluxe Suite with 1 king size bed and double sofa bed, for Adults over 21 years old, balcony with garden or pool view, Jacuzzi in the room - Flat Screen TV/ Cable - Air Conditioning with individual control - 24/Room Service - Smoke Detector - Safety Box - Hairdryer - Bathroom amenities - All Inclusive Minibar - Iron and Ironing Board - Fan - Vanity Mirror - Hot and Cold Water Dispenser - Premium Liquor Bottles - Tea and Coffee amenities - Turn Down Service - Ipod Player - Wi Fi Internet - Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes - - Wardrobe
Suite Penthouse Select Club Adults Only + 21
Penthouse Suite with 1 King Size Bed and 1 double sofa bed, for Adults over 21 years old, with Jacuzzi on the terrace with garden or pool view - Flat Screen TV/ Cable - Air Conditioning with individual control - 24/Room Service - Smoke Detector - Safety Box - Hairdryer - Bathroom amenities - All Inclusive Minibar - Iron and Ironing Board - Fan - Vanity Mirror - Hot and Cold Water Dispenser - Premium Liquor Bottles - Tea and Coffee amenities - Turn Down Service - Ipod Player - Wi Fi Internet - Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes - Wardrobe

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
La Laguna - International Buffet, La Toscana - Italiano, Las Mascaras - Buffet Mexicano, El templo - Oriental, La Riviera - Mediterranean, El Gaucho - Grill - Steak House, Fogo du Brasil - Rodizio, Vegetariano - Gourmet Vegetariano , La Jungla - Snack Bar and El Nido - Snack 24 hrs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Somer Chill
Business
Indiana
Sep 2, 2013

Perfect Getaway

This resort was phenomenal. The customer service was fantastic and the resort was always kept spotless. The all inclusive experience was my first and a tone setter for me. The a la carte restaurants were excellent and buffets was good. The snack bar stayed open which was a plus. The drinks were unlimited and they weren't watered down. They even served shots if asked. I stayed in the adult select club and that offered its guest premium bottles, a quiet pool and jacuzzi, spa entry, and our own section of the beach. We had access to our own beach club house that had a bar, lounge, private cabanas, and a billiards. The only thing I didn't like was the Mosquitos, raccoons, and gecko's. Other those factors our vacation was excellent. I would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fogo de Brazil in the Adult Select Club pool section

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LMSJJK
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 31, 2012

Just ok

This hotel resort served its purpose as a quick getaway weekend but if you're looking for something special like a honeymoon or celebrating an anniversary I'd go elsewhere. The food is just ok, nothing special by any means. Even though it's "all inclusive" you have to have reservations at certain restaurants and you're only allowed to make 1-2 reservations for every 4 nights you're there. Otherwise you have to go to the buffets. The service seemed lacking, with some of the waiters being almost rude. The room service is SLOW and not accurate. I tried it once and just ordered sweet bread. It took 50 minutes. The other couples we went with consistently got the wrong order and the last day was told they didn't have eggs or waffles for breakfast. One day they didn't even deliver their food after 45 minutes and we had to leave to go snorkel. I believe the service would be better if there was a tip incentive. The people we did get good service from we tipped. Alexandra was a great server on the beach! Friendly, upbeat, funny... I went to the Adults Only which is sort of misleading. The adults only pool is nowhere near the beach and there's no swim up bar. The main pool is next to the beach and has the swim up bar...it also has all the families and kids. The restaurants are also open to all families/kids so there's no real separation. Also, the hot tub at the adults only section is open till 8pm only. Why would the hot tub only be open during the hottest part of the day and not at night...especially the adults one? Makes no sense. We went jet skiing and snorkeling. The man who walked the beach and sold us the package would negotiate on price to a point but than he also asked for his tip before we even went on the trip. Not really sure what we were tipping him for since he didn't provide a service but only was selling the packages... The spa is nice. The international buffet and steakhouse were the best places to eat. However, the most disappointing was probably the food by far. I went to Riveria Maya and Cabo at different resorts and the food was fabulous so I was expecting something along the same lines. We went into Playa one night and had an amazing meal at Casa del Aqua. That whole experience was top notch. Definitely go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa del Aqua in downtown Playa has amazing food, atmosphere, and service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amier
Business
Woodville, OH 43469, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Needs improvement

The property is big, but needs lots of fixing....the beds are like sleeping on concret.....shades on light fixtures with holes and cracks.....frequent sewer smell.....the international buffet, chinese restaurant, and mexican restaurant served horrible food.....the first few days we were there, there was a tarp on the roof of the restaurant by the adult pool that was ripped up and blowing in the wind....TACKY! There were holes in many of the thatched roof....and worst of all the beach was filthy. Not at all worth the money!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat most of your meals at the restaurant by the adult pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brandonholly
Business
Rushville, Indiana
May 14, 2012

Nice Place

Prepare yourself to walk. This place is huge. Very limited ocean view rooms. The staff is very friendly and the place is kept VERY CLEAN. Our room was on the bottom floor and was clean and comfortable but did have that weird musty odor. They trick you with the restaurant reservations. If you stay 2-4 night you only get to make 1 restaurant reservation. 5-7 nights you get 2 reservations. You HAVE to have reservations to eat at some place othe than the buffets. BUT.... the buffets werent bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Michael Jackson show was pretty interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amusins
Business
New York
Jun 5, 2014

Not a perfect place.....

Definitely go for Select Club if traveling without kids. If you like swimming in the sea, this place is not for you........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wd00
Business
New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

OK place for families

Overall the trip was good. This place is really good for kids. It has a kids water park and activities. Like other large resorts in PdC it's a trip to leave the resort. We prefer Cancun where you can walk outside of the hotel easily. Like everyone says bring water shoes for the ocean. The resort is large and has incorporated the jungle into the resort very well. Rooms were good. The adult select rooms are newer and nicer so if you can spring for them. Food is just OK. I was a little disappointed in the rodizo dinner where they only give you one rotation of meat and they didn't tell us that til it was over. We also never got the romantic dinner we paid for and the front desk staff refused to help us set it up. The timeshare offer lasts 3+ hours so just be aware. Not sure I would return here without kids. With kids I might.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eshghitude
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 23, 2014

Not bad, but a far cry from great

It's quiet, the hotel is nice, and we appreciated the amenities. But, apart from that, I can't say much more positive. The food was next to awful. The service was even worse. My wife and I ordered the same drink all week and never received the same drink twice. Perhaps it was off season for them, so the hotel was not running at full capacity, but I have no desire to visit any other hotels under the Sandos brand. Don't get me wrong, it was great for a honeymoon on which we really only wanted to decompress, but the rock-hard mattress, poor food, drink, and service don't leave any desire to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scallione
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 30, 2012

Relaxing Jungle Hotel

Full disclosure: this was my first stay at an all-inclusive resort. That said, this was a great spot for my wife and I to spend our honeymoon. A little off the beaten path just north of Playa del Carmen, this hotel is nicely integrated with its jungle surroundings. While on the grounds we saw tons of wildlife including birds, malpaches, cuati, and even a few spider monkeys. The beach is OK, good for laying out and relaxing, but it isn't the best spot for swimming due to the proximity of the reef immediately off shore. The food was plentiful, although the quality was variable. The buffets often had a few good dishes interspersed with cafeteria quality extras. The a la carte restaurants were better, with the Brazilian being the best. This is a family oriented resort, but if you're traveling without kids, I'd suggest staying in the adults only "select club" area. This brings a number of benefits, including access to the beach house and bar as well as room service at no extra charge. Upgrading to a "jr. suite" gets you an additional room with a couch as well as a jacuzzi tub on the deck. Beware the "ownership / vacation club" presentation that you will be offered upon check-in, though you may be able to negotiate some good discounts and extras for agreeing to participate. Note that you'll need to take a cab to get into PDC, which runs about $12.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JazzieJax
Business
Connecticut
May 9, 2013

Not my cup of tea

Although I did enjoy the time I spent in the Select Club Adults Only areas I did not enjoy having to venture out into the "Family section" for the nightly entertainment and dining. It was a mad house in the family section. Lots of unruly, screaming children running around everywhere. The beach was disappointing - lots of reef made entering the water nearly impossible. Only a few safe entry points. I plan to stick to fully Adult-Only properties in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Resort Lovers
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jan 18, 2014

Adult Only was excellent

Great Resort, tons of stuff to do. Lots of children, but a great adult only section, I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongo was very packed and uncomfortable. If you go try and get a private table and bottle service. Other wise you will never get a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top