$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 295 Hotel Sandos Caracol, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
18 reviews
exelent place

the people is very nice and friendly and very nice place to relax. See full review

  • jorge m.
  • Jan 5, 2015
GREAT weekend getaway

My experience was great from the 1st day to last day. See full review

  • Bivi10
  • Oct 7, 2014
Ideal for romantic vacation or weekend getaway, Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive offers sophisticated and stylish accommodations in the heart of Riviera Maya. This luxurious resort provides easy access to the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea and pristine beach area exclusively for adults the features hammocks and waiter. Guests can play at the tennis courts or have fun with nightly entertainment at the theater. 

At Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive, patrons enjoy the variety of appetizing Brazilian cuisine at Fogo du Brasil and enjoy a la carte breakfast and luch at La Jungla snack bar on site. Visitors can rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Spa Sandos on site with diverse temperature pools, hydrotherapy area, sauna and steam bath and work out at the fitness center. 
Rooms
Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive offers elegant suites nestled into a quiet jungle area. Each unit is appointed with individual climate control, satellite 42-inch plasma TV, wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, iron and board, mini bar, hair dryer and balcony/terrace that opens to garden, pool or jungle views. Select accommodations have living area and balcony with Jacuzzi. 
Highlights
Beach area with hammocks and waiterIn-house restaurant serving Brazilian cuisineExcellent spa facilities including diverse temperature pools
Nearby attractions
  • Mamitas Beach Club (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Riviera Art Gallery (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • 5th avenue art gallery (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Silver Shine Art Gallery (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Playa Paintball Park (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

Top hotels

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21
Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21 offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning individual control, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, 42 " color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, turn down service, premium liquor bottles, wi fi internet, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, radio, bathrobes, hot and cold water dispenser, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, Ipod player, vanity mirror, fine pillows and linen and smoke detector. Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21 years old balcony or terrace with garden or pool view, Wardrobe, Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes.
Suite Deluxe Select Club Adults Only + 21
Deluxe Suite with 1 king size bed and double sofa bed, for Adults over 21 years old, balcony with garden or pool view, Jacuzzi in the room - Flat Screen TV/ Cable - Air Conditioning with individual control - 24/Room Service - Smoke Detector - Safety Box - Hairdryer - Bathroom amenities - All Inclusive Minibar - Iron and Ironing Board - Fan - Vanity Mirror - Hot and Cold Water Dispenser - Premium Liquor Bottles - Tea and Coffee amenities - Turn Down Service - Ipod Player - Wi Fi Internet - Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes - - Wardrobe
Suite Penthouse Select Club Adults Only + 21
Penthouse Suite with 1 King Size Bed and 1 double sofa bed, for Adults over 21 years old, with Jacuzzi on the terrace with garden or pool view - Flat Screen TV/ Cable - Air Conditioning with individual control - 24/Room Service - Smoke Detector - Safety Box - Hairdryer - Bathroom amenities - All Inclusive Minibar - Iron and Ironing Board - Fan - Vanity Mirror - Hot and Cold Water Dispenser - Premium Liquor Bottles - Tea and Coffee amenities - Turn Down Service - Ipod Player - Wi Fi Internet - Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes - Wardrobe

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Restaurant
La Laguna - International Buffet, La Toscana - Italiano, Las Mascaras - Buffet Mexicano, El templo - Oriental, La Riviera - Mediterranean, El Gaucho - Grill - Steak House, Fogo du Brasil - Rodizio, Vegetariano - Gourmet Vegetariano , La Jungla - Snack Bar and El Nido - Snack 24 hrs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scallione
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 30, 2012

Relaxing Jungle Hotel

Full disclosure: this was my first stay at an all-inclusive resort. That said, this was a great spot for my wife and I to spend our honeymoon. A little off the beaten path just north of Playa del Carmen, this hotel is nicely integrated with its jungle surroundings. While on the grounds we saw tons of wildlife including birds, malpaches, cuati, and even a few spider monkeys. The beach is OK, good for laying out and relaxing, but it isn't the best spot for swimming due to the proximity of the reef immediately off shore. The food was plentiful, although the quality was variable. The buffets often had a few good dishes interspersed with cafeteria quality extras. The a la carte restaurants were better, with the Brazilian being the best. This is a family oriented resort, but if you're traveling without kids, I'd suggest staying in the adults only "select club" area. This brings a number of benefits, including access to the beach house and bar as well as room service at no extra charge. Upgrading to a "jr. suite" gets you an additional room with a couch as well as a jacuzzi tub on the deck. Beware the "ownership / vacation club" presentation that you will be offered upon check-in, though you may be able to negotiate some good discounts and extras for agreeing to participate. Note that you'll need to take a cab to get into PDC, which runs about $12.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AldeanFan02
Couples
N/A
Aug 27, 2015

Not a couple's resort

My husband and I went to Sandos Caracol for our honeymoon. We stayed for 8 nights. We had some good memories, yes.. but it was definitely not the place for us & we won't be going back. It was my first time at any sort of beach. I was very disappointed with the beach. It is so rocky, you can't swim in it at all. We had to wear water shoes so our feet wouldn't get cut. Every time you turn around, they are trying to sell you something or get you to do a timeshare. It's hard to relax when someone is always bugging you to buy things. I feel like this resort is way more for families than it is for couples. I wish we would have gone somewhere more romantic. The food was just okay, nothing really spectacular. I will say that the staff was all really nice, except for one guy that was selling stuff from a booth. We walked by and he said something so I just said Oh, just looking and he replied with Well.. I'm just selling.. VERY rude. I don't feel like the resort pampers you like I have read before. I know that Mexico is known for tequila but I feel like they should at least offer other alcohols such as whiskey, etc. My husband and I don't like tequila so we feel as if we didn't get our money's worth, as all inclusive includes drinks. When we checked out, the woman didn't even say Thanks for staying with us.. etc. She just gave us our number for our bags and that was it. We came home more stressed than we were when we left. Overall, we feel as if we wasted our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John Rocket
Couples
commerce city
Jun 25, 2015

Very Relaxing

The experience was great. The Location was the best part. A day trip to Cozumel and Acumal was very easy. Getting to Chichen Itza was a tad more challenging, but not horrible by any means. The beach was a bit rocky, but most of the area is (I heard). The resort is very big with lots of things to see. The food was surprisingly good (for an all inclusive its usually very average). I did have a minor upset stomach all week (it only lasted maybe 30 minutes), So make sure you bring antacid medicine. Overall, I would rate a 4/5 stars (which is the current rating). The Adult section REALLY is all adults. However, when you wonder over to general section, there are no shortage of kids running around just being kids - lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
N/A
May 15, 2015

Loved this resort

Wonderful time. Excellent staff. Enjoyed the wild life. Saw lots of monkeys. Lots of activities on resort. In 7 days we didn't have time to do all of them. Food was good, amazing sea bass and steaks. Enjoyed Mayan entertainment. Scheduled deep sea fishing with boat from resort. Staff went out of their way to find another couple to share cost with, which made it a great price.Husband caught a 65 lb Mahi Mahi. Lots of great memories. First time staying at a resort that we want to go back too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jorge m.
Couples
woodland
Jan 5, 2015

exelent place

the people is very nice and friendly and very nice place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa W.
Couples
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

honeymoon

We enjoyed our stay the room was great we stayed in building 61 in the select club definitely worth the upgrade. We watched monkeys play in the trees outside of our room every morning. Entertainment staff not as good as previous visit but still adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring water shoes with them rocky beach is no problem

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eshghitude
Couples
Washington, DC
Oct 23, 2014

Not bad, but a far cry from great

It's quiet, the hotel is nice, and we appreciated the amenities. But, apart from that, I can't say much more positive. The food was next to awful. The service was even worse. My wife and I ordered the same drink all week and never received the same drink twice. Perhaps it was off season for them, so the hotel was not running at full capacity, but I have no desire to visit any other hotels under the Sandos brand. Don't get me wrong, it was great for a honeymoon on which we really only wanted to decompress, but the rock-hard mattress, poor food, drink, and service don't leave any desire to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bivi10
Couples
dallas,tx
Oct 7, 2014

GREAT weekend getaway

My experience was great from the 1st day to last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food everywhere in hotel no need to step out the resort.

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wd00
Family
New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

OK place for families

Overall the trip was good. This place is really good for kids. It has a kids water park and activities. Like other large resorts in PdC it's a trip to leave the resort. We prefer Cancun where you can walk outside of the hotel easily. Like everyone says bring water shoes for the ocean. The resort is large and has incorporated the jungle into the resort very well. Rooms were good. The adult select rooms are newer and nicer so if you can spring for them. Food is just OK. I was a little disappointed in the rodizo dinner where they only give you one rotation of meat and they didn't tell us that til it was over. We also never got the romantic dinner we paid for and the front desk staff refused to help us set it up. The timeshare offer lasts 3+ hours so just be aware. Not sure I would return here without kids. With kids I might.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noottamnitram
Couples
Los Angeles , CA
Jul 29, 2014

Dream honeymoon

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we had a blast! We stayed for 7 days in July and didn't get bored once! The food was delicious and they did not skimp on the drinks (we actually had to ask for them to make our drinks weaker cause pretty much all their drinks were doubles by default). The resort is massive and we were still finding new things to do up till the day we left. They have Mayan ruins on site which were really cool to see but if that's something you're really interested in, an excursion to chichen itza may be in order. The snorkeling is the same, fun and they have a decent variety of fish, but if that's something you love then an excision may be a better bet. The resort really has a bit of everything, including it's own cinote and you could spend your entire vacation there and be happy. We did have one issue with the housekeeping coming in whole the do not disturb sign was out and spilling something on our clothes that made then stink. We talked to the customer service desk and they were extremely apologetic and accommodating, offering complementary laundry service and an additional dinner reservation for a romantic dinner. We were completely satisfied with how the issue was amended and had no other issues for the rest of our stay. All in all we had the honeymoon of our dreams and would go back in a heartbeat. The resort was worth every penny and we have highly recommended it to everyone willing to listen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wd00
Family
New Jersey
Jun 7, 2014

Overall a good experience, Excellent for Kids

As the title states, overall it was a good experience. Travelled with extended family and their kids. Kids really liked the animals everywhere as well as the pools and the beach. Food was ok, some of the dinners were good, but we were disappointed with the Brazilian rodizio as the meat wasn't very good and you only get one round, they don't keep going like most places so get multiple pieces in case you like one of them! We had an adult select club deluxe room which is a little nicer than the standard rooms, but also gives you access to the adults only sections of the resort, which is probably better if you don't have any kids. They had really good shows at night which the kids loved. As everyone stated the beach is rocky, so bring water shoes and you'll be fine. They will try to sell you a timeshare package so just be aware. Its up to you whether the gifts they offer in return are worth the 3-4 hours of your time (even though they say its 1-2 hours#. My biggest complaint is with some of the staff. The reservation system there is very sketchy. When they give you the paper when you make your reservation, don't loose it as they have no other record that you even had a reservation. We forgot ours and no one had any record of our reservation anywhere. They also said they were booked full and they couldn't accommodate our group of six. After the 10 min round trip walk back to the room #yes the resort is quite large# we gave the reservation paper to them and then everything was OK. Funny thing is we walked in and there were like 5 other people in the restaurant. Booked full? I think not. Also we booked the romantic package for my gf and I. The room was decorated nicely when we got there #with just married tshirts too!# but no one could find that detail on our reservation when we tried to book our romantic dinner package. When we finally did find someone to book our romantic dinner, the restaurant never got the memo and we just had a regular dinner. Complaining to the front desk/reservations people fell upon deaf ears, as they couldn't confirm we had the romantic package booked and refused to rebook our dinner or offer any else in lieu of the dinner. I would not recommend getting this package as it seems to be a hassle to get what you pay for. I've stayed at many different resorts in Cancun, and while this resort is really good for kids #special pool areas, water park, shows, buffets, animals, etc.) I think the service, food options and beaches are better in most parts of Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top