Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 295 Hotel Sandos Caracol, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
13 reviews
Stylish comforts in the heart of Riviera Maya
Ideal for romantic vacation or weekend getaway, Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive offers sophisticated and stylish accommodations in the heart of Riviera Maya. This luxurious resort provides easy access to the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea and pristine beach area exclusively for adults the features hammocks and waiter. Guests can play at the tennis courts or have fun with nightly entertainment at the theater. 

At Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive, patrons enjoy the variety of appetizing Brazilian cuisine at Fogo du Brasil and enjoy a la carte breakfast and luch at La Jungla snack bar on site. Visitors can rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Spa Sandos on site with diverse temperature pools, hydrotherapy area, sauna and steam bath and work out at the fitness center. 
3 Reasons To Stay
Beach area with hammocks and waiterIn-house restaurant serving Brazilian cuisineExcellent spa facilities including diverse temperature pools
Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms
Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive offers elegant suites nestled into a quiet jungle area. Each unit is appointed with individual climate control, satellite 42-inch plasma TV, wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, iron and board, mini bar, hair dryer and balcony/terrace that opens to garden, pool or jungle views. Select accommodations have living area and balcony with Jacuzzi. 
Things To Do
  • Mamitas Beach Club (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Riviera Art Gallery (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • 5th avenue art gallery (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Silver Shine Art Gallery (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Playa Paintball Park (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6616 -87.0399
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN). This airport is 45 km from the hotel.
Area description
Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only is located 10 minutes from the famous 5th Avenue, and only 45 minutes from the International Cancun airport, in the Mayan Riviera, next to the Sandos Caracol Eco - Resort and Spa. The hotel is located in the Luxurious Residential Complex " Grand Coral " where is the 18 holes Golf Course " Grand Coral Golf Course" designed by Nick Price.

Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21
Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21 offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning individual control, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, 42 " color flat screen TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, turn down service, premium liquor bottles, wi fi internet, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, radio, bathrobes, hot and cold water dispenser, room service 24 hours, digital safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, Ipod player, vanity mirror, fine pillows and linen and smoke detector. Suite Superior Select Club Adults Only + 21 years old balcony or terrace with garden or pool view, Wardrobe, Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes.
Suite Deluxe Select Club Adults Only + 21
Deluxe Suite with 1 king size bed and double sofa bed, for Adults over 21 years old, balcony with garden or pool view, Jacuzzi in the room - Flat Screen TV/ Cable - Air Conditioning with individual control - 24/Room Service - Smoke Detector - Safety Box - Hairdryer - Bathroom amenities - All Inclusive Minibar - Iron and Ironing Board - Fan - Vanity Mirror - Hot and Cold Water Dispenser - Premium Liquor Bottles - Tea and Coffee amenities - Turn Down Service - Ipod Player - Wi Fi Internet - Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes - - Wardrobe
Suite Penthouse Select Club Adults Only + 21
Penthouse Suite with 1 King Size Bed and 1 double sofa bed, for Adults over 21 years old, with Jacuzzi on the terrace with garden or pool view - Flat Screen TV/ Cable - Air Conditioning with individual control - 24/Room Service - Smoke Detector - Safety Box - Hairdryer - Bathroom amenities - All Inclusive Minibar - Iron and Ironing Board - Fan - Vanity Mirror - Hot and Cold Water Dispenser - Premium Liquor Bottles - Tea and Coffee amenities - Turn Down Service - Ipod Player - Wi Fi Internet - Pillows and Fine linens - Bathrobes - Wardrobe

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
La Laguna - International Buffet, La Toscana - Italiano, Las Mascaras - Buffet Mexicano, El templo - Oriental, La Riviera - Mediterranean, El Gaucho - Grill - Steak House, Fogo du Brasil - Rodizio, Vegetariano - Gourmet Vegetariano , La Jungla - Snack Bar and El Nido - Snack 24 hrs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Talleyyyy
Maryland
Apr 10, 2012

Poorly Maintained Hotel Rooms

Our rooms at the Sandos Caracol resort were poorly maintained and in need of renovation. Our family experienced three different rooms types (a standard room, a deluxe room and a junior suite) and each one had significant problems including: (a) poor TV reception, (b)a dirty bathtub, (c) a broken facet, (d) ceiling cracks, (e) majorly chipped floors, (f) poor air conditioning, (g) a loud running toilet and (h) squeaky ceiling fans. Furthermore, the repair service was not good. For example, it took two days for the hotel to repair the TV reception and they never fixed the toilet. My major problem with this resort is that instead of keeping all the rooms in good shape, they wait for their hotel guest to complain before fixing the problems. It appears that the hotel staff reacts to complaints rather than proactively verifying in advance that everything is in good shape. Given that the rooms are cleaned every day, problems such as running toilets, chipped floors, cracked ceilings and dirty bathtub are easily identifiable. Furthermore, the service is also inconsistent. Some of the staff were excellent but, others were offensive. In particular, the lobby staff needs improvement. It appears that, the lobby employees are more concerned with securing your attendance at their “Welcome TimeShare Breakfast” than ensuring their guests comfort and responding to their guests requests. Despite say many times, “we’d rather not have this talk now, my family is tired, we’d like to go to our room or relax,” the lobby staff insisted on giving us the “welcome speech” a.k.a. you must come to our timeshare breakfast talk. It is apparent that Sandos is more concerned with their timeshare sales than ensuring their guests comfort. Also, they ignored our request for adjoining rooms and an upgrade. I had made these requests in advance (by email and phone). However, at check-in, Sandos booked our family in different buildings and had not upgraded one of the rooms. Before writing this review, I re-read some poor reviews on Trip-Advisor and saw that many of the problems I described have existed for years. Furthermore, while I saw that the hotel’s manager replies to these reviews, there appears to be no improvement. Therefore, I cannot in good conscience recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish family
Ireland
Jul 28, 2013

Resort to forget...

Had booked here for 8 nights. Was so disappointed and had so many complaints about our room and the staff which fell on deaf ears. We paid for the most expensive room in the resort. The royal elite club section. Did not receive any of the mentioned extra amenities as was understood at booking, such as discounts on hotel services, unlimited a la carte reservations, upgraded mini bar replenished daily and vip treatment at check in to name a few. We were told that we just paid for the room after two days of not getting benefits by a member of the guest services. Booking for a la carte restaurants is a nightmare, stayed 3 nights and couldnt get any reservations as they were booked up for 3 nights even though we supposedly had preferred bookings. you have to book all at check in and you only get a certain number of reservations depending on nights. Food in the buffet is average at best and room service is terrible. We got leftovers from the buffet that was both cold and awful. Fridge still hadn't been replenished after 3 days. Needless to say we left after 3 nights and booked into a dreams resort nearby. We did get a refund minus 1 night and the dreams resort was ten times better. Only positive is the kids club even though you better make sure to sign your kids up for the activities individually or they get left inside all day, happened ours for the first full day, thankfully she made a friend and didn't mind.. This was our first all inclusive experience and it was terrible. The dreams resort for the same price was what would be expected by a all inclusive. Great service, staff and food. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here of you want to enjoy your holiday.

Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Dec 9, 2013

Awful! Stay Away!

This has to be the worst experience we've had anywhere in the Caribbean. The Room We were put in a room that was dirty, smelled like mold, looked unfinished and did not even have soap for the first day. There was thick dust on the dispensers in the shower...disgusting. We requested a crib two months in advance, and when we got there we were told they are out of cribs. They offered to make the sofa bed for a one year old. The second night IT RAINED ON US while we were sleeping. Not a drip of water on the walls, water was pouring on my daughter and father in law in the next room in the middle of the night. We were changed to decent rooms in another building, although the room smelled like sewage sometimes. Even then, our room was cleaned seemed like every other day. Every time we requested new towels, either bath or hand towels were not available. In the rooms we stayed in the hairdryer broke (twice), the remote control broke (twice) and the jacuzzi wasn't working. The second time the remote control broke, I did not bother to call again for service. The shower pressure ranged from poor to non-existent, depending on how many people are using the shower. They keys to the room stop working for no apparent reason at random times. We had to have new keys made twice. Food & Drinks The buffet is hit or miss. For the most part, meat is overcooked and tough. Sometimes potatoes had a very distinct perfume-like after-taste, it was very weird. They have different theme nights, but only a couple of dishes vary, other than that, food gets repetitive. Breakfast was the best food, but it also features left-overs from the previous night which I found distasteful. The a-la-carte restaurants are hit or miss as well. Tried the Hibachi (they call it Teppanyaki) twice, once it was good, second time it was too salty for the same meal. Italian has to be the best from all a la carte. Stay away from Steak & Fish, it was hot due to no A/C and staff was beyond rude. Staff at Brazilian were very warm and friendly but the meat is dry and overcooked. The Mediterranean was a very generous "meh". Coffee was good one day, see-through the other, very inconsistent. The bars are ok, drinks are rather watered down. The quality of alcohol brands is abysmal. Most liquor smells like medicine alcohol. There are only local brand drink and not quality ones either. Grounds/Beach/Amenities The only positive is, there are lots of animals and nature, that can also be a negative since it tends to smell around most areas. The beach is unusable. You cannot go in the water since there are rocks everywhere and the strong current will knock you over making you hit the rocks. If you want to have a beach experience, chose another resort. Be careful walking around the pools if wet since it tends to be very slippery. Best pool is by far La Tortuga since is not overcrowded. The water park for kids is nice, but in a very unhealthy fashion, the only food they serve there is burgers, hot dogs and fries. Also, the water in the pools can be freezing cold one day, but acceptable the next. They have tiny alleys and staff drive golf carts and pick-up trucks on them. Be ready to move out of the way 2-3 times every trip. The little strip area around the restaurants is nice for walking, and was nicely decorated for the Holidays. Staff was hit or miss as well. Some were very nice, some were rude and not accommodating. Overall, very poor experience, I would not go back ever and I would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tx
Jul 10, 2011

Select package option is a Joke

I paid a Royal Penthouse suite and the select package. They promised premium drinks and they sent me by email a list of 12 years scotches. When I arrived they NEVER had premium scotches in the select bars… NEVER… had they always said that they just served the last drink and they will bring a new bottle in 5 minutes. The bottle never arrived in the 8 days I stayed in the Resort. I arrived on Saturday and when I tried to make reservations for dinner in the restaurants they told me that everything was full and there were not openings until the next Sunday!!!! One week!!! I had to complain and they allow me to have a dinner in only one. I had one of the most expensive packages and never received a select treatment. I have visited Cancun every summer for the last five years and I was NEVER mistreated or felt disappointed with any of the Resorts I have visited. In fact this is the first time I write a review to help other people to be aware of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family of Houston
Houston
Aug 20, 2011

Bad Hotel

I made a reservation for two room (paid) and before my trip I wanted to make a cancellation of one room and they did not want to give me the refund. But that was not the main problem I still want to use their services , so we went to their hotel and they try to sell a membership for about 4 hours , after that I just wanted to go to my room, so when Ii see the room it wasn't clean and it smell terrible ..... I really do not like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GRsun
GR
Apr 10, 2011

avoid this place!

We just returned from our six-day- vacation in Sandos Caracol, Mexico, and we will never go back there again! This is our third time vacationing in Riviera Maya area, and Sandos Caracol is certainly one of the worst resorts that we've stayed at. I am wondering if the people, who wrote the positive reviews about this place have ever been anywhere else in this area before visiting this resort, and if this is the main reason why they are speaking highly about this spot. Simply said, if you vacationed anywhere else in Riviera Maya, and you loved those resorts, visiting Sandos Caracol will be just a disappointment to you. We had nothing but trouble throughout our stay. When we were making our reservation, we requested the room with two double beds for 2 adults and 2 children, but were placed in one king bedroom with the pull out sofa without any notification from the front desk rep. The room was moldy and the humidity made the smell horrifying; due to the allergies that the kids have, we requested to be moved, so they finally, did it at night. As a compliment, they upgraded our status from regular guests with the green wrist bands to golden/silver select club guests for which, initially, we were suppose to go through the traditional presentation in the morning in order to buy it at the discounted price. It was funny because when we first checked in, we didn't have a minute of break after a long trip because the time share rep snatched us to bother us in talking into attending this session in the morning in order to talk us into different kind of deals that they offer. He was overly nice, however, after he found out that we were granted the new wrist bands anyway, the next day, he pretended like he never met us. The front desk customer service was awful. They were understaffed, so we often had to wait for a long time in order to be served. In addition, many other guests would cut the line in front of us, and the hotel representatives would assist them instead, not saying a word even though, it was more than obvious to them that we have been waiting politely for our turn. During the first five days, we had to walk a long distance from our room back to the front desk for our room keys to be switched because they wouldn't work – very inconvenient, luckily, we had no emergencies. As a result, we switched five keys in five days. Their explanation was that these keys were worn out due to previous usage. Also, at each appearance, we were constantly questioned about when we are going to check out, or haven't we check out yet, or aren't we checking out, etc. Interesting! On our first night, someone easily unlocked our room at 3:30 AM. Luckily, we used the door chain guard, so whoever was trying to get in, was stopped at the spot. We called the reception informing them about this incident and followed up with them in the morning, however, they did nothing about it. As far at the ala carte restaurants and their staff, the Brazilian is the only place where we felt respected and valued as guests. We also enjoyed the time at the Select Club beach house – kudos to those individuals! The waiters in other places were so rude, even though we always tipped them generously; we also witnessed that they were playing favors to different tables since the same services were not equally provided, and even, the same dishes were not served in the same way to everyone. We are the world travelers. We have seen a lot, and we do not mind spending a little bit more to feel good on our vacations. The Sandos Caracol staff was highly unprofessional during our stay, and this is why we will never go back to this place again, or recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, tx
Aug 11, 2011

A/C Please!!!!!!!!

Our trip was overall great considering we went to xcaret and spent our time in the sun.. the room was a disaster- everything is far and spread out- even though this is an ocean front hotel the hotel area is so large that you still have to walk a good 10- 15 minutes to go to the beach or to any of the restaurants.. we went with another family and their room had the same issues- so we know ours was not a one off situation-- my biggest complaint was regarding the air conditioning-- this is an 'ECO' resort- which we didnt quite pay attention to until we were there... the room temperature was not lower than 82 degrees at any given time-- the mini fridge was controlled to only cool your drinks to room temperature--- and the moldy smell in both rooms was unbearable-- i will never go back-- this hotel is very secluded and far from the markets etc- so if you are planning on going anywhere else dont book this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

mexicans know mexican food-- stay away from the chinese- they dont do it very well

Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blondeemeff
Frederick, Ok
Nov 1, 2011

Just ok

We went with a group of friends for a 3 day vaca. There was not much to do in the evening for adults to do. Stay in the sports bar and play pool or ping pong. Only 2 of the buffets were open and they were ok. We were only allowed to go to 1 nice restaurant while we were there. We still had fun but, would not reccomend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just walk on by
New Brunswick, Canada
Jan 10, 2012

Happy New Year 2012!

Upon check-in the hotel only had 3 of us registered when 4 were positively registered from our travel agent online service. No orientation session upon arrival. No teen club existed as per the website! This was our first visit and experience with Mexico and all-inclusive resort. The rooms were clean. The jaquazzi took up alot of the room as the sobabed had to be left open to accommodate the youth with us. The clock radio never worked at all! Bathroom sink water tasted funny when brushing our teeth; used bottled water after that. The resort was small. The snack bar remained open 24/7 with limited menu. Only 2 buffets open for meals instead of 3, most days. The spa services were expensive and only available to 18+ year old adults. Bicycles for our use were in good repair and the trail was a short dead end. Had animals on the resort: donkeys, cats, parrots, peacocks, raccoons, etc. The beach was kept fairly clean of trash. The sea water was a beautiful color but had much seaweed debris in it. Maintenance of the roofing was being done. Safety was not up to Canadian standards but it works for them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue Playa Del Carmen. Check it out! Protect yourself and bargain wisely!

Review of Sandos Caracol Select Club Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Working Hard
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Not Worth Your Vacation Stay

For the investment of a vacation it is not the resort to stay at. The food was not good, the rooms were terrible. I would suggest not staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search