$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Reina Roja - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Calle 20 entre Av. 5 y 10, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
21 reviews
Nice Hotel

It was a good experience. The room was nice, clean, the staff was very friendly. It's located in... See full review

  • Chicago guy
  • Dec 30, 2014
good experience

excelent location, good stuff, but the cooler didnt work, so we have to move an other room See full review

  • jose ivan g robles
  • Jul 10, 2014
Reina Roja Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Playa del Carmen and few steps away from the beach. With a unique and different style Reina Roja Hotel offers exclusive luxury rooms, restaurant, bar, boutique, indoor pool and roof garden with swimming pool.

Highlights:

  • Free Parking

  • Free breakfast a la carte

  • Free Wi-Fi

  • Freed tickets for beach clubs

  • Roof Bar Sky Garden

  • Reina Roja is located next to the 5th Avenue.

  • Minimum age required 18 years old.


  • Rooms:

    The hotel has 63 comfortable rooms with balcony, some of our rooms are either looking inside or outside the hotel.

    In room Amenities:

  • Air conditioner

  • LCD screen

  • Ceiling fan

  • Minibar

  • Alarm clock with iPod docking station

  • Hair dryer

  • Organic artisan amenities

  • Safety box

    Top hotels

    Reina Roja - Adults Only Rooms

    Thematic Room
    This exclusive This 484 Sq.Ft room features 5 original themes:

  • Green Space

  • Green Space

  • La Playa

  • Origins

  • Erotic Suite


  • *Themes are subject to availability and will be assigned upon check-in.
    *Max occupancy:2
    Deluxe Double
    This 431Sq.Ft comfortable room has two queen size beds and features an interior view.
    Perfect for friends.
    Max occupancy: 4
    Deluxe King
    This 431Sq.Ft comfortable room has a king size bed and features an interior view.
    Perfect for couples.
    Max occupancy: 4
    Junior Suite
    This 484Sq.Ft comfortable room has a king size bed with Terrace Street View.
    Perfect for couples.
    Max occupancy: 2

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Indoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Indoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Night club
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi

    Dining

    Restaurant
    Reina Roja Restaurant offers in the morning a breakfast buffet, which is included in the room price. During the evening the atmosphere turns festive in the restaurant and lobby lounge. You can enjoy an extensive international menu with dishes from all over the world like Thailand, Italy, Argentina and of course Mexico. During the day it offers a deli snack service to you in where you can enjoy delicious sandwiches, salads and cakes.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    21 out of 21
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Comfort:
    3.8
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    3.9

    86% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    VD81
    Bucharest, Romania
    Feb 27, 2013

    Good Value

    The hotel is in the middle of the action, close to nice restaurants, bars and clubs. It has an unusual design but a nice vibe. It has a free underground parking, free WI-FI and offers vouchers to four different beach clubs. The included a-la-carte breakfast was tasty. The staff was nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    La Bodeguita del Medio for the ceviche, cocktails and the atmosphere.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    VD81
    Business
    Bucharest, Romania
    Feb 27, 2013

    Good Value

    The hotel is in the middle of the action, close to nice restaurants, bars and clubs. It has an unusual design but a nice vibe. It has a free underground parking, free WI-FI and offers vouchers to four different beach clubs. The included a-la-carte breakfast was tasty. The staff was nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    La Bodeguita del Medio for the ceviche, cocktails and the atmosphere.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Hawkmo
    Business
    Defuniak Springs,Florida
    Apr 22, 2013

    Simply Amazing!

    The hotel room was Huge!! We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was huge and the best part about it was the shower/bathroom! The hotel was located right off 5th ave which doesn't get any better as that's where all the food and shopping is! Would definitely stay here again! Thanks

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Eat at the food carts and it will save you so much money! The food is authentic and best you will eat I promise!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    new travel enthusiast
    Business
    New York City metro area
    Jan 24, 2014

    Sexy hotel

    The hotel is in a prime location - just around the corner from 5ta avenida which makes walking to restaurants, beaches, shopping etc. a breeze. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The decor is funky, unique, and very red. It's certainly a sexy place catered to an adult crowd. On the downside, during party nights, the noise level can make it hard to sleep. And the pool area, while quite cool, isn't really suitable for "swimming".

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    drmarkflies
    Business
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Mar 17, 2014

    Funky and cool

    The RR reminds me of the unusual and funky Kimpton hotels. It is decked out like a Clockwork Orange night club, without any noise or evil characters. The garden rooftop is a trip and a fantastic place to catch some sun or shade. Staff were attentive and their English is perfect. For our eclectic tastes it sure beats the resorts, and is a good value. A short walk to the beach and the Playa promenade. Free underground parking. I'm going back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Buzzb
    Business
    London, England
    Jan 27, 2012

    Good for trendy singles and young, hip couples

    The reception staff (Edgar and David) were just great. Very helpful and welcoming. It was good to be greeted by them everyday. The room was good except it was an internal one with a faux external window. If I stay again, I will ask for one with a balcony. Cable TV offered a fair choice of channels, the shower was hot, but only tepid water from the taps in the hand basin. The complimentary goodies in the bathroom were fantastic! The bed was huge and could have slept three people comfortably. The room was air conditioned too. Breakfast was included in the price so I could have eggs of my choice every day plus a couple of cups of tea. My request for tea was met with a little bewilderment and perhaps this is something staff could accustom themselves to - black tea with milk. But this is quibbling as they were very accommodating. The only downside to my stay was the on the roof party that went on until 4am on the Sunday night. As a guest I had free entry with a wrist band that said "open bar", this, in my home country, would be interpreted as free drinks and this was not the case. The noise from the party was rather intrusive too when I got back to my room. Having said this, I was not bothered by noise at any other time. The other thing where they could improve is to provide a fresh bottle of drinking water every day - this was done in other hotels with a lower stay rating in which I stayed. This hotel punches above its weight and would certainly appeal to an unbeat, trendy crowd. It is very close to the beach and if you like privacy, you can sunbathe on the roof. It is also just off 5th avenue, so you are close to all the restaurants and bars you will need. I would certainly stay again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Vagabund restaurant is very close and I ate there almost every night. They had a special on cocktails and the food was good, filling and reasonably priced. Waiting staff cheery and attentive. Note: they will put a 15% service charge on the bill.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    analorenaamaya
    Business
    Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
    Feb 9, 2012

    Fantastic for young people

    At first it was a little bit hard to digest, because of the concept of the hotel. but it is really awesome once you get used to it :) There is always good music playing in the lobby.. and birds singing at the halls... I liked it :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    "La cueva del chango" Excellent food, the people its awesome, and the ambiance too

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    shortdog
    Business
    missouri
    Aug 5, 2012

    fun adult hotel

    Couldnt beat this place for a sexy getaway to playa. Staff were profesional and room was kept immaculate. Beatiful rooms with all marble rain showers. Clean spacious. If you get a room above the first floor bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping before 0300. The rooftop parties do thump a bit. First floor rooms are plenty insulated from it though. Delicious breakfast included? ?? Amazing value. Walk to beach in 10 minutes easy. They even gave us beach club passes that got us a bed and umbrella in paradise! Go there already you wont regret it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Check out chez celine for exquisite french dining, and mosquito beach club for sexy beach withoutthe loud techno dance track that other beach spots subject you to.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Richardmex
    Business
    Ciudad de México, DF, México
    Sep 3, 2012

    great pool area

    We really enjoyed the pool area with both the bar and pool opening till late. Location is good! rooms are very clean and confortable. gret value for money totally recommend it

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Fujito retro
    Business
    San diego California
    Jan 14, 2013

    BPM 2013 vacation

    Great place, great location for the right price. the idea of this trip was to party 24/7 and have a great experience this hotel suits great for that purpose.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Good Times 987
    Business
    Chicago
    Feb 8, 2013

    Perfect Location

    The Reina Roja is only half a block from the vibrant street of 5th Ave. We wanted a hotel close to the strip without having to take a cab to and from our hotel and that is exactly what we got. This hotel is NOT on the beach but it is affiliated with a few hotels that are so you can go to the affiliated hotels and get a beach chair and towel for free. The beach hotels are all walking distance. The staff was very nice and mostly all spoke English. I asked for an iron and one was delivered within 5 minutes! There is music playing every night in the lobby (that we enjoyed) but if you go to bed early this will interrupt you sleep since the music can be heard slightly in all rooms. We were in room 308 and heard the music but it did not bother us since we were out all night every night and did not return to hotel till way past 2am. The beers are about $2.50-3.00 a piece depending on brand. I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd that plans on being up late every night as we were.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    All within walking distance

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top