$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Reina Roja - Adults Only

3 stars
Calle 20 entre Av. 5 y 10, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
18 reviews
good experience

excelent location, good stuff, but the cooler didnt work, so we have to move an other room See full review

  • jose ivan g robles
  • Jul 10, 2014
Funky and cool

The RR reminds me of the unusual and funky Kimpton hotels. It is decked out like a Clockwork Orange... See full review

  • drmarkflies
  • Mar 17, 2014
Reina Roja Hotel is a new boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen With a unique and different style Reina Roja Hotel offers 63 luxury rooms, a restaurant, bar, library, boutique and roof garden with swimming pool.

The hotel offers different theme rooms and is completely created in an emergent architecture style.

Reina Roja Lobby bar offers a party atmosphere every night of the week. The bar is open till 3 AM. You can enjoy an extensive menu of national and international drinks and cocktails.

On the hotels roof terrace you can enjoy the sun during the day while you enjoy drinks and food from deli. Hotel also offers Dry cleaning, Solarium, Library, Lobby, Reception. Minimum age requirement 18 years old. Note: Minimum age to check in 16 years old.

Reina Roja - Adults Only Rooms

Tematic Room
This room is completely covered with synthetic grass, making an ironic game of living in a "Green space" but made of synthetic materials ... a parody of many things in our daily lives. This room have , air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, LCD screen with cable programming, mini bar, balcony, desk, alarm clock with iPod docking station, black out curtains, private bathroom, hairdryer hair, organic artisan amenities, safety box, vanity mirror and a "leisure zone" with tables, chairs and comfortable "loungers" as well as our signature in room bar
Deluxe Double
rooms have two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, LCD screen with programmable domestic and international cable, in room bar, balcony, desk, alarm clock with iPod docking station, black out curtains, private bathroom , hair dryer, organic artisan amenities, safe and vanity mirror.
Deluxe King
rooms have a king size bed, air conditioning, ceiling fan, LCD screen with programmable domestic and international cable, in room bar, balcony, desk, alarm clock with iPod docking station, black out curtains, private bathroom , hair dryer, organic artisan amenities, safe and vanity mirror.
Junior Suites
have a king size bed, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, LCD screen with cable programming, mini bar, balcony, desk, alarm clock with iPod docking station, black out curtains, private bathroom, hairdryer hair, organic artisan amenities, safety box, vanity mirror and a "leisure zone" with tables, chairs and comfortable "loungers" as well as our signature in room bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
Reina Roja Restaurant offers in the morning a breakfast buffet, which is included in the room price. During the evening the atmosphere turns festive in the restaurant and lobby lounge. You can enjoy an extensive international menu with dishes from all over the world like Thailand, Italy, Argentina and of course Mexico. During the day it offers a deli snack service to you in where you can enjoy delicious sandwiches, salads and cakes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Reina Roja - Adults Only

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VD81
Business
Bucharest, Romania
Feb 27, 2013

Good Value

The hotel is in the middle of the action, close to nice restaurants, bars and clubs. It has an unusual design but a nice vibe. It has a free underground parking, free WI-FI and offers vouchers to four different beach clubs. The included a-la-carte breakfast was tasty. The staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Bodeguita del Medio for the ceviche, cocktails and the atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawkmo
Business
Defuniak Springs,Florida
Apr 22, 2013

Simply Amazing!

The hotel room was Huge!! We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was huge and the best part about it was the shower/bathroom! The hotel was located right off 5th ave which doesn't get any better as that's where all the food and shopping is! Would definitely stay here again! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the food carts and it will save you so much money! The food is authentic and best you will eat I promise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzb
Business
London, England
Jan 27, 2012

Good for trendy singles and young, hip couples

The reception staff (Edgar and David) were just great. Very helpful and welcoming. It was good to be greeted by them everyday. The room was good except it was an internal one with a faux external window. If I stay again, I will ask for one with a balcony. Cable TV offered a fair choice of channels, the shower was hot, but only tepid water from the taps in the hand basin. The complimentary goodies in the bathroom were fantastic! The bed was huge and could have slept three people comfortably. The room was air conditioned too. Breakfast was included in the price so I could have eggs of my choice every day plus a couple of cups of tea. My request for tea was met with a little bewilderment and perhaps this is something staff could accustom themselves to - black tea with milk. But this is quibbling as they were very accommodating. The only downside to my stay was the on the roof party that went on until 4am on the Sunday night. As a guest I had free entry with a wrist band that said "open bar", this, in my home country, would be interpreted as free drinks and this was not the case. The noise from the party was rather intrusive too when I got back to my room. Having said this, I was not bothered by noise at any other time. The other thing where they could improve is to provide a fresh bottle of drinking water every day - this was done in other hotels with a lower stay rating in which I stayed. This hotel punches above its weight and would certainly appeal to an unbeat, trendy crowd. It is very close to the beach and if you like privacy, you can sunbathe on the roof. It is also just off 5th avenue, so you are close to all the restaurants and bars you will need. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Vagabund restaurant is very close and I ate there almost every night. They had a special on cocktails and the food was good, filling and reasonably priced. Waiting staff cheery and attentive. Note: they will put a 15% service charge on the bill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
analorenaamaya
Business
Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Feb 9, 2012

Fantastic for young people

At first it was a little bit hard to digest, because of the concept of the hotel. but it is really awesome once you get used to it :) There is always good music playing in the lobby.. and birds singing at the halls... I liked it :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

"La cueva del chango" Excellent food, the people its awesome, and the ambiance too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shortdog
Business
missouri
Aug 5, 2012

fun adult hotel

Couldnt beat this place for a sexy getaway to playa. Staff were profesional and room was kept immaculate. Beatiful rooms with all marble rain showers. Clean spacious. If you get a room above the first floor bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping before 0300. The rooftop parties do thump a bit. First floor rooms are plenty insulated from it though. Delicious breakfast included? ?? Amazing value. Walk to beach in 10 minutes easy. They even gave us beach club passes that got us a bed and umbrella in paradise! Go there already you wont regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out chez celine for exquisite french dining, and mosquito beach club for sexy beach withoutthe loud techno dance track that other beach spots subject you to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richardmex
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 3, 2012

great pool area

We really enjoyed the pool area with both the bar and pool opening till late. Location is good! rooms are very clean and confortable. gret value for money totally recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fujito retro
Business
San diego California
Jan 14, 2013

BPM 2013 vacation

Great place, great location for the right price. the idea of this trip was to party 24/7 and have a great experience this hotel suits great for that purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Times 987
Business
Chicago
Feb 8, 2013

Perfect Location

The Reina Roja is only half a block from the vibrant street of 5th Ave. We wanted a hotel close to the strip without having to take a cab to and from our hotel and that is exactly what we got. This hotel is NOT on the beach but it is affiliated with a few hotels that are so you can go to the affiliated hotels and get a beach chair and towel for free. The beach hotels are all walking distance. The staff was very nice and mostly all spoke English. I asked for an iron and one was delivered within 5 minutes! There is music playing every night in the lobby (that we enjoyed) but if you go to bed early this will interrupt you sleep since the music can be heard slightly in all rooms. We were in room 308 and heard the music but it did not bother us since we were out all night every night and did not return to hotel till way past 2am. The beers are about $2.50-3.00 a piece depending on brand. I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd that plans on being up late every night as we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Sep 25, 2013

Good

When i picked this hotel the reservation said free buffet breakfast that was a lie there's no buffet.. The service and the room cleanliness is good...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jesus
Business
LA, CA
Nov 25, 2013

Great hotel

Positive experience. Attentive staff, great location and modern design. Constant low level background music but not a bother as others have indicated. Appears to be a party hotel but was very quiet the week I was there. Great place for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top