$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Reina Roja - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Calle 20 entre Av. 5 y 10, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Reina Roja - Adults Only

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Times 987
Friends
Chicago
Feb 8, 2013

Perfect Location

The Reina Roja is only half a block from the vibrant street of 5th Ave. We wanted a hotel close to the strip without having to take a cab to and from our hotel and that is exactly what we got. This hotel is NOT on the beach but it is affiliated with a few hotels that are so you can go to the affiliated hotels and get a beach chair and towel for free. The beach hotels are all walking distance. The staff was very nice and mostly all spoke English. I asked for an iron and one was delivered within 5 minutes! There is music playing every night in the lobby (that we enjoyed) but if you go to bed early this will interrupt you sleep since the music can be heard slightly in all rooms. We were in room 308 and heard the music but it did not bother us since we were out all night every night and did not return to hotel till way past 2am. The beers are about $2.50-3.00 a piece depending on brand. I would recommend this hotel to a younger crowd that plans on being up late every night as we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All within walking distance

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fujito retro
Friends
San diego California
Jan 14, 2013

BPM 2013 vacation

Great place, great location for the right price. the idea of this trip was to party 24/7 and have a great experience this hotel suits great for that purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
feliz mom
Couples
bakersfield,ca
Jan 9, 2013

noisy,noisy ,noisy

This hotel use more electricity than the city with its gawdy lights,definitely not ecological! They are incredibly loud both with bar and roof top parties. I feel sorry for people living and working near this place. its a shame they do not have regard for the other places of buisiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richardmex
Friends
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 3, 2012

great pool area

We really enjoyed the pool area with both the bar and pool opening till late. Location is good! rooms are very clean and confortable. gret value for money totally recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shortdog
Couples
missouri
Aug 5, 2012

fun adult hotel

Couldnt beat this place for a sexy getaway to playa. Staff were profesional and room was kept immaculate. Beatiful rooms with all marble rain showers. Clean spacious. If you get a room above the first floor bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping before 0300. The rooftop parties do thump a bit. First floor rooms are plenty insulated from it though. Delicious breakfast included? ?? Amazing value. Walk to beach in 10 minutes easy. They even gave us beach club passes that got us a bed and umbrella in paradise! Go there already you wont regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out chez celine for exquisite french dining, and mosquito beach club for sexy beach withoutthe loud techno dance track that other beach spots subject you to.

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
analorenaamaya
Friends
Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Feb 9, 2012

Fantastic for young people

At first it was a little bit hard to digest, because of the concept of the hotel. but it is really awesome once you get used to it :) There is always good music playing in the lobby.. and birds singing at the halls... I liked it :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

"La cueva del chango" Excellent food, the people its awesome, and the ambiance too

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzb
Single
London, England
Jan 27, 2012

Good for trendy singles and young, hip couples

The reception staff (Edgar and David) were just great. Very helpful and welcoming. It was good to be greeted by them everyday. The room was good except it was an internal one with a faux external window. If I stay again, I will ask for one with a balcony. Cable TV offered a fair choice of channels, the shower was hot, but only tepid water from the taps in the hand basin. The complimentary goodies in the bathroom were fantastic! The bed was huge and could have slept three people comfortably. The room was air conditioned too. Breakfast was included in the price so I could have eggs of my choice every day plus a couple of cups of tea. My request for tea was met with a little bewilderment and perhaps this is something staff could accustom themselves to - black tea with milk. But this is quibbling as they were very accommodating. The only downside to my stay was the on the roof party that went on until 4am on the Sunday night. As a guest I had free entry with a wrist band that said "open bar", this, in my home country, would be interpreted as free drinks and this was not the case. The noise from the party was rather intrusive too when I got back to my room. Having said this, I was not bothered by noise at any other time. The other thing where they could improve is to provide a fresh bottle of drinking water every day - this was done in other hotels with a lower stay rating in which I stayed. This hotel punches above its weight and would certainly appeal to an unbeat, trendy crowd. It is very close to the beach and if you like privacy, you can sunbathe on the roof. It is also just off 5th avenue, so you are close to all the restaurants and bars you will need. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Vagabund restaurant is very close and I ate there almost every night. They had a special on cocktails and the food was good, filling and reasonably priced. Waiting staff cheery and attentive. Note: they will put a 15% service charge on the bill.

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
N.M.
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Oct 5, 2011

MY ROOM FLOODED!! LEAKED OVER MY CAMERA! HOTEL DIDN'T TAKE RESPOSABILITY!

The entire hotel leaks!. A heavy rain storm fell the day day of our stay and our and a few more rooms started leaking heavily, as for the lobby and corridors. The entire hotel was flooded. We had all out belonging soaked in wet, incluiding leather wallet and electronics. Our camera STOPPED working, the "manager" took it for repair but DIDN'T get it to work, so we just had to leave to get back to the US and he hasn't even bother in contacting us to apologize, neither to send us a replacement,. HOTEL: poorly constructed, leaks STAFF: useless, inept

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aenyc
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Great Exotic Hotel

The delux rooms at the RR are very spacious and the bathrooms with the walk in showers are fantastic. The breakfast was wonderful, the staff helpful, and the decor very unusual (in a good way). If you want boring, try a Hilton! The hotel is centrally located and close to the beach, but a 20min walk to the ferry or bus if you are trying to save money and walk. I would definitely go back. Only negative for me was the manequins on the balconies...took up space and was a bit of overkill. Otherwise great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely go to Tulum if you are visiting PDC. Take the bus for $5 US each way.

Review of Reina Roja - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
antocarlo
Couples
new jersey
Aug 9, 2011

The Good

Was Great!!! Good location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top