$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 39
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeChan
Business
OKC, OK
Jan 6, 2014

Great time w/ my 10yr old daughter

Fun time. Newly remodeled hotel. I would prefer Mexican theme, seemed like they were going for the modern Miami feel which they didn't really pull off. Staff was very good. Rooms were ok, clean and comfortable but not very fancy. You get wifi for 90min per day then you pay $10 hr. ( so if you check email or text at 5:00pm you cant check again for 24hrs. The monkeys on property were really cool. Over all a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dayve
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 7, 2013

Honest review from well traveled indidivual

We honestly really enjoyed our stay at the RIU Yucatan. We have stayed at many RIU's as well as many other all inclusive resorts. For location, beach, proximity to Playa Del Carmen, and Staff friendliness, I would honestly say it was great. The resort layout was good although I prefer a resort that allows a room to have a view of the ocean. The food is okay (3 on a 1 to 5 scale#, I would recommend the Steak House and Mexican, but forgo the Japanese restaurant. The drinks were pretty decent with at least one upper shelf booze selection per beverage type #Gin, Vodka, etc), although there is only one beer selection and if you don't like Dos Equis you will be thirsty. The biggest issue with the resort is it's old, outdated, and although kept up; there are maintenance issues that can only be fixed by a complete remodel. Luckily that has been scheduled to take place in the next few months from what I have heard. The rooms don't have coffee makers, the suites are not worth the extra money, and the drapes and bed throws smell badly as well as being styled in the mid-80's. We were there with kids and during Spring break so it was a good family selection, but i can't comment how it would be during normal travel times. I can say that it did not have a bunch of College Spring Breakers so the scene was "PG", hence; no need to worry about that with younger kids. If you;re looking for mid-range services and ammenities at mid-range price overall I would suggest it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The further you get from the Hotel the cheaper everything becomes. Whether that it tylenol or trinkets from the shops. The stores in the hotel are by far the most expensive, where the back streets of Playa offer cheap priceson everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CVVV
Business
Bethesda, MD
Jan 7, 2013

Downgraded

We went to the Riu Yucatan between 12/24/12 and 01/01/13. We had well in advance made a reservation for a suite, since as a family of 4 we wanted space, tranquility, and a bathroom with a bathtub instead of a simple shower. However, once checking in, we were told that "due to a mistake in the reservation system", the hotel had decided not to maintain our reservation for a suite and could only provide us with a simple standard room for the first nights. Needless to say, we were very frustrated about that but nothing could be done at the time. The front desk assured us that they would "take good care of us" and that we would obviously receive some compensation. That did not happen. As of today, we are yet to receive a reimbursement for the suite we had paid in full and did not get, as well as stating that it is bad policy for Riu to do some overbooking and not compensate its clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJ Sunshine
Business
Idaho
Apr 24, 2010

Father and son trip

Good excursion base. Hotel noisy at night. Should have patrols at night. I would not return as no hand sanitizers at buffet. [...] Giovanni Fererra out of Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 31, 2009

Eat somewhere else

beautiful beachfront hotel. Nice pool. Wish the food was better, it reminded me of a Golden Corral. somethings were good, some bad, even the 3 specialty restaurants. The Japanese food was the best, we ate there the most. The steak house was okay, but I'd almost rather eat sand than the mexican restaurant again(and I do like mexican food.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go Scuba diving with the dive center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Aug 19, 2009

RIU Yucatan is wonderful!

From check in to check out we couldn't have been more pleased. After staying at the Riu Palace RM last year we were afraid that the level of service would be lower at the Yucatan. It was not at all. The atmosphere was more relaxed. The grounds were more tropical. The staff was even more accomodating than last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Riu Class ard and get discounts on diving. The prices and people at ScubaCaribe can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jun 22, 2009

what a great time!

the only complaint i have is that the hotel claims to have food 24hrs but you have to walk over to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 31, 2008

Amazing Hotel

This hotel is beautiful and spacious. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. All of the employees greeted you whenever they passed. Our rooms were cleaned promptly every morning and the refrigerator was restocked with bottled water, pops and beer every other day. Our only complaint with the room was the extremely firm mattress (not like the pillow-top we have at home). They only gave us 1 room key and the safe was a little awkward. The restaurants were fantastic !! Whether we ate at the buffet or the specialty restaurants, the food and service was incredible. They have something for everybody and every culture. It was no problem getting reservations for the specialty restaurants, you just had to make them early each day at breakfast. There are plenty of lounge chairs around 2 swimming pools and there are 3 bars available for drinks of all kinds, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. Plenty of activities from bingo to volleyball and crazy beach games. We tried almost every water sport available and had no problem getting the equipment. The beach has been restored from what it was a year ago. There is probably 30 to 40 more feet before you get to the water. There are lots of sand whales, but they're only to prevent erosion. We never had trouble finding a chair on the beach. The sand is so fine and never gets hot. You can find plenty of sea shells. There is a cute little shopping plaza about 1/2 mile up the road. Its a nice easy walk after dinner. There's even a Starbucks !! Playa Del Carmen is a short taxi ride away for a few pesos and you can shop to your heart's content. No problem spending dollars or pesos. Our most memorable experience however, will be a close encounter with a Howler Monkey !! One in particular came right on the railing of our balcony and grunted at us through the screen. He only came because our boys were grunting to him in the trees and he came down for a closer look. The monkey was not threatening, just curious, and cute !! All in all this was a fabulous vacation and I have already recommended this hotel to several of our friends. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top