$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
This beachfront resort is located in the Playacar resort complex adjacent to a championship golf course and just a 10-minute walk from Playa del Carmen's main streets.

507 deluxe, colorfully decorated guest rooms in a Mexican hacienda building style offer a variety of amenities including a mini-bar and liquor dispenser. Riu Yucatan offers tantalizing and varied buffets and on the spot cooking stations. Delightful theme nights will satisfy your taste for Mexican and International cuisine, along with the extensive entertainment options available all over the Riu Resort complex.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or "Spring Breakers" are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 39
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethie21
Business
Ball Ground, GA 30107, USA
Aug 28, 2014

Wonderful summer vacation

We had a wonderful time at the RIU Yucatan. Only complaint was the rock hard bed. Found out on the last night they had mattress pads to make more comfortable. Pool was great, beach was great. Best selection of food at an all inclusive we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 10
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2014

July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable for my wife. The last night we were there we decided to complain and found they had a 2 inch pad they were able to put on the bed which helped a lot. Don't suffer in silence if the bed is too hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners222
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 5, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu Yucatan. We did walk there one day to check it out and I can honestly say that the palace is a much better property in every way. The beach, the property, and the staff were incredible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a laid back vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The individual restaurants on the property were decent but the nightly buffet was incredible, many seafood options each evening and incredible service. Chacha and Esteban were excellent hosts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reavisel
Business
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Feb 18, 2013

Friendly beach side all inclusive

Great scenery, beautiful beach, friendly staff. Food was ok, nightly entertainment was ok. All inclusive, so you don't have to worry about extra cash anywhere in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book excursions through one of the stand alone kiosks in the nearby shopping center. Their prices are much cheaper than online or the sales reps that set up shop in the resort's reception area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJFI
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Room

Issues with electricity/air conditioner, overall rated 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dirk and Eugenie
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

A Good Vacation

Riu Yucatan provides a good value to the vacationer. Location is excellent, so close to Playa Del Carmen but removed from the yahoos in town. Having said that, we did encounter loud/drunk individuals at the resort (singing and yelling at 3, 4 and 5am!) and the staff appeared indifferent to the noise. The food was o.k. with the Mexican restaurant being the best. Mixed crowd from Mexico/Europe provided great people watching opportunities. Beach is wonderful. Be careful at the buffet . . . food-crazed humans appeared to forget manners as they stampeded through the food lines running into others without regard or recognition. With these few criticisms aside, we had a wonderful week at the resort. Definitely a great value for your money! Next year, however, we will look for a more quiet and remote resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Prices for things at/near the resort were much too expensive compared with stores in Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the United States. As a true 2 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 3 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling. We enjoyed watching the monkeys on the trees around the hotel. Hotel layout is unattractive and somewhat similar to old Soviet style apartment blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Wonderful vacation!

The location was amazing, the staff was great. Had such a wonderful holiday! The food was not good and the beds were really uncomfortable but those things didn't really matter because everything else was so good. I would definitely recommend this resort and I would absolutely go back! Felt very safe and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 24, 2011

Great time.

My wife and I have been going to Playa del Carmen every year now for about 10 years. We've stayed at a few different resorts but the last few times we've gone to Playa we always stay at the Riu Yucatan. It's in a perfect location and is always very clean. The biggest reason my wife and I always go back to the Riu Yucatan is because of the swim up bars. If you want to have a good time you need to stay at a place with swim up bars and the majority of hotels in Playacar do not have swim up bars. The food isn't bad; it's just the same stuff every day so make sure you sign up for the restaurants (there are three different restaurants), or go downtown for a couple of dinners. Staff is friendly and helpful. Try to get a room in buildings 4 or 5 which is a bit closer to the beach and swim up bars, but if na during the daytime then you want to stay in buildings 7 or 8 which are further away but quiet. It's a long walk to town from the Riu Yucatan but a cab ride is about $5-$7 depending on how many people you have in the cab. You can find cheaper deals at other all inclusives but you get what you pay for. For my wife and I, we love the swim up bars and will pay a little bit more to have more fun and you can never go wrong with the Riu Yucatan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a small little shopping area outside the Riu Yucatan (just a short walk). You can get some really good deals on gifts and other items at this little shopping area. Do price comparison with shops downtown and this place before you buy anything. There are some hidden little shops behind the main shops so be sure to check them out. My wife got some really good deals on some jewelry at one of the little hidden shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lcstevens
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

If you just want to relax on a perfect beach this is the place. The property is small so your room is close to the pool, dining, shows, and the beach. Everything you want without the fancy prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Lobster is fantastic. We have eaten there numerous times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top