$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
38 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 38
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 8, 2008

Nice Friendly Staff

The RUI was a very nice hotel. The staff was very nice and met your every need. I would recommend it to other travelers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little shopping area with something for everyone.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 15, 2007

Great Hotel and Staff

Every time you looked around, staff was cleaning and all were very friendly. The dining options were OK, Steak House and Japanese was very good, but the rest was just average--a lot of American type foods-thought there would be more authentic Mexican choices. Rooms were nice and clean--beds were rock hard to say the least, but still worth it. Other downfall was lack of food at night or in between normal meals-used to other all-inclusives where it was always available. Beach was very small due to storms, but still had enough chairs to accomodate. Pool and Pool Bars were great--excellent bar staff and a good spot for adults to have fun. ACtivities were so so, but atmosphere made up for it. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to both adults and families--plenty of stuff to do for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping plaza about 5 min walk from hotel and 5th street was $5 cab ride--worth going. My tip is that some of the regular stores/outlets were just as cheaqp if not cheaper than the whole barter process--they tended not budge as much since 5th street is located where the cruise ships dock--stick to the stores with prices.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoldenRetrieverLover
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Mar 2, 2010

Fun atmosphere!

Overall the staff was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, chatty. We were 4 ladies in our 30's vacationing for a long weekend and requested two rooms near each other, which they did. The check in staff was very friendly. The bartenders were fun, friendly and quick with making drinks. The beach is great! We walked the white sandy beach all the way into Playa del Carmen one afternoon along the beach line(probably a 1 mile walk) and the whole area was clean and water looked amazing. There are no sand dunes (or whatever they are called in the water) so the beach in fabulous. We all noticied our hotel had the most people laying out sunbathing compared to all other resorts which we liked. We wanted a fun, carefree trip with lots of laughs and mingling with others, and we got that. The only two complaints are the rooms smelled a little when we checked in. We slept with our patio door open each night and the smell wasn't bothersome then. And one entertainment staff was drinking quite a bit and wouldn't quit hitting on one of our friends which was a little annoying. I would suggest girls vacationing together to stick together and not let anyone get seperated. Overall, I would definitely stay at this resort again. Loved the location, lots of people, friendly and fun staff. Offered many day activities if you like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2010

Not exceptional but not bad

Nice beach, friendly staff, choice of trips, clean room, quick service, easy access to everything. Could use better menu, not all foods equally edible, some very good, some not so. Mosquitoes. Beware of mosquitoes! Wireless in the main reception area only, not in rooms. "10 minute walk to town" is more like 25 minutes, but safe area, makes a nice walk or a jog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls, MN
Apr 4, 2011

Great Service

food was wonderful - staff were wonderful - only thing I would change would be the inability to be flexable. Not willing to change rooms even with prior request to check in - will not tolorate any horseplay - if with teenagers may want to find another place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Disco was fun but small

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mombubble
Quad Cities Illinois
Jan 16, 2010

Had so much fun

The weather was terrible, cold and rainy, but we tried to make the best of it. The food was good. Staff very friendly. Grounds were kept up very well. I loved the wild monkeys!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 5th ave. to shop. It cost 5.00 for a cab. Everything is cheaper there.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico traveller
Ny, my
Apr 19, 2012

Good hotel, great location

Just got back, first time in riviera maya and playa del carmen. Hotel was in a great location in what almost seemed like a gated community and had security checkpoints at all exits out of the community. Food was decent for all inclusive though they could do a lot better w lunch and missing a real post lunch pre dinner snack bar. Staff was great and although didn't always have the answers always tried to help. Rooms were pretty decent but the safe was very old school (steel box a the sort of lock that comes w the key to open). Maids were great and any room request was fulfilled almost immediately. Nightly shows were a very pleasant surprise as the entertainers always dif a great job. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Def check out 5th ave as both a daytime market and a night time hot spot with clubs bars lines restaurants and shops

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dgarr90903
Dallas, Tx
Mar 5, 2009

More like a 2 star....at best

This hotel would lead you to believe that it is a 5 star resort. I would love to meet someone who stayed there and would say it was even a 3 star. The rooms/food/drinks were terrible. The "king" bed was two doubles pushed togethere that seemed like they were made of concrete. The furniture was dirty and the air conditioning was not in working order. The food was bland, and cold most of the time. The buffets were mad dashes to see who could get there first to get the hot food. If you don't like eating at 6:00pm then you will be eating cold food. The drinks that were allegedly stocked in the minibars in the rooms were hot, and that was if you were lucky enough to actually get it refilled. The ice machine didn't work either so you better enjoy hot drinks! The drinks on the beach had no alcohol in them, and were served in tiny plastic cups. Needless to say, we chose to leave 2 days early and go check into a decent hotel in Cancun. Save yourself the time and money and book your vacation elsewhere. On a side note. I booked this hotel based on the good reviews online (including this site). I can only say that something does not smell right about the "good" reviews on these sites regarding this hotel. I will leave it at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search