$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La
Apr 19, 2010

Great all inclusive couple getaway!

Staff is friendly and helpful. Resort is located next to an amazingly beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Scuba Diving for beginners...totally recomend it!! $99 per person includes instructions in the pool and a 45 min dive in the sea!

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess K
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

Awesome location, Great Price

Check-in was speedy, no wait. Bar staff and waitstaff very friendly. Nightly entertainment was awesome, entertainment director was great. Right on the beach and you can get beach chairs anytime of the day. Food was always hot and more than enough selection available. The way the hotel is laid out, you do not feel as though you are at a resort that has 507 rooms. The mini bar in room was great and when you check-in, they do tell you that it is restocked every other day, but you really are not in the room enough to drink more than what they supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Apr 25, 2009

Monkeys In Trees

relaxed by pool,loved the beach. They had no iced tea, and no roomservice. Been to Cancun 3 times, this was the only time we didn't have an ocean view room. King size bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, with box springs matress. Hated the bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take grayline van from airport. Took 2 hrs. to get to our hotel. We took taxi back to airport. Is there anyway I could be reimbursed for the van ride?

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lcstevens
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

If you just want to relax on a perfect beach this is the place. The property is small so your room is close to the pool, dining, shows, and the beach. Everything you want without the fancy prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Lobster is fantastic. We have eaten there numerous times.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 15, 2007

Great Hotel and Staff

Every time you looked around, staff was cleaning and all were very friendly. The dining options were OK, Steak House and Japanese was very good, but the rest was just average--a lot of American type foods-thought there would be more authentic Mexican choices. Rooms were nice and clean--beds were rock hard to say the least, but still worth it. Other downfall was lack of food at night or in between normal meals-used to other all-inclusives where it was always available. Beach was very small due to storms, but still had enough chairs to accomodate. Pool and Pool Bars were great--excellent bar staff and a good spot for adults to have fun. ACtivities were so so, but atmosphere made up for it. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to both adults and families--plenty of stuff to do for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping plaza about 5 min walk from hotel and 5th street was $5 cab ride--worth going. My tip is that some of the regular stores/outlets were just as cheaqp if not cheaper than the whole barter process--they tended not budge as much since 5th street is located where the cruise ships dock--stick to the stores with prices.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoldenRetrieverLover
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Mar 2, 2010

Fun atmosphere!

Overall the staff was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, chatty. We were 4 ladies in our 30's vacationing for a long weekend and requested two rooms near each other, which they did. The check in staff was very friendly. The bartenders were fun, friendly and quick with making drinks. The beach is great! We walked the white sandy beach all the way into Playa del Carmen one afternoon along the beach line(probably a 1 mile walk) and the whole area was clean and water looked amazing. There are no sand dunes (or whatever they are called in the water) so the beach in fabulous. We all noticied our hotel had the most people laying out sunbathing compared to all other resorts which we liked. We wanted a fun, carefree trip with lots of laughs and mingling with others, and we got that. The only two complaints are the rooms smelled a little when we checked in. We slept with our patio door open each night and the smell wasn't bothersome then. And one entertainment staff was drinking quite a bit and wouldn't quit hitting on one of our friends which was a little annoying. I would suggest girls vacationing together to stick together and not let anyone get seperated. Overall, I would definitely stay at this resort again. Loved the location, lots of people, friendly and fun staff. Offered many day activities if you like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Sister inlaw
Business
Rochester, MN
Mar 22, 2010

Romantic Get Away

We only stayed three nights and had to fly out early the last day so the vacation was cut short. Look for flights that fly in early and fly out as late as possible to maximize your stay. We also purchased the shuttle and had to wait to leave the airport till the van filled up while our friends got in a taxi right away. Then the taxi was 30 mins. late to pick us up at the hotel and our friends still paid less than us taking a taxi. I also had to ask three times for them to replenish the water and beer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get up early to make reservations for the resturants at the beginning of the breakfast buffet.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethie21
Business
Ball Ground, GA 30107, USA
Aug 28, 2014

Wonderful summer vacation

We had a wonderful time at the RIU Yucatan. Only complaint was the rock hard bed. Found out on the last night they had mattress pads to make more comfortable. Pool was great, beach was great. Best selection of food at an all inclusive we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clarelyn D.
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Really nice

Loved this hotel. Service was unbeatable, they were at your beck and call. The cute monkeys in the trees were a cheerful little surprise. The food was generally pretty good. The meat wasn't good though. The employees at the pool were so upbeat and nice. Everything was comfortable and clean. Beds a little hard but you got used to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sabs79
Business
Chicago
Apr 6, 2015

Great value for the Money

My stay at the Riu Yucatan was wonderful. The staff is very friendly. The activity coordinators have a lot of energy and really do their very best to make sure everyone has fun. The rooms were very spacious. The shower set up is a bit odd. The toilet is in a separate room, but the shower and sink are not enclosed, which wouldn't be a problem if the shower was not clear glass. Makes it a bit awkward to shower if you are staying in a room with friends. The food overall was good as were the drinks. I felt for what I paid I got a good value. I would definitely stay at Riu Yucatan again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top