$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 31, 2008

Amazing Hotel

This hotel is beautiful and spacious. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. All of the employees greeted you whenever they passed. Our rooms were cleaned promptly every morning and the refrigerator was restocked with bottled water, pops and beer every other day. Our only complaint with the room was the extremely firm mattress (not like the pillow-top we have at home). They only gave us 1 room key and the safe was a little awkward. The restaurants were fantastic !! Whether we ate at the buffet or the specialty restaurants, the food and service was incredible. They have something for everybody and every culture. It was no problem getting reservations for the specialty restaurants, you just had to make them early each day at breakfast. There are plenty of lounge chairs around 2 swimming pools and there are 3 bars available for drinks of all kinds, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. Plenty of activities from bingo to volleyball and crazy beach games. We tried almost every water sport available and had no problem getting the equipment. The beach has been restored from what it was a year ago. There is probably 30 to 40 more feet before you get to the water. There are lots of sand whales, but they're only to prevent erosion. We never had trouble finding a chair on the beach. The sand is so fine and never gets hot. You can find plenty of sea shells. There is a cute little shopping plaza about 1/2 mile up the road. Its a nice easy walk after dinner. There's even a Starbucks !! Playa Del Carmen is a short taxi ride away for a few pesos and you can shop to your heart's content. No problem spending dollars or pesos. Our most memorable experience however, will be a close encounter with a Howler Monkey !! One in particular came right on the railing of our balcony and grunted at us through the screen. He only came because our boys were grunting to him in the trees and he came down for a closer look. The monkey was not threatening, just curious, and cute !! All in all this was a fabulous vacation and I have already recommended this hotel to several of our friends. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Feb 7, 2008

Great resort

This was our third time at a RIU property and would recommend any time! Exceptionally clean, food was great (even buffet was good), and the staff was very friendly and hard-working. We were upgraded to the Palace Riviera Maya for the last night of our stay - we didnt ask, they just offered! The Palace was yet another notch up in service and quality (stick with the Yucatan if you like to get rowdy though)! Cant wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners222
Massachusetts
Mar 5, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu Yucatan. We did walk there one day to check it out and I can honestly say that the palace is a much better property in every way. The beach, the property, and the staff were incredible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a laid back vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The individual restaurants on the property were decent but the nightly buffet was incredible, many seafood options each evening and incredible service. Chacha and Esteban were excellent hosts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 24, 2011

Great time.

My wife and I have been going to Playa del Carmen every year now for about 10 years. We've stayed at a few different resorts but the last few times we've gone to Playa we always stay at the Riu Yucatan. It's in a perfect location and is always very clean. The biggest reason my wife and I always go back to the Riu Yucatan is because of the swim up bars. If you want to have a good time you need to stay at a place with swim up bars and the majority of hotels in Playacar do not have swim up bars. The food isn't bad; it's just the same stuff every day so make sure you sign up for the restaurants (there are three different restaurants), or go downtown for a couple of dinners. Staff is friendly and helpful. Try to get a room in buildings 4 or 5 which is a bit closer to the beach and swim up bars, but if na during the daytime then you want to stay in buildings 7 or 8 which are further away but quiet. It's a long walk to town from the Riu Yucatan but a cab ride is about $5-$7 depending on how many people you have in the cab. You can find cheaper deals at other all inclusives but you get what you pay for. For my wife and I, we love the swim up bars and will pay a little bit more to have more fun and you can never go wrong with the Riu Yucatan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a small little shopping area outside the Riu Yucatan (just a short walk). You can get some really good deals on gifts and other items at this little shopping area. Do price comparison with shops downtown and this place before you buy anything. There are some hidden little shops behind the main shops so be sure to check them out. My wife got some really good deals on some jewelry at one of the little hidden shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 10
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2014

July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable for my wife. The last night we were there we decided to complain and found they had a 2 inch pad they were able to put on the bed which helped a lot. Don't suffer in silence if the bed is too hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 18, 2008

Beautiful facility

We thought it was a very nice faciltiy. Comfortable rooms, great food, with huge choices. Nice pool area, the beach had suffered from considerable errosoion. We enjoyed the area of Playacar and would consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

reasonably close to Playa de Carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
FL
Aug 19, 2009

RIU Yucatan is wonderful!

From check in to check out we couldn't have been more pleased. After staying at the Riu Palace RM last year we were afraid that the level of service would be lower at the Yucatan. It was not at all. The atmosphere was more relaxed. The grounds were more tropical. The staff was even more accomodating than last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Riu Class ard and get discounts on diving. The prices and people at ScubaCaribe can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry & Sue
Sooner Country
Aug 15, 2009

RIU Yucatan - Terrific

We have visited this area 16 times at several different resorts. The Riu Yucatan is so magical, this was our 4th visit here and we expect to return in March. The service was excellent. Food and drinks were outstanding. We would reccomment this all-inclusive hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many water sports were included in the price. The snorkling was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 8, 2008

Nice Friendly Staff

The RUI was a very nice hotel. The staff was very nice and met your every need. I would recommend it to other travelers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little shopping area with something for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 8, 2007

First trip to all inclusive

This was my first trip to an all inclusive hotel in Mexico with my wife. So, I read many reviews before selecting this hotel. It seemed to be well rated overall, and a good value for the money even though there were a few bad reviews. Having been there now, in my opinion, the bad/poor reviews had to do more with not selecting the right type of vacation. This hotel turned out to be exactly what most all reviews said it was; a family type atmosphere geared for adults with kids that borders on crowded at times around the pools and beach. If I had it to do over again, I would choose an all adult hotel (we dont have kids) that is more secluded, and less crowded. This is by no means a fault of the hotel. The rooms were fine, the hotel was VERY clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was only OK in my opinion, but by no means was it bad. The breakfast was the best meal by far. If you want a family type vacation at a good price, then this will work for you. It is safe, clean, and very nice, and the wildlife arounf the hotel is fun to watch. If you are a couple or adults without kids, then look for reviews of hotels that say adult or secluded. This type of hotel is not for you in my opinion. I hope this helps someone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search