RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Apr 25, 2009

Monkeys In Trees

relaxed by pool,loved the beach. They had no iced tea, and no roomservice. Been to Cancun 3 times, this was the only time we didn't have an ocean view room. King size bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, with box springs matress. Hated the bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take grayline van from airport. Took 2 hrs. to get to our hotel. We took taxi back to airport. Is there anyway I could be reimbursed for the van ride?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2009

Good for the money.

We chose this hotel b/c of the low price and did not have high expectations. Saw some good and bad reviews. Overall nice place that is in walking distance to downtown Playa. Good: Nice pool and beach and the place is very clean. Drinks were good and you got quick service. Overall the food was fine. Nothing great. Tried the Steakhouse and Asian reservation places. Steakhouse was good. Asian ok. Staff was very friendly. So/So: Get to the pool early. If not there by 8am, you won't get a chair. Buffet food was fine but not great. Not a ton of choices. Rooms are dated and need to be refreshed. "Kink" Bed is 2 bed pushed together. Would go again for same price. Better than Bahia Tulum hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to pool early! People are saving chairs by 7 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dgarr90903
Business
Dallas, Tx
Mar 5, 2009

More like a 2 star....at best

This hotel would lead you to believe that it is a 5 star resort. I would love to meet someone who stayed there and would say it was even a 3 star. The rooms/food/drinks were terrible. The "king" bed was two doubles pushed togethere that seemed like they were made of concrete. The furniture was dirty and the air conditioning was not in working order. The food was bland, and cold most of the time. The buffets were mad dashes to see who could get there first to get the hot food. If you don't like eating at 6:00pm then you will be eating cold food. The drinks that were allegedly stocked in the minibars in the rooms were hot, and that was if you were lucky enough to actually get it refilled. The ice machine didn't work either so you better enjoy hot drinks! The drinks on the beach had no alcohol in them, and were served in tiny plastic cups. Needless to say, we chose to leave 2 days early and go check into a decent hotel in Cancun. Save yourself the time and money and book your vacation elsewhere. On a side note. I booked this hotel based on the good reviews online (including this site). I can only say that something does not smell right about the "good" reviews on these sites regarding this hotel. I will leave it at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 31, 2008

Amazing Hotel

This hotel is beautiful and spacious. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. All of the employees greeted you whenever they passed. Our rooms were cleaned promptly every morning and the refrigerator was restocked with bottled water, pops and beer every other day. Our only complaint with the room was the extremely firm mattress (not like the pillow-top we have at home). They only gave us 1 room key and the safe was a little awkward. The restaurants were fantastic !! Whether we ate at the buffet or the specialty restaurants, the food and service was incredible. They have something for everybody and every culture. It was no problem getting reservations for the specialty restaurants, you just had to make them early each day at breakfast. There are plenty of lounge chairs around 2 swimming pools and there are 3 bars available for drinks of all kinds, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. Plenty of activities from bingo to volleyball and crazy beach games. We tried almost every water sport available and had no problem getting the equipment. The beach has been restored from what it was a year ago. There is probably 30 to 40 more feet before you get to the water. There are lots of sand whales, but they're only to prevent erosion. We never had trouble finding a chair on the beach. The sand is so fine and never gets hot. You can find plenty of sea shells. There is a cute little shopping plaza about 1/2 mile up the road. Its a nice easy walk after dinner. There's even a Starbucks !! Playa Del Carmen is a short taxi ride away for a few pesos and you can shop to your heart's content. No problem spending dollars or pesos. Our most memorable experience however, will be a close encounter with a Howler Monkey !! One in particular came right on the railing of our balcony and grunted at us through the screen. He only came because our boys were grunting to him in the trees and he came down for a closer look. The monkey was not threatening, just curious, and cute !! All in all this was a fabulous vacation and I have already recommended this hotel to several of our friends. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 18, 2008

Beautiful facility

We thought it was a very nice faciltiy. Comfortable rooms, great food, with huge choices. Nice pool area, the beach had suffered from considerable errosoion. We enjoyed the area of Playacar and would consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

reasonably close to Playa de Carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 8, 2008

Nice Friendly Staff

The RUI was a very nice hotel. The staff was very nice and met your every need. I would recommend it to other travelers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little shopping area with something for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 7, 2008

Great resort

This was our third time at a RIU property and would recommend any time! Exceptionally clean, food was great (even buffet was good), and the staff was very friendly and hard-working. We were upgraded to the Palace Riviera Maya for the last night of our stay - we didnt ask, they just offered! The Palace was yet another notch up in service and quality (stick with the Yucatan if you like to get rowdy though)! Cant wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 8, 2007

First trip to all inclusive

This was my first trip to an all inclusive hotel in Mexico with my wife. So, I read many reviews before selecting this hotel. It seemed to be well rated overall, and a good value for the money even though there were a few bad reviews. Having been there now, in my opinion, the bad/poor reviews had to do more with not selecting the right type of vacation. This hotel turned out to be exactly what most all reviews said it was; a family type atmosphere geared for adults with kids that borders on crowded at times around the pools and beach. If I had it to do over again, I would choose an all adult hotel (we dont have kids) that is more secluded, and less crowded. This is by no means a fault of the hotel. The rooms were fine, the hotel was VERY clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was only OK in my opinion, but by no means was it bad. The breakfast was the best meal by far. If you want a family type vacation at a good price, then this will work for you. It is safe, clean, and very nice, and the wildlife arounf the hotel is fun to watch. If you are a couple or adults without kids, then look for reviews of hotels that say adult or secluded. This type of hotel is not for you in my opinion. I hope this helps someone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 15, 2007

Great Hotel and Staff

Every time you looked around, staff was cleaning and all were very friendly. The dining options were OK, Steak House and Japanese was very good, but the rest was just average--a lot of American type foods-thought there would be more authentic Mexican choices. Rooms were nice and clean--beds were rock hard to say the least, but still worth it. Other downfall was lack of food at night or in between normal meals-used to other all-inclusives where it was always available. Beach was very small due to storms, but still had enough chairs to accomodate. Pool and Pool Bars were great--excellent bar staff and a good spot for adults to have fun. ACtivities were so so, but atmosphere made up for it. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to both adults and families--plenty of stuff to do for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping plaza about 5 min walk from hotel and 5th street was $5 cab ride--worth going. My tip is that some of the regular stores/outlets were just as cheaqp if not cheaper than the whole barter process--they tended not budge as much since 5th street is located where the cruise ships dock--stick to the stores with prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top