RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

3.9/5

Overall score

81%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Aug 19, 2009

RIU Yucatan is wonderful!

From check in to check out we couldn't have been more pleased. After staying at the Riu Palace RM last year we were afraid that the level of service would be lower at the Yucatan. It was not at all. The atmosphere was more relaxed. The grounds were more tropical. The staff was even more accomodating than last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Riu Class ard and get discounts on diving. The prices and people at ScubaCaribe can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry & Sue
Business
Sooner Country
Aug 15, 2009

RIU Yucatan - Terrific

We have visited this area 16 times at several different resorts. The Riu Yucatan is so magical, this was our 4th visit here and we expect to return in March. The service was excellent. Food and drinks were outstanding. We would reccomment this all-inclusive hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many water sports were included in the price. The snorkling was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess K
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

Awesome location, Great Price

Check-in was speedy, no wait. Bar staff and waitstaff very friendly. Nightly entertainment was awesome, entertainment director was great. Right on the beach and you can get beach chairs anytime of the day. Food was always hot and more than enough selection available. The way the hotel is laid out, you do not feel as though you are at a resort that has 507 rooms. The mini bar in room was great and when you check-in, they do tell you that it is restocked every other day, but you really are not in the room enough to drink more than what they supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jun 22, 2009

what a great time!

the only complaint i have is that the hotel claims to have food 24hrs but you have to walk over to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jun 22, 2009

what a great time!

the only complaint i have is that the hotel claims to have food 24hrs but you have to walk over to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dickinson, TX
Jun 1, 2009

bad and really ugly

this was our honeymoon (18 days honeymoon/vacation package), when had a late checked in but even at that, the room was not ready, the restaurants were closed and we had to wait for an 1-11/2 hours before the restaurant opened for dinner. that special honeymoon gift that they promise was never given to us. When we asked to be moved or upgraded to their Riu Riviera, they gave us the run around and finally we decided to cancelled our vacation package with them and rebook a new reservation at Viva Wyndham Azteca, a smaller hotel but clean, room did not had that filty, moldy smell and staff was very helpful in accomodating our needs. Riu Yucatan, does not feel like a hotel in paradise its more like a jungle or an apt complex...they got big rats running around and monkeys on their jungle. I have been to other RIU but by far this is the worst experience ever...The Palace and Riviera RIU are the best at this location. Unfortunately Riu Yucatan was not willing to work with us to upgrade to their sister Riu Riviera, so we had to rebook somewhere else while we where on our honeymoon. That sucks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dickinson, TX
Jun 1, 2009

bad and really ugly

this was our honeymoon (18 days honeymoon/vacation package), when had a late checked in but even at that, the room was not ready, the restaurants were closed and we had to wait for an 1-11/2 hours before the restaurant opened for dinner. that special honeymoon gift that they promise was never given to us. When we asked to be moved or upgraded to their Riu Riviera, they gave us the run around and finally we decided to cancelled our vacation package with them and rebook a new reservation at Viva Wyndham Azteca, a smaller hotel but clean, room did not had that filty, moldy smell and staff was very helpful in accomodating our needs. Riu Yucatan, does not feel like a hotel in paradise its more like a jungle or an apt complex...they got big rats running around and monkeys on their jungle. I have been to other RIU but by far this is the worst experience ever...The Palace and Riviera RIU are the best at this location. Unfortunately Riu Yucatan was not willing to work with us to upgrade to their sister Riu Riviera, so we had to rebook somewhere else while we where on our honeymoon. That sucks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Apr 25, 2009

Monkeys In Trees

relaxed by pool,loved the beach. They had no iced tea, and no roomservice. Been to Cancun 3 times, this was the only time we didn't have an ocean view room. King size bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, with box springs matress. Hated the bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take grayline van from airport. Took 2 hrs. to get to our hotel. We took taxi back to airport. Is there anyway I could be reimbursed for the van ride?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2009

Good for the money.

We chose this hotel b/c of the low price and did not have high expectations. Saw some good and bad reviews. Overall nice place that is in walking distance to downtown Playa. Good: Nice pool and beach and the place is very clean. Drinks were good and you got quick service. Overall the food was fine. Nothing great. Tried the Steakhouse and Asian reservation places. Steakhouse was good. Asian ok. Staff was very friendly. So/So: Get to the pool early. If not there by 8am, you won't get a chair. Buffet food was fine but not great. Not a ton of choices. Rooms are dated and need to be refreshed. "Kink" Bed is 2 bed pushed together. Would go again for same price. Better than Bahia Tulum hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to pool early! People are saving chairs by 7 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dgarr90903
Business
Dallas, Tx
Mar 5, 2009

More like a 2 star....at best

This hotel would lead you to believe that it is a 5 star resort. I would love to meet someone who stayed there and would say it was even a 3 star. The rooms/food/drinks were terrible. The "king" bed was two doubles pushed togethere that seemed like they were made of concrete. The furniture was dirty and the air conditioning was not in working order. The food was bland, and cold most of the time. The buffets were mad dashes to see who could get there first to get the hot food. If you don't like eating at 6:00pm then you will be eating cold food. The drinks that were allegedly stocked in the minibars in the rooms were hot, and that was if you were lucky enough to actually get it refilled. The ice machine didn't work either so you better enjoy hot drinks! The drinks on the beach had no alcohol in them, and were served in tiny plastic cups. Needless to say, we chose to leave 2 days early and go check into a decent hotel in Cancun. Save yourself the time and money and book your vacation elsewhere. On a side note. I booked this hotel based on the good reviews online (including this site). I can only say that something does not smell right about the "good" reviews on these sites regarding this hotel. I will leave it at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top