$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Aug 19, 2009

RIU Yucatan is wonderful!

From check in to check out we couldn't have been more pleased. After staying at the Riu Palace RM last year we were afraid that the level of service would be lower at the Yucatan. It was not at all. The atmosphere was more relaxed. The grounds were more tropical. The staff was even more accomodating than last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Riu Class ard and get discounts on diving. The prices and people at ScubaCaribe can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry & Sue
Business
Sooner Country
Aug 15, 2009

RIU Yucatan - Terrific

We have visited this area 16 times at several different resorts. The Riu Yucatan is so magical, this was our 4th visit here and we expect to return in March. The service was excellent. Food and drinks were outstanding. We would reccomment this all-inclusive hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many water sports were included in the price. The snorkling was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess K
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2009

Awesome location, Great Price

Check-in was speedy, no wait. Bar staff and waitstaff very friendly. Nightly entertainment was awesome, entertainment director was great. Right on the beach and you can get beach chairs anytime of the day. Food was always hot and more than enough selection available. The way the hotel is laid out, you do not feel as though you are at a resort that has 507 rooms. The mini bar in room was great and when you check-in, they do tell you that it is restocked every other day, but you really are not in the room enough to drink more than what they supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jun 22, 2009

what a great time!

the only complaint i have is that the hotel claims to have food 24hrs but you have to walk over to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jun 22, 2009

what a great time!

the only complaint i have is that the hotel claims to have food 24hrs but you have to walk over to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dickinson, TX
Jun 1, 2009

bad and really ugly

this was our honeymoon (18 days honeymoon/vacation package), when had a late checked in but even at that, the room was not ready, the restaurants were closed and we had to wait for an 1-11/2 hours before the restaurant opened for dinner. that special honeymoon gift that they promise was never given to us. When we asked to be moved or upgraded to their Riu Riviera, they gave us the run around and finally we decided to cancelled our vacation package with them and rebook a new reservation at Viva Wyndham Azteca, a smaller hotel but clean, room did not had that filty, moldy smell and staff was very helpful in accomodating our needs. Riu Yucatan, does not feel like a hotel in paradise its more like a jungle or an apt complex...they got big rats running around and monkeys on their jungle. I have been to other RIU but by far this is the worst experience ever...The Palace and Riviera RIU are the best at this location. Unfortunately Riu Yucatan was not willing to work with us to upgrade to their sister Riu Riviera, so we had to rebook somewhere else while we where on our honeymoon. That sucks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dickinson, TX
Jun 1, 2009

bad and really ugly

this was our honeymoon (18 days honeymoon/vacation package), when had a late checked in but even at that, the room was not ready, the restaurants were closed and we had to wait for an 1-11/2 hours before the restaurant opened for dinner. that special honeymoon gift that they promise was never given to us. When we asked to be moved or upgraded to their Riu Riviera, they gave us the run around and finally we decided to cancelled our vacation package with them and rebook a new reservation at Viva Wyndham Azteca, a smaller hotel but clean, room did not had that filty, moldy smell and staff was very helpful in accomodating our needs. Riu Yucatan, does not feel like a hotel in paradise its more like a jungle or an apt complex...they got big rats running around and monkeys on their jungle. I have been to other RIU but by far this is the worst experience ever...The Palace and Riviera RIU are the best at this location. Unfortunately Riu Yucatan was not willing to work with us to upgrade to their sister Riu Riviera, so we had to rebook somewhere else while we where on our honeymoon. That sucks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Apr 25, 2009

Monkeys In Trees

relaxed by pool,loved the beach. They had no iced tea, and no roomservice. Been to Cancun 3 times, this was the only time we didn't have an ocean view room. King size bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, with box springs matress. Hated the bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take grayline van from airport. Took 2 hrs. to get to our hotel. We took taxi back to airport. Is there anyway I could be reimbursed for the van ride?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2009

Good for the money.

We chose this hotel b/c of the low price and did not have high expectations. Saw some good and bad reviews. Overall nice place that is in walking distance to downtown Playa. Good: Nice pool and beach and the place is very clean. Drinks were good and you got quick service. Overall the food was fine. Nothing great. Tried the Steakhouse and Asian reservation places. Steakhouse was good. Asian ok. Staff was very friendly. So/So: Get to the pool early. If not there by 8am, you won't get a chair. Buffet food was fine but not great. Not a ton of choices. Rooms are dated and need to be refreshed. "Kink" Bed is 2 bed pushed together. Would go again for same price. Better than Bahia Tulum hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to pool early! People are saving chairs by 7 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dgarr90903
Business
Dallas, Tx
Mar 5, 2009

More like a 2 star....at best

This hotel would lead you to believe that it is a 5 star resort. I would love to meet someone who stayed there and would say it was even a 3 star. The rooms/food/drinks were terrible. The "king" bed was two doubles pushed togethere that seemed like they were made of concrete. The furniture was dirty and the air conditioning was not in working order. The food was bland, and cold most of the time. The buffets were mad dashes to see who could get there first to get the hot food. If you don't like eating at 6:00pm then you will be eating cold food. The drinks that were allegedly stocked in the minibars in the rooms were hot, and that was if you were lucky enough to actually get it refilled. The ice machine didn't work either so you better enjoy hot drinks! The drinks on the beach had no alcohol in them, and were served in tiny plastic cups. Needless to say, we chose to leave 2 days early and go check into a decent hotel in Cancun. Save yourself the time and money and book your vacation elsewhere. On a side note. I booked this hotel based on the good reviews online (including this site). I can only say that something does not smell right about the "good" reviews on these sites regarding this hotel. I will leave it at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top