$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
61 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Friendly beach side all inclusive

Great scenery, beautiful beach, friendly staff. Food was ok, nightly entertainment was ok. All... See full review

  • reavisel
  • Feb 18, 2013
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juliebabe
Mankato, MN
Feb 9, 2010

Just what we expected

I read all the reviews, so I knew what we were getting. The resort is beautiful and the staff is great. The rooms are typical Mexico Resort rooms- dirty with bugs with old and dirty hard beds. The pool was beautiful. The beach was AMAZING! Very well kept. The food was average, nothing amazing. There wasn't a lot of kids there when we went, which was good for us as a couple. The hotel was great for what we wanted. We used Best Day Travel to get to and from the airport. They were good. If you land in Cancun- DO NOT TALK TO ANYONE IN THE AIRPORT! Near the exit, there are guys there that act like they are helping you find your ride, but they are really salesmen trying to get you to go to a 90 min presentation for a time share at the Mayan Palace. We finally said yes, because we were to get a good gift at the end. The 90 min presentation was horrible and they try to slam you into a $60,000 investment in vacations. We were lucky, because it only did last 90 mins and we got out of there with our vouchers, mostly because my husband is also a salesman and threw everything back in there face. Once we got home, we researched, and others weren't so lucky where it would last 8 hours and didn't get their voucher or they would cave and buy. Plus the reviews of the Mayan Palace Timeshares are nightmarish. So, if you think you'll cave (they are very good at the sales pitch), it's better not to go. Cozumel is always a good day trip. Our gift from the Timeshare nightmare was a day trip to Cozumel. It's easy to get there yourself, but this trip included the ferry, snorkeling with unlimited drinks, and lunch. It was my first time snorkeling and it was great. 5th Ave is 2 miles away. That is were the ferry to Cozumel is, plus the area has great food a shopping. Go to MADRE TIERRA for dinner- UNBELIEVEABLE FOOD AND SERVICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring your own big mug for your drinks. The drinks are good, but are in small glasses, so you'd have to refill all the time. Plus there isn't a bar on the beach, so if you don't plan on walking back to the pool for a refill every 15 minutes, bring one.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juliebabe
Mankato, MN
Feb 9, 2010

Just what we expected

I read all the reviews, so I knew what we were getting. The resort is beautiful and the staff is great. The rooms are typical Mexico Resort rooms- dirty with bugs with old and dirty hard beds. The pool was beautiful. The beach was AMAZING! Very well kept. The food was average, nothing amazing. There wasn't a lot of kids there when we went, which was good for us as a couple. The hotel was great for what we wanted. We used Best Day Travel to get to and from the airport. They were good. If you land in Cancun- DO NOT TALK TO ANYONE IN THE AIRPORT! Near the exit, there are guys there that act like they are helping you find your ride, but they are really salesmen trying to get you to go to a 90 min presentation for a time share at the Mayan Palace. We finally said yes, because we were to get a good gift at the end. The 90 min presentation was horrible and they try to slam you into a $60,000 investment in vacations. We were lucky, because it only did last 90 mins and we got out of there with our vouchers, mostly because my husband is also a salesman and threw everything back in there face. Once we got home, we researched, and others weren't so lucky where it would last 8 hours and didn't get their voucher or they would cave and buy. Plus the reviews of the Mayan Palace Timeshares are nightmarish. So, if you think you'll cave (they are very good at the sales pitch), it's better not to go. Cozumel is always a good day trip. Our gift from the Timeshare nightmare was a day trip to Cozumel. It's easy to get there yourself, but this trip included the ferry, snorkeling with unlimited drinks, and lunch. It was my first time snorkeling and it was great. 5th Ave is 2 miles away. That is were the ferry to Cozumel is, plus the area has great food a shopping. Go to MADRE TIERRA for dinner- UNBELIEVEABLE FOOD AND SERVICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring your own big mug for your drinks. The drinks are good, but are in small glasses, so you'd have to refill all the time. Plus there isn't a bar on the beach, so if you don't plan on walking back to the pool for a refill every 15 minutes, bring one.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mombubble
Quad Cities Illinois
Jan 16, 2010

Had so much fun

The weather was terrible, cold and rainy, but we tried to make the best of it. The food was good. Staff very friendly. Grounds were kept up very well. I loved the wild monkeys!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 5th ave. to shop. It cost 5.00 for a cab. Everything is cheaper there.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mombubble
Quad Cities Illinois
Jan 16, 2010

Had so much fun

The weather was terrible, cold and rainy, but we tried to make the best of it. The food was good. Staff very friendly. Grounds were kept up very well. I loved the wild monkeys!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 5th ave. to shop. It cost 5.00 for a cab. Everything is cheaper there.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 31, 2009

Eat somewhere else

beautiful beachfront hotel. Nice pool. Wish the food was better, it reminded me of a Golden Corral. somethings were good, some bad, even the 3 specialty restaurants. The Japanese food was the best, we ate there the most. The steak house was okay, but I'd almost rather eat sand than the mexican restaurant again(and I do like mexican food.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go Scuba diving with the dive center.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 31, 2009

Eat somewhere else

beautiful beachfront hotel. Nice pool. Wish the food was better, it reminded me of a Golden Corral. somethings were good, some bad, even the 3 specialty restaurants. The Japanese food was the best, we ate there the most. The steak house was okay, but I'd almost rather eat sand than the mexican restaurant again(and I do like mexican food.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go Scuba diving with the dive center.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
FL
Aug 19, 2009

RIU Yucatan is wonderful!

From check in to check out we couldn't have been more pleased. After staying at the Riu Palace RM last year we were afraid that the level of service would be lower at the Yucatan. It was not at all. The atmosphere was more relaxed. The grounds were more tropical. The staff was even more accomodating than last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Riu Class ard and get discounts on diving. The prices and people at ScubaCaribe can't be beat!

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
FL
Aug 19, 2009

RIU Yucatan is wonderful!

From check in to check out we couldn't have been more pleased. After staying at the Riu Palace RM last year we were afraid that the level of service would be lower at the Yucatan. It was not at all. The atmosphere was more relaxed. The grounds were more tropical. The staff was even more accomodating than last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Riu Class ard and get discounts on diving. The prices and people at ScubaCaribe can't be beat!

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry & Sue
Sooner Country
Aug 15, 2009

RIU Yucatan - Terrific

We have visited this area 16 times at several different resorts. The Riu Yucatan is so magical, this was our 4th visit here and we expect to return in March. The service was excellent. Food and drinks were outstanding. We would reccomment this all-inclusive hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many water sports were included in the price. The snorkling was fantastic.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry & Sue
Sooner Country
Aug 15, 2009

RIU Yucatan - Terrific

We have visited this area 16 times at several different resorts. The Riu Yucatan is so magical, this was our 4th visit here and we expect to return in March. The service was excellent. Food and drinks were outstanding. We would reccomment this all-inclusive hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many water sports were included in the price. The snorkling was fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top