RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.
Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lcstevens
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

If you just want to relax on a perfect beach this is the place. The property is small so your room is close to the pool, dining, shows, and the beach. Everything you want without the fancy prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Lobster is fantastic. We have eaten there numerous times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 15, 2007

Great Hotel and Staff

Every time you looked around, staff was cleaning and all were very friendly. The dining options were OK, Steak House and Japanese was very good, but the rest was just average--a lot of American type foods-thought there would be more authentic Mexican choices. Rooms were nice and clean--beds were rock hard to say the least, but still worth it. Other downfall was lack of food at night or in between normal meals-used to other all-inclusives where it was always available. Beach was very small due to storms, but still had enough chairs to accomodate. Pool and Pool Bars were great--excellent bar staff and a good spot for adults to have fun. ACtivities were so so, but atmosphere made up for it. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to both adults and families--plenty of stuff to do for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping plaza about 5 min walk from hotel and 5th street was $5 cab ride--worth going. My tip is that some of the regular stores/outlets were just as cheaqp if not cheaper than the whole barter process--they tended not budge as much since 5th street is located where the cruise ships dock--stick to the stores with prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoldenRetrieverLover
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Mar 2, 2010

Fun atmosphere!

Overall the staff was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, chatty. We were 4 ladies in our 30's vacationing for a long weekend and requested two rooms near each other, which they did. The check in staff was very friendly. The bartenders were fun, friendly and quick with making drinks. The beach is great! We walked the white sandy beach all the way into Playa del Carmen one afternoon along the beach line(probably a 1 mile walk) and the whole area was clean and water looked amazing. There are no sand dunes (or whatever they are called in the water) so the beach in fabulous. We all noticied our hotel had the most people laying out sunbathing compared to all other resorts which we liked. We wanted a fun, carefree trip with lots of laughs and mingling with others, and we got that. The only two complaints are the rooms smelled a little when we checked in. We slept with our patio door open each night and the smell wasn't bothersome then. And one entertainment staff was drinking quite a bit and wouldn't quit hitting on one of our friends which was a little annoying. I would suggest girls vacationing together to stick together and not let anyone get seperated. Overall, I would definitely stay at this resort again. Loved the location, lots of people, friendly and fun staff. Offered many day activities if you like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Sister inlaw
Business
Rochester, MN
Mar 22, 2010

Romantic Get Away

We only stayed three nights and had to fly out early the last day so the vacation was cut short. Look for flights that fly in early and fly out as late as possible to maximize your stay. We also purchased the shuttle and had to wait to leave the airport till the van filled up while our friends got in a taxi right away. Then the taxi was 30 mins. late to pick us up at the hotel and our friends still paid less than us taking a taxi. I also had to ask three times for them to replenish the water and beer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get up early to make reservations for the resturants at the beginning of the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethie21
Business
Ball Ground, GA 30107, USA
Aug 28, 2014

Wonderful summer vacation

We had a wonderful time at the RIU Yucatan. Only complaint was the rock hard bed. Found out on the last night they had mattress pads to make more comfortable. Pool was great, beach was great. Best selection of food at an all inclusive we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dickinson, TX
Jun 1, 2009

bad and really ugly

this was our honeymoon (18 days honeymoon/vacation package), when had a late checked in but even at that, the room was not ready, the restaurants were closed and we had to wait for an 1-11/2 hours before the restaurant opened for dinner. that special honeymoon gift that they promise was never given to us. When we asked to be moved or upgraded to their Riu Riviera, they gave us the run around and finally we decided to cancelled our vacation package with them and rebook a new reservation at Viva Wyndham Azteca, a smaller hotel but clean, room did not had that filty, moldy smell and staff was very helpful in accomodating our needs. Riu Yucatan, does not feel like a hotel in paradise its more like a jungle or an apt complex...they got big rats running around and monkeys on their jungle. I have been to other RIU but by far this is the worst experience ever...The Palace and Riviera RIU are the best at this location. Unfortunately Riu Yucatan was not willing to work with us to upgrade to their sister Riu Riviera, so we had to rebook somewhere else while we where on our honeymoon. That sucks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the United States. As a true 2 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 3 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling. We enjoyed watching the monkeys on the trees around the hotel. Hotel layout is unattractive and somewhat similar to old Soviet style apartment blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico traveller
Business
Ny, my
Apr 19, 2012

Good hotel, great location

Just got back, first time in riviera maya and playa del carmen. Hotel was in a great location in what almost seemed like a gated community and had security checkpoints at all exits out of the community. Food was decent for all inclusive though they could do a lot better w lunch and missing a real post lunch pre dinner snack bar. Staff was great and although didn't always have the answers always tried to help. Rooms were pretty decent but the safe was very old school (steel box a the sort of lock that comes w the key to open). Maids were great and any room request was fulfilled almost immediately. Nightly shows were a very pleasant surprise as the entertainers always dif a great job. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Def check out 5th ave as both a daytime market and a night time hot spot with clubs bars lines restaurants and shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CVVV
Business
Bethesda, MD
Jan 7, 2013

Downgraded

We went to the Riu Yucatan between 12/24/12 and 01/01/13. We had well in advance made a reservation for a suite, since as a family of 4 we wanted space, tranquility, and a bathroom with a bathtub instead of a simple shower. However, once checking in, we were told that "due to a mistake in the reservation system", the hotel had decided not to maintain our reservation for a suite and could only provide us with a simple standard room for the first nights. Needless to say, we were very frustrated about that but nothing could be done at the time. The front desk assured us that they would "take good care of us" and that we would obviously receive some compensation. That did not happen. As of today, we are yet to receive a reimbursement for the suite we had paid in full and did not get, as well as stating that it is bad policy for Riu to do some overbooking and not compensate its clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dayve
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 7, 2013

Honest review from well traveled indidivual

We honestly really enjoyed our stay at the RIU Yucatan. We have stayed at many RIU's as well as many other all inclusive resorts. For location, beach, proximity to Playa Del Carmen, and Staff friendliness, I would honestly say it was great. The resort layout was good although I prefer a resort that allows a room to have a view of the ocean. The food is okay (3 on a 1 to 5 scale#, I would recommend the Steak House and Mexican, but forgo the Japanese restaurant. The drinks were pretty decent with at least one upper shelf booze selection per beverage type #Gin, Vodka, etc), although there is only one beer selection and if you don't like Dos Equis you will be thirsty. The biggest issue with the resort is it's old, outdated, and although kept up; there are maintenance issues that can only be fixed by a complete remodel. Luckily that has been scheduled to take place in the next few months from what I have heard. The rooms don't have coffee makers, the suites are not worth the extra money, and the drapes and bed throws smell badly as well as being styled in the mid-80's. We were there with kids and during Spring break so it was a good family selection, but i can't comment how it would be during normal travel times. I can say that it did not have a bunch of College Spring Breakers so the scene was "PG", hence; no need to worry about that with younger kids. If you;re looking for mid-range services and ammenities at mid-range price overall I would suggest it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The further you get from the Hotel the cheaper everything becomes. Whether that it tylenol or trinkets from the shops. The stores in the hotel are by far the most expensive, where the back streets of Playa offer cheap priceson everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top