$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
61 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Friendly beach side all inclusive

Great scenery, beautiful beach, friendly staff. Food was ok, nightly entertainment was ok. All... See full review

  • reavisel
  • Feb 18, 2013
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJ Sunshine
Idaho
Apr 24, 2010

Father and son trip

Good excursion base. Hotel noisy at night. Should have patrols at night. I would not return as no hand sanitizers at buffet. [...] Giovanni Fererra out of Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJ Sunshine
Idaho
Apr 24, 2010

Father and son trip

Good excursion base. Hotel noisy at night. Should have patrols at night. I would not return as no hand sanitizers at buffet. [...] Giovanni Fererra out of Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
La
Apr 19, 2010

Great all inclusive couple getaway!

Staff is friendly and helpful. Resort is located next to an amazingly beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Scuba Diving for beginners...totally recomend it!! $99 per person includes instructions in the pool and a 45 min dive in the sea!

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
La
Apr 19, 2010

Great all inclusive couple getaway!

Staff is friendly and helpful. Resort is located next to an amazingly beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Scuba Diving for beginners...totally recomend it!! $99 per person includes instructions in the pool and a 45 min dive in the sea!

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Sister inlaw
Rochester, MN
Mar 22, 2010

Romantic Get Away

We only stayed three nights and had to fly out early the last day so the vacation was cut short. Look for flights that fly in early and fly out as late as possible to maximize your stay. We also purchased the shuttle and had to wait to leave the airport till the van filled up while our friends got in a taxi right away. Then the taxi was 30 mins. late to pick us up at the hotel and our friends still paid less than us taking a taxi. I also had to ask three times for them to replenish the water and beer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get up early to make reservations for the resturants at the beginning of the breakfast buffet.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Sister inlaw
Rochester, MN
Mar 22, 2010

Romantic Get Away

We only stayed three nights and had to fly out early the last day so the vacation was cut short. Look for flights that fly in early and fly out as late as possible to maximize your stay. We also purchased the shuttle and had to wait to leave the airport till the van filled up while our friends got in a taxi right away. Then the taxi was 30 mins. late to pick us up at the hotel and our friends still paid less than us taking a taxi. I also had to ask three times for them to replenish the water and beer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get up early to make reservations for the resturants at the beginning of the breakfast buffet.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoldenRetrieverLover
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Mar 2, 2010

Fun atmosphere!

Overall the staff was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, chatty. We were 4 ladies in our 30's vacationing for a long weekend and requested two rooms near each other, which they did. The check in staff was very friendly. The bartenders were fun, friendly and quick with making drinks. The beach is great! We walked the white sandy beach all the way into Playa del Carmen one afternoon along the beach line(probably a 1 mile walk) and the whole area was clean and water looked amazing. There are no sand dunes (or whatever they are called in the water) so the beach in fabulous. We all noticied our hotel had the most people laying out sunbathing compared to all other resorts which we liked. We wanted a fun, carefree trip with lots of laughs and mingling with others, and we got that. The only two complaints are the rooms smelled a little when we checked in. We slept with our patio door open each night and the smell wasn't bothersome then. And one entertainment staff was drinking quite a bit and wouldn't quit hitting on one of our friends which was a little annoying. I would suggest girls vacationing together to stick together and not let anyone get seperated. Overall, I would definitely stay at this resort again. Loved the location, lots of people, friendly and fun staff. Offered many day activities if you like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoldenRetrieverLover
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Mar 2, 2010

Fun atmosphere!

Overall the staff was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, chatty. We were 4 ladies in our 30's vacationing for a long weekend and requested two rooms near each other, which they did. The check in staff was very friendly. The bartenders were fun, friendly and quick with making drinks. The beach is great! We walked the white sandy beach all the way into Playa del Carmen one afternoon along the beach line(probably a 1 mile walk) and the whole area was clean and water looked amazing. There are no sand dunes (or whatever they are called in the water) so the beach in fabulous. We all noticied our hotel had the most people laying out sunbathing compared to all other resorts which we liked. We wanted a fun, carefree trip with lots of laughs and mingling with others, and we got that. The only two complaints are the rooms smelled a little when we checked in. We slept with our patio door open each night and the smell wasn't bothersome then. And one entertainment staff was drinking quite a bit and wouldn't quit hitting on one of our friends which was a little annoying. I would suggest girls vacationing together to stick together and not let anyone get seperated. Overall, I would definitely stay at this resort again. Loved the location, lots of people, friendly and fun staff. Offered many day activities if you like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim & Steve
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2010

great resort & location

This was our 2nd time visiting Playacar, last time staying at their palace resort. The Yucatan is a very nice resort.  The decor had a warm inviting Mexican feel.  This resort had one of the nicer strips of beach compared to the others in this location. A pleasant 20 minute walk to Town or $5 cab ride. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants and shopping in down town. Definitely take a visit. Very nice at night.

Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim & Steve
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2010

great resort & location

This was our 2nd time visiting Playacar, last time staying at their palace resort. The Yucatan is a very nice resort.  The decor had a warm inviting Mexican feel.  This resort had one of the nicer strips of beach compared to the others in this location. A pleasant 20 minute walk to Town or $5 cab ride. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants and shopping in down town. Definitely take a visit. Very nice at night.

Back to menu Return to top