$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6053 -87.0923
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha # 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo. Mxico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Area description
Located in Playa Del Carmen which is a farming and fishing village on the coast of Mexico.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the United States. As a true 2 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 3 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling. We enjoyed watching the monkeys on the trees around the hotel. Hotel layout is unattractive and somewhat similar to old Soviet style apartment blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Wonderful vacation!

The location was amazing, the staff was great. Had such a wonderful holiday! The food was not good and the beds were really uncomfortable but those things didn't really matter because everything else was so good. I would definitely recommend this resort and I would absolutely go back! Felt very safe and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 24, 2011

Great time.

My wife and I have been going to Playa del Carmen every year now for about 10 years. We've stayed at a few different resorts but the last few times we've gone to Playa we always stay at the Riu Yucatan. It's in a perfect location and is always very clean. The biggest reason my wife and I always go back to the Riu Yucatan is because of the swim up bars. If you want to have a good time you need to stay at a place with swim up bars and the majority of hotels in Playacar do not have swim up bars. The food isn't bad; it's just the same stuff every day so make sure you sign up for the restaurants (there are three different restaurants), or go downtown for a couple of dinners. Staff is friendly and helpful. Try to get a room in buildings 4 or 5 which is a bit closer to the beach and swim up bars, but if na during the daytime then you want to stay in buildings 7 or 8 which are further away but quiet. It's a long walk to town from the Riu Yucatan but a cab ride is about $5-$7 depending on how many people you have in the cab. You can find cheaper deals at other all inclusives but you get what you pay for. For my wife and I, we love the swim up bars and will pay a little bit more to have more fun and you can never go wrong with the Riu Yucatan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a small little shopping area outside the Riu Yucatan (just a short walk). You can get some really good deals on gifts and other items at this little shopping area. Do price comparison with shops downtown and this place before you buy anything. There are some hidden little shops behind the main shops so be sure to check them out. My wife got some really good deals on some jewelry at one of the little hidden shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Apr 4, 2011

Great Service

food was wonderful - staff were wonderful - only thing I would change would be the inability to be flexable. Not willing to change rooms even with prior request to check in - will not tolorate any horseplay - if with teenagers may want to find another place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Disco was fun but small

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2010

Not exceptional but not bad

Nice beach, friendly staff, choice of trips, clean room, quick service, easy access to everything. Could use better menu, not all foods equally edible, some very good, some not so. Mosquitoes. Beware of mosquitoes! Wireless in the main reception area only, not in rooms. "10 minute walk to town" is more like 25 minutes, but safe area, makes a nice walk or a jog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lcstevens
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

If you just want to relax on a perfect beach this is the place. The property is small so your room is close to the pool, dining, shows, and the beach. Everything you want without the fancy prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Lobster is fantastic. We have eaten there numerous times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed at the Riu
Business
East Stroudsburg, Pa
Jun 26, 2010

Very Good but Not Great

We only ate dinner at one restaurant at the resort once. It was their Steak House. They have a lot to learn about a steak house. They tried to make if look and feel like a five star restaurant. The steak was good but the rest of the meal was poor. The buffet for all meals was very good. Lot of variety and very good quality. We ate all our meals there. No wait staff at the pools or the beach. I know that sounds lazy but other resorts in Mexico provide that service. The Solaris for one. The alcohol quality was very poor. Mixed drinks were bad. Stick with the beer. The staff spoke almost no English at all. I was quite surprised. We have been in Mexico several times and most staff members spoke some English. I did not find the staff members unpleasant but they did not go out of their way to be real friendly. On the good side. The beach is huge and beautiful. Plenty of beach chairs and lots of beautiful blue water. Plenty of bars. Two swim up bars. Pools were nice and clean but got really hot in the afternoon. The one thing I did not like was the open air check-in/lounge. There was nowhere to go to have a drink and converse in an airconditioned environment. No lounge entertainment at all. There was a bad at nite by the pool. But again, no place to get really comfortable. My final assessment is that I would not go back to this resort. Lots of Europeans, mostly Germans and they are not a friendly lot. The English people were great. Very friendly. Don't know what bug crawled up the German's butt, but they are down right rude. The resort was OK but not great. Next time back to the Solaris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Playa Del Carmen. Prices on booze are better than duty free store. Lot of nice shops where you can negotiate. $5 cab ride each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJ Sunshine
Business
Idaho
Apr 24, 2010

Father and son trip

Good excursion base. Hotel noisy at night. Should have patrols at night. I would not return as no hand sanitizers at buffet. [...] Giovanni Fererra out of Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La
Apr 19, 2010

Great all inclusive couple getaway!

Staff is friendly and helpful. Resort is located next to an amazingly beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Scuba Diving for beginners...totally recomend it!! $99 per person includes instructions in the pool and a 45 min dive in the sea!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Sister inlaw
Business
Rochester, MN
Mar 22, 2010

Romantic Get Away

We only stayed three nights and had to fly out early the last day so the vacation was cut short. Look for flights that fly in early and fly out as late as possible to maximize your stay. We also purchased the shuttle and had to wait to leave the airport till the van filled up while our friends got in a taxi right away. Then the taxi was 30 mins. late to pick us up at the hotel and our friends still paid less than us taking a taxi. I also had to ask three times for them to replenish the water and beer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get up early to make reservations for the resturants at the beginning of the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top