RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reavisel
Business
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Feb 18, 2013

Friendly beach side all inclusive

Great scenery, beautiful beach, friendly staff. Food was ok, nightly entertainment was ok. All inclusive, so you don't have to worry about extra cash anywhere in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book excursions through one of the stand alone kiosks in the nearby shopping center. Their prices are much cheaper than online or the sales reps that set up shop in the resort's reception area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CVVV
Business
Bethesda, MD
Jan 7, 2013

Downgraded

We went to the Riu Yucatan between 12/24/12 and 01/01/13. We had well in advance made a reservation for a suite, since as a family of 4 we wanted space, tranquility, and a bathroom with a bathtub instead of a simple shower. However, once checking in, we were told that "due to a mistake in the reservation system", the hotel had decided not to maintain our reservation for a suite and could only provide us with a simple standard room for the first nights. Needless to say, we were very frustrated about that but nothing could be done at the time. The front desk assured us that they would "take good care of us" and that we would obviously receive some compensation. That did not happen. As of today, we are yet to receive a reimbursement for the suite we had paid in full and did not get, as well as stating that it is bad policy for Riu to do some overbooking and not compensate its clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico traveller
Business
Ny, my
Apr 19, 2012

Good hotel, great location

Just got back, first time in riviera maya and playa del carmen. Hotel was in a great location in what almost seemed like a gated community and had security checkpoints at all exits out of the community. Food was decent for all inclusive though they could do a lot better w lunch and missing a real post lunch pre dinner snack bar. Staff was great and although didn't always have the answers always tried to help. Rooms were pretty decent but the safe was very old school (steel box a the sort of lock that comes w the key to open). Maids were great and any room request was fulfilled almost immediately. Nightly shows were a very pleasant surprise as the entertainers always dif a great job. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Def check out 5th ave as both a daytime market and a night time hot spot with clubs bars lines restaurants and shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJFI
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Room

Issues with electricity/air conditioner, overall rated 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dirk and Eugenie
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

A Good Vacation

Riu Yucatan provides a good value to the vacationer. Location is excellent, so close to Playa Del Carmen but removed from the yahoos in town. Having said that, we did encounter loud/drunk individuals at the resort (singing and yelling at 3, 4 and 5am!) and the staff appeared indifferent to the noise. The food was o.k. with the Mexican restaurant being the best. Mixed crowd from Mexico/Europe provided great people watching opportunities. Beach is wonderful. Be careful at the buffet . . . food-crazed humans appeared to forget manners as they stampeded through the food lines running into others without regard or recognition. With these few criticisms aside, we had a wonderful week at the resort. Definitely a great value for your money! Next year, however, we will look for a more quiet and remote resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Prices for things at/near the resort were much too expensive compared with stores in Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the United States. As a true 2 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 3 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling. We enjoyed watching the monkeys on the trees around the hotel. Hotel layout is unattractive and somewhat similar to old Soviet style apartment blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Wonderful vacation!

The location was amazing, the staff was great. Had such a wonderful holiday! The food was not good and the beds were really uncomfortable but those things didn't really matter because everything else was so good. I would definitely recommend this resort and I would absolutely go back! Felt very safe and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 24, 2011

Great time.

My wife and I have been going to Playa del Carmen every year now for about 10 years. We've stayed at a few different resorts but the last few times we've gone to Playa we always stay at the Riu Yucatan. It's in a perfect location and is always very clean. The biggest reason my wife and I always go back to the Riu Yucatan is because of the swim up bars. If you want to have a good time you need to stay at a place with swim up bars and the majority of hotels in Playacar do not have swim up bars. The food isn't bad; it's just the same stuff every day so make sure you sign up for the restaurants (there are three different restaurants), or go downtown for a couple of dinners. Staff is friendly and helpful. Try to get a room in buildings 4 or 5 which is a bit closer to the beach and swim up bars, but if na during the daytime then you want to stay in buildings 7 or 8 which are further away but quiet. It's a long walk to town from the Riu Yucatan but a cab ride is about $5-$7 depending on how many people you have in the cab. You can find cheaper deals at other all inclusives but you get what you pay for. For my wife and I, we love the swim up bars and will pay a little bit more to have more fun and you can never go wrong with the Riu Yucatan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a small little shopping area outside the Riu Yucatan (just a short walk). You can get some really good deals on gifts and other items at this little shopping area. Do price comparison with shops downtown and this place before you buy anything. There are some hidden little shops behind the main shops so be sure to check them out. My wife got some really good deals on some jewelry at one of the little hidden shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Apr 4, 2011

Great Service

food was wonderful - staff were wonderful - only thing I would change would be the inability to be flexable. Not willing to change rooms even with prior request to check in - will not tolorate any horseplay - if with teenagers may want to find another place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Disco was fun but small

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2010

Not exceptional but not bad

Nice beach, friendly staff, choice of trips, clean room, quick service, easy access to everything. Could use better menu, not all foods equally edible, some very good, some not so. Mosquitoes. Beware of mosquitoes! Wireless in the main reception area only, not in rooms. "10 minute walk to town" is more like 25 minutes, but safe area, makes a nice walk or a jog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top