RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha M 3, Lote NR-1, Fracc.Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed... See full review

  • Mike 10
  • Jul 27, 2014
Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu... See full review

  • Honeymooners222
  • Mar 5, 2014
Family-friendly resort near Playa del Carmen with lots of activities
The RIU Yucatan is in the Playacar resort, a 10 minute walk from the streets of Playa del Carmen. The all-inclusive, 507-room complex features three restaurants and six bars -- including two swim-up bars -- two Jacuzzis, two pools and a children's swimming pool. Families appreciate RIULand, a supervised activity center for children with games and fun all day long. Active travelers can enjoy the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.
Highlights:
  • Guests at RIU Yucatan can walk to town of Playa del Carmen
  • Three restaurants and six bars, including two swim-up bars
  • RIULand, a supervised activity center for kids
  • Activities include tennis, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking and snorkeling
Rooms:

Expect standard rooms with Mayan accents and Mexican hacienda-style architecture. All 507 suites at the RIU Yucatan include a bathroom with shower, phone, central AC, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Suites are available with bathtub and bidet as well as adjoining living room. Free LAN Internet and fee-based wireless high-speed Internet are available in all suites at RIU Yucatan.

Features:

Kids at RIU Yucatan enjoy the RIULand, a supervised activity center with games and fun all day long. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults lounge by the pool, participate in the daily entertainment or use the on-site sports amenities. Active travelers at RIU Yucatan will appreciate the three tennis courts, table tennis, gym, volleyball, sauna, Jacuzzi, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling. An introductory scuba lesson in the pool is available. At night, guests gain complimentary access to La Pinata nightclub. For a fee, motorized water sports and an adjacent 18-hole golf course are available.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.5 km)
  • Tulum (42 mi/70 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room
Accommodations are tastefully furnished with conveniences including two double beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms include: Bathroom with bath, shower, hairdryer, telephone, central air-conditioning, ventilator, mini bar, in room safe, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, satellite TV, in-room safe, exterior balcony and mini bar stocked with complimentary beer, sodas and mineral water. There is even a liquor dispenser restockable so guests can fix their own cocktails right in the room.
Suite
Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Cantina
Lobby bar. Cocktails & Drinks. Meet friends in our lobby bar.
Shanghai
Asian a la carte restaurant. Reservation required.
La Hacienda
Main restaurant with terrace, serving international and local specialities buffet style and show cooking stations. Open : 7AM-10:30AM, 6:30PM-8:15PM and 8:30PM-10:15PM Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required
La Margarita
Pool snack bar and restaurant, steak house at night. Previous reservation is required
Bar Acuatico
Swim up bar, Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in our pool bar.
El Templo
Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends in this popular spot.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 10
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2014

July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable for my wife. The last night we were there we decided to complain and found they had a 2 inch pad they were able to put on the bed which helped a lot. Don't suffer in silence if the bed is too hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethie21
Business
Ball Ground, GA 30107, USA
Aug 28, 2014

Wonderful summer vacation

We had a wonderful time at the RIU Yucatan. Only complaint was the rock hard bed. Found out on the last night they had mattress pads to make more comfortable. Pool was great, beach was great. Best selection of food at an all inclusive we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 10
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2014

July 21 - July 26 2014 Trip

Great place. Food, service, people, location and entertainment very good. Only problem was the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable for my wife. The last night we were there we decided to complain and found they had a 2 inch pad they were able to put on the bed which helped a lot. Don't suffer in silence if the bed is too hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners222
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 5, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the palace Mayan Riveria so I can't give a review of the Riu Yucatan. We did walk there one day to check it out and I can honestly say that the palace is a much better property in every way. The beach, the property, and the staff were incredible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a laid back vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The individual restaurants on the property were decent but the nightly buffet was incredible, many seafood options each evening and incredible service. Chacha and Esteban were excellent hosts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeChan
Business
OKC, OK
Jan 6, 2014

Great time w/ my 10yr old daughter

Fun time. Newly remodeled hotel. I would prefer Mexican theme, seemed like they were going for the modern Miami feel which they didn't really pull off. Staff was very good. Rooms were ok, clean and comfortable but not very fancy. You get wifi for 90min per day then you pay $10 hr. ( so if you check email or text at 5:00pm you cant check again for 24hrs. The monkeys on property were really cool. Over all a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dayve
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 7, 2013

Honest review from well traveled indidivual

We honestly really enjoyed our stay at the RIU Yucatan. We have stayed at many RIU's as well as many other all inclusive resorts. For location, beach, proximity to Playa Del Carmen, and Staff friendliness, I would honestly say it was great. The resort layout was good although I prefer a resort that allows a room to have a view of the ocean. The food is okay (3 on a 1 to 5 scale#, I would recommend the Steak House and Mexican, but forgo the Japanese restaurant. The drinks were pretty decent with at least one upper shelf booze selection per beverage type #Gin, Vodka, etc), although there is only one beer selection and if you don't like Dos Equis you will be thirsty. The biggest issue with the resort is it's old, outdated, and although kept up; there are maintenance issues that can only be fixed by a complete remodel. Luckily that has been scheduled to take place in the next few months from what I have heard. The rooms don't have coffee makers, the suites are not worth the extra money, and the drapes and bed throws smell badly as well as being styled in the mid-80's. We were there with kids and during Spring break so it was a good family selection, but i can't comment how it would be during normal travel times. I can say that it did not have a bunch of College Spring Breakers so the scene was "PG", hence; no need to worry about that with younger kids. If you;re looking for mid-range services and ammenities at mid-range price overall I would suggest it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The further you get from the Hotel the cheaper everything becomes. Whether that it tylenol or trinkets from the shops. The stores in the hotel are by far the most expensive, where the back streets of Playa offer cheap priceson everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reavisel
Business
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Feb 18, 2013

Friendly beach side all inclusive

Great scenery, beautiful beach, friendly staff. Food was ok, nightly entertainment was ok. All inclusive, so you don't have to worry about extra cash anywhere in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book excursions through one of the stand alone kiosks in the nearby shopping center. Their prices are much cheaper than online or the sales reps that set up shop in the resort's reception area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CVVV
Business
Bethesda, MD
Jan 7, 2013

Downgraded

We went to the Riu Yucatan between 12/24/12 and 01/01/13. We had well in advance made a reservation for a suite, since as a family of 4 we wanted space, tranquility, and a bathroom with a bathtub instead of a simple shower. However, once checking in, we were told that "due to a mistake in the reservation system", the hotel had decided not to maintain our reservation for a suite and could only provide us with a simple standard room for the first nights. Needless to say, we were very frustrated about that but nothing could be done at the time. The front desk assured us that they would "take good care of us" and that we would obviously receive some compensation. That did not happen. As of today, we are yet to receive a reimbursement for the suite we had paid in full and did not get, as well as stating that it is bad policy for Riu to do some overbooking and not compensate its clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico traveller
Business
Ny, my
Apr 19, 2012

Good hotel, great location

Just got back, first time in riviera maya and playa del carmen. Hotel was in a great location in what almost seemed like a gated community and had security checkpoints at all exits out of the community. Food was decent for all inclusive though they could do a lot better w lunch and missing a real post lunch pre dinner snack bar. Staff was great and although didn't always have the answers always tried to help. Rooms were pretty decent but the safe was very old school (steel box a the sort of lock that comes w the key to open). Maids were great and any room request was fulfilled almost immediately. Nightly shows were a very pleasant surprise as the entertainers always dif a great job. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Def check out 5th ave as both a daytime market and a night time hot spot with clubs bars lines restaurants and shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJFI
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Room

Issues with electricity/air conditioner, overall rated 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Yucatan - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dirk and Eugenie
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

A Good Vacation

Riu Yucatan provides a good value to the vacationer. Location is excellent, so close to Playa Del Carmen but removed from the yahoos in town. Having said that, we did encounter loud/drunk individuals at the resort (singing and yelling at 3, 4 and 5am!) and the staff appeared indifferent to the noise. The food was o.k. with the Mexican restaurant being the best. Mixed crowd from Mexico/Europe provided great people watching opportunities. Beach is wonderful. Be careful at the buffet . . . food-crazed humans appeared to forget manners as they stampeded through the food lines running into others without regard or recognition. With these few criticisms aside, we had a wonderful week at the resort. Definitely a great value for your money! Next year, however, we will look for a more quiet and remote resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Prices for things at/near the resort were much too expensive compared with stores in Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top